We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little different for me....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hinoki of Kurama

Hinoki of Kurama
Ranked #125 of 362 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little different for me....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

This is a great place for Asian food and has its own sushi bar which is very well attended. I just like the Japanese food served in those cute wooden boxes. Great taste and reasonably priced. I know someone else would love to write about the Sushi, but I'm not a fan.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jay579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    47
    17
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best meal we had on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

We booked Hinoki at six o'clock for seven people on a Friday night. It was great that they took reservations as we hated waiting for tables every time we went out to eat. Early august is very busy on the island and waiting for tables is the norm so it was nice to get a table when we wanted it. Good thing we booked as by 6:30 the place was full.
As noted by others the service and ambiance were average, actually the place was quite warm, close to uncomfortable. However, the food was extraordinary! We had a bit of everything with orders of sashimi, sushi, tempura, bento boxes, steak and salmon. Since we arrived before seven our older kids ordered the specials which were huge and delicious! Tempura veggies, salad, miso soup, steak and chicken all included. I had the dinner combo of sashimi and sushi, chef's choice...very good and very fresh sashimi...wonderful. My in laws raved about their teriyaki salmon and fried calamari. The surf and turf sushi roll also highly recommended.
All in all this was the best food we had during our two week visit. They also do take out...we saw many people come in to pick up food. A great choice for dinner.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank spinalmechanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“One of The Best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

If you enjoy sushi, do not miss Hinoki.

The ambience and service are average but the food is SUPERB. you will not be disappointed.
Comparing food alone, Hinoki matched or exceeded Dallas' Nobu.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RVChhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
120 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Sushi and more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Hinoki is a really great sushi restaurant, but they also have a lot of other traditional Japanese items of the menu that are hard to find at many restaurants outside of a big city. We've never had a bad meal here!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CEGDESIGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, GA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very poor value”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We were excited to try this place based on the other ratings but felt completely ripped off when we left. Sushi was average at best and the main course was the equivalent to a low budget Asian cafe. Prices for what we got was a very poor value. And the service was not good either. Probably the worst meal we had on our vacation. Would not go back and don't recommend - I've had better Japanese at Benihana!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank glenng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hinoki of Kurama also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Hinoki of Kurama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing