We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local Bistro ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Bistro Mediterranean - CLOSED

Le Bistro Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
267 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Local Bistro ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Located in a mall that looks like it's on its way out! This plus an "early" dining menu good until 9:30 gave the impression it'd be quiet! Heck no - bustling and clearly a local favourite. We had to ask for the early menu but 2 courses for $15.95 was excellent value and a good experience. Salad especially nice.

Helpful?
Thank mhharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    20
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Great meal, great service. Local fried oysters to die for. Leg of lamp - very good with a great sauce. Veal Piccata was perfect again with a great sauce.

Helpful?
Thank Arch R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Canada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Early Dining Menu Was Just Right...filled the spot without stuffing us!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Had we ventured into Le Bistro Mediterranean earlier in our relatively short stay in Hilton Head, we probably would have returned for the Early Dining Menu which offered enough variety for a second visit with filling while not overwhelming portion sizes.

(While I realize it is our choice whether or not to eat the whole meal as offered, I often find it disconcerting traveling in the States to be told whatever we don't eat we can take home with us...and then we reply..."to a hotel with a fridge and a microwave and we don't fly or drive back for a few more days"!)

My wife had the Butternut Squash Ravioli and a glass of Riesling, while I went for the Leg of Lamb Au Jus with a glass of Merlot. Both came with a small Greek salad with an interesting house dressing and a basket of parmesan garlic toast.

I would highly recommend Le Bistro Mediterranean over at least one of the "over-rated tourist traps" we ate at this past week!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Are J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, MI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Food was excellent (Veal Marsala and seafood crepe). Service very attentive and helpful. Staff took care to present the best. Of all the choices on the Island, Le Bistro should be on your list.
PS Also has a fine Tappas Bar.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
“My favorite restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

After hearing about Le Bistro from my parents for years as a young girl I could not wait to experience the food and the atmosphere for myself. After dining there for about 10 years now, it still remains my favorite on the island and one of the best restaurants I have ever eaten. Tonight I had the scallop special and it was melt in your mouth delicious. As always, the bread was amazing as was the starter salad that comes with each meal. The apple strudel crepe with cinnamon ice cream was the perfect end to a extraordinary meal. Our server was Robin was excellent and she was very attentive and friendly. I love seeing Faisal, the owner, every time I enter the restaurant. He always treats me and my family like his own. The atmosphere is welcoming and warm. I look forward to the next time I am able to dine at Le Bistro.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peds87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistro Mediterranean also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing