We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Experience with Horseback riding - Equestrian Center”

Daufuskie Island, Hilton Head, Sc
Ranked #28 of 117 things to do in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bad Experience with Horseback riding - Equestrian Center”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

In general, we have enjoyed our time at Daufuskie Island. We have been here for a week with our 4 year old, 7 month old and their grandparents. The facilities have been great and we have found plenty to do with our 4 year old. At the beginning of the week, she was very excited to go horseback riding. So,we called and set up an appointment for Friday morning at 9. As you can imagine,getting all of us out of the house to the facility by 9 was not easy but we made it. Unfortunately,noone was at the equestrian center to meet us. Jodi, who had made our appointment for us, finally showed up at 9:45 with no explanation, and no apology at all. By that time, our daughter had had time to get a little nervous because this was her first time on a horse. Jodi sent an 11 year old rider who was not actually an employee to get the pony for our daughter and lead her around. As our daughter started to get more upset and we were trying to calm her down, Jodi abruptly said that it was stressing out the horse and ended the ride. Now our daughter who was very excited all week to ride horses has not interest in trying again. I am understanding of people being late and having unforseen circumstances but no apology and a complete disregard and understanding for a small child is unacceptable.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank ACWall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    54
    33
    14
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint James City, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Exploring the Island”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We took our boat from Hilton Head to Daufuskie Island. We rented a golf cart to explore the island. Had a blast. Like going back in time. We had lunch at the Golf course restaurant. Very nice and wonderful service and food. Decided to come back the next day to play golf. It was great. Deer on the tee boxes and views to make your mouth drop. We will play this course again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A step back in time but not much to see but empty buildings”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

All the "attractions" were just empty buildings. Very disappointed that you couldn't go in and see the one room school house. Or they were artist collections without the artist. It's a beautiful island and beach but not much living history here. The best part of our trip was when the golf cart we rented stopped. Two groups of the local residents helped us out because my AT&T cell phone would not work they called the marina to get us help. They stayed and chatted with us about their life on the island. If that didn't happen I would of rated the trip poor. The boat ride over and back was beautiful.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ThelmaVickroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Palestine, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Free boat ride”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I could not wait to get off of this hot dirty place, The food area was disgusting, No decent bathrooms,

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank jubishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Step back in Time”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

It would be very easy for me to give Daufuskie Island a bad overall rating to keep this quaint, peaceful, beautiful, southern Island all to myself, but....I would be doing others a disservice. Obviously you cannot compare this island to any other's on the east coast. There isn't a boardwalk, rides, mini golf or any other typical attraction that can be found in many shore places. What this island will offer is time to reconnect with your spouse or family, or you can catch up on a good book, take a stroll along the paved streets with the trees drenches in Spanish moss. I did a little research and located Rob Kennedy's historic trail. Although some of the markers were difficult to locate it was enjoyable getting lost on the golf cart and managing to find our way to the next historical marker. The sunset from Old Daufuskie Crab Company, was one of the best I had seen. I grabbed some dinner then afterwards relaxed in the rocking chairs with a glass of wine and witnessed natural beauty at its best. I will say, "ahhhh, Life.is.good". The island has four restaurants which offer both lunch and dinner, breakfast you're on your own. It's difficult to sum up the beauty and solitude this island can offer you and it was a great way to recharge your batteries. I will be returning hopefully sooner than later.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank lmags0923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daufuskie Island, Hilton Head, Sc also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Daufuskie Island, Hilton Head, Sc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing