We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a tasty delight” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Bistro Mediterranean - CLOSED

Le Bistro Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Southeast coast
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always a tasty delight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Island stalwart I've been visiting for over 20 years featuring Mediterranean inspired dishes that are always fresh and exotic tasting. Simple things like their tomato vinaigrette salad dressing and their Parmesan encrusted bread really stand out. You just don't encounter meal complements this good in most places. The filet Marsala is superb and the seafood is always fresh and nicely prepared. The flounder meunière is something special. Offers a cozy bistro environment with an extensive wine selection.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hoochee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    20
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

We had delicious mussels in a creamed/pepper sauce. Side salad was not so good. Tasty, but rich, crab-stuffed flounder.
We were frustrated by their wine choice: the menu noted half bottles; we ordered three different types (they were out of those), finally settling on what they did have.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank elle752014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
140 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“We Plan to Eat Our Way Through Tapas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We've lived in this area for 3 years. How we managed to miss this little gem is still a mystery. But, I found a coupon in the local paper which also included their tapas menu. EVERYTHING sounded delicious, so we gave it a try.

There is no doubt we will return, and keep returning, until we've eaten our way through their entire tapas menu! This evening we enjoyed a freshly made hummus, the chicken liver pate, escargots, veal sweetbreads (first time and fabulous!), and the lamb curry. We finished our meal with a homemade pear tart, not too sweet and just enough to share after a wonderful meal.

Caroline, our server, is a real pro. She has been with Le Bistro for 18 years and she really helped us work our way through the menu as first-time visitors.

We fully intend to add Le Bistro to our "rotation" of favored restaurants.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2tsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“AWESOME EATS!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful!!! I sure hope you stay open even if you need to change locations!!!! Best eats on Hilton Head!!!!! If you haven't tried your missing out!!!

Helpful?
Thank Gina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, IA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

A friend and I stumbled onto this dining experience and it turned out to be the best place we ate on the island. The seafood chowder was the best that I have ever tasted anywhere. Made from scratch when ordered ( I watched it being made), it was superb.... not fishy of thick like most chowders. The bread basket was outstanding. The salad was fresh and full of olives and feta and the creme brulee" was excellent. I would recommend this gem to everyone!
Nicki

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IANICKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistro Mediterranean also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing