We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food good service”

San Miguel's Mexican Cafe
Ranked #45 of 374 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Description: San Miguel's, located on the water in beautiful Shelter Cove Harbour, serves award winning Margaritas and has served the freshest Mexican food on Hilton Head since 1977
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food good service”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

On our first night at Hilton Head we were tired and hungry after arriving and stowing all our stuff. A quick look at the restaurant guide with price lists we decided on San Miguel's. Staff and server very friendly and we were seated quickly on the outside deck area. Food arrived quickly and was great. Only negative was when visiting ladies restroom, only one stall for such a large restaurant was surprising and inside decor needs updating. Would vist here again! Live music was a plus!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meema23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    232
    120
    57
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Yes-this was a great meal!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We ate twice here while visiting HH island and we ALL loved the food but most notable were the skinny margaritas. These are not skinny as in they use artificial sour mix or splenda but they actually muddle the lemons/limes simliarly to a mojito and they were so fresh and amazing tasting. I had the quesadilla and it was awesome. My husband had a chicken chimichanga that he said was his best ever--he is a total foodie too. I tried a bite and as I have never had one before and nothing to compare it too- I loved it.
Bottom line-if you are in the area--check them out!,

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JD2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Meh, not worth the wait.”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Went to scope it out around 4pm for dinner later that night, maybe 8 people eating around 4:30. Came back at 6 and there was a two hour wait, couldn't move around. Great salsa, decent service, not at all worth the wait.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheGroundTruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Holly Springs, PA
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food, Great Location”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our meal at this restaurant. We ate here on a 8/13/13 - a Tuesday night in the summer. They have a fireworks display on Tuesday nights at the marina where this is located, so it was very crowded, but we only had a 45 minute wait at 7:00 and they texted us with updates on our wait. We had great service and the salsa and chips they bring to table are fantastic. Three of us got fish tacos (highly recommend). It was a great place to eat at a great location - do make reservations...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reneeandsean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best waiter EVER!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My friends an I went to San Miguel's for dinner one night on our annual girls beach trip. I've been there many times before on my trips to Hilton Head and have always had a fabulous time. This time around was even better because of the service we received from our waiter Kodiak W. All 3 of us are rather picky eaters and he did everything he could to accommodate our food requests. The food at San Miguel's is always delicious and their margaritas never disappoint but my visit this time around was definitely enhanced by Kodiak's professionalism and charm. He was very entertaining and engaging and gladly accepted all of our requests including sending complimentary tequila shots to the ladies who were dining next to us for their birthdays. Thank you Kodiak for a very memorable and unbelievable night at San Miguel's!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Atupko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Miguel's Mexican Cafe also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to San Miguel's Mexican Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing