We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view, delicious food, amazing service!”
Review of Old Oyster Factory

Old Oyster Factory
Reserve with OpenTable
Old Oyster Factory is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 369 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Matthews Drive
Description: The Old Oyster Factory is Hilton Head's premier waterfront dining destination. Enjoy local seafood, hand-cut steaks and amazing water views from every table.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
87 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful view, delicious food, amazing service!”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We visited the Old Oyster Factory as our last night's "celebration" dinner after a week in Hilton Head. We have visited the island many times but never the Old Oyster Factory. We were pleasantly surprised at the delicious food, which is not always the case in a restaurant with a view. The best part was the service, which was extremely attentive and helpful. The management did a wonderful job as well, keeping the full restaurant feeling unrushed by ensuring that no section received more than 1 new table at one time. It was beautifully run and a model of efficiency. We will definitely return!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SenoraGilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,946 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,741
    747
    312
    96
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Big Run, pa.
1 review
“atmosphere, service and food were excellent.”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

my wife and I had the early-bird special of mahi mahi and everything was just top notch. we had a table over looking the bay with the sun setting. The waiter was great and the food was as good as the reviews say it is. We were definitely satisfied and would recommend this to anyone.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Looks Aren't Everything”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Old Oyster Factory was recommended by a fellow traveler, and our hopes were high when we walked inside. It is located on the water, making for a beautiful view. The dining area is lovely, with lots of brightly polished wood and a nautical theme. However, the food was only a bit above average. The soups were quite good. We ordered peel and eat shrimp, but they were simply boiled with no spices. The price was good though, since it was happy hour and we got 20 of them for $10. No flavor, though. There aren't too many entrees to choose from. The scallops were good, but expensive ($26.95) and didn't come with salad. The small dessert selection had only very heavy selections. The wine list was extensive but there were only about 6 beers available. This place didn't live up to its reputation as far as the food goes, but it might make for a nice happy hour if you can sit outside on the deck and drink wine.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ellgar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always one of our HHI favorites”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Hilton Head Island has many fine restaurants, and the Old Oyster Factory has long been one of our favorites. The laid-back vibe and quality, mid-priced entrees make it a pleasant evening. The restaurant sits on the bank of Broad Creek, which cuts through the center of the island and provides nice water views. Plenty of windows to see the stars for nighttime dining, too.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
146 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“bar at sunset is one of the best venues on the island”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

One of life's pleasures is having bar snacks at sunset at the old oyster factor. good value, reasonable food and the wine and beer prices are well priced. I have only eaten in the main restaurant a few times and totally underwhelmed by the food and menu. Despite them advertising this is what you came to the island for, I have found their restaurant to be mediocre at best. Stick to the bar and enjoy the limited bar menu and good value.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bjx25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Oyster Factory also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Old Oyster Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing