We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food and service”
Review of Old Oyster Factory

Old Oyster Factory
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Oyster Factory is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 367 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Matthews Drive
Description: The Old Oyster Factory is Hilton Head's premier waterfront dining destination. Enjoy local seafood, hand-cut steaks and amazing water views from every table.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food and service”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Another Hilton Head must for me once a year. Wonderful Oysters, raw and steamed. Great clams. I had a rare-cooked tuna steak that was sashimi grade. It was awesome.Our waiter, Frank was a very experienced professional who was able to make well informed suggestions and was able to anticipate and recognize our pace immediately.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vlad792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,008 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,772
    768
    321
    97
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Service and food”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Great food, great service. Would highly recommend when visiting Hilton Head. Its one of the best seafood establishments I have been to when visiting, and have never had a bad meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great job again”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This has turned into a regular routine. 4:45... perfect spot on the bar with a great view of broad creak. I usually order their homemade raspberry martini... soooo good. Then finish with fresh shrimp, oysters, or clams. Cant wait to go back. The bartenders are friendly. The hostesses are sweet. and even managers on the floor were present. See yall next week!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting, Delicious Food”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of dinner at Old Oyster Factory. We arrived just in time for sunset, which can be enjoyed from almost anywhere in the restaurant. The soup of the day was Beer Cheese with Crab and it was out-of-this-world fantastic! Meals may seem pricey, but this may be the only time I ever say a meal was worth every penny.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boothbay Harbor, Maine
2 reviews
“What has happened?”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The Old Oyster Factory has always been one of our favorites. Have gone several times every year for about 10. This year the Dungeness Crab dinner was cooked in oil, very slippery to eat, and difficult to crack. Had a Caesar salad with oysters and the oysters seemed to be fired dough and no oysters. Very disappointed. However, the view at sunset is beautiful and we will go back for a drink on the porch and to enjoy the scenery.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happyhobo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oof101, Manager at Old Oyster Factory, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your visit. We greatly appreciate your feedback so that we can work to make things better and change what you did not like. We do appreciate that you have been coming to the Old Oyster Factory for many years and that you have enjoyed it so much! Next time your in for a drink on the porch please say hello to one of our managers so that they can make sure you have the best evening possible!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Oyster Factory also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Old Oyster Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing