We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food and wonderful ambiance!!!”
Review of Santa Fe Cafe

Santa Fe Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Santa Fe Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 368 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We bring the very best of Southwestern culture and cuisine home to the Lowcountry. Our menu has been an Islanders" preferred dining spot for over 20 years and with dishes like our famous grouper, to our bone-in cowboy cut black angus ribeye, our outrageous chimichanga to even lobster fajitas, we're sure to have a new favorite waiting for you. From the sounds of the live Ranchero guitar player to the smells rising from our mesquite grill, Santa Fe Cafe is a much welcomed reprieve for the senses. Even when you're outside underneath the stars on our Rooftop Cantina, we've got you covered.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food and wonderful ambiance!!!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I had the stuffed free range chicken with jalapeño corn bread.... aaaaamazing! My husband had the shrimp tacos and the sauce was awesome, best shrimp tacos I've ever tasted. Food was fantastic and definitely gourmet. We say upstairs on patio and enjoyed the guitarists. Best meal we've had here and we will make this a regular stop for us going forward evey year!! Key lime pie was delicious too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mel683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    199
    76
    39
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“try painted desert soup!!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

great southwestern food and decor...spacious seating for added privacy, lovely private dining area upstairs for larger groups.......

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank topspin11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Painted Desert”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've eaten at this restaurant several times and have never been disappointed. The painted desert soup is outstanding. I order it every time I go. I also enjoy the Parmesan crusted grouper...a nice crust on the outside and moist, white flaky fish inside. The atmosphere on the rooftop deck is outstanding. The music is relaxing and the perfect compliment to the outstanding meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaisyDianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilton head
Level Contributor
132 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING!!!!!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Haven't been here for a few years just went for my birthday and boy outstanding food and service. I had the grouper with chipotle au gratin, the fish was perfectly done, crunchy on the outside and tender and flaky on the inside, the au gratin was outstanding. my husband had the pork tenderloin and was really surprised at all the flavors coming through. Service was perfect, pretty busy but not noisy. will definitely hit Santa Fe again

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lk2273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth a stop”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I've been here twice now and I have enjoyed it both times. Its better than your run of the mill Southwestern food, quality meal at prices that are on par with the rest of the island. If you are staying in Shelter Cover or Palmetto Dunes its a short walk or bike ride depending on where you are. I recommend sitting on the patio upstairs if you can, cozy outdoor atmosphere. The chimichanga, ceviche and grouper are excellent choices. Serving sizes are good and you will leave full. Great atmosphere and I have had good service both times I've been here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank motoo344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Fe Cafe also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Santa Fe Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing