We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's hard to mess up Mexican”

San Miguel's Mexican Cafe
Ranked #46 of 374 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Description: San Miguel's, located on the water in beautiful Shelter Cove Harbour, serves award winning Margaritas and has served the freshest Mexican food on Hilton Head since 1977
Mantua, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's hard to mess up Mexican”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We went over on Cinco de Mayo and there was a 90 min wait so we decided to head back the next night. Do not know why it was so crowded the night before because the food was only so-so. We would not return for a meal, maybe drinks and live music if the weather is nice enough for the outdoor bar/patio. The service was good and so was the salsa but that was about it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katiemay216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    232
    120
    57
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love the view”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is always a must for us when at HH. We enjoy eating outside. Watching the boats going in and out. There's usually a live band playing, which we also enjoy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne49022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Md
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Greasy Chips...Great Salsa”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stopped here for a late lunch. Complmentary tortilla chips were very greasy, so greasy I couldnt pick up my glass of water. Salsa however, was great. LOts of fresh jalepeno , tomatoes & cilantro. Marinated chicken fajitas tasted just like the McCormick marinade pack you buy at the grocery store. Tons of grilled onions & fresh red & green bell peppers. DRaft beer was really good. It was convenient to where I was at the time, but I would not seek this one out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ooftie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best Margaritas”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This little spot in Shelter Cove serves the best margaritas on the island along with homemade salsa and chips.
Great cocktail spot either at the outside or inside bar.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great margaritas and guacamole. Good not so good”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

When We come to Hilton Head to Hilton Head we always stop for the best margaritas. The chips and salsa are good too. The rest of the menu items are not very good. It tastes like food is all pre done and microwaved. Will return for drinks but not dinner

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kls88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Miguel's Mexican Cafe also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to San Miguel's Mexican Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing