We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bakery, desserts, scones & muffins on the island”

Signe's Bakery & Cafe
Ranked #2 of 7 Bakeries in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $30
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Signe's Heaven Bound Bakery & Café has been a Hilton Head Island tradition since 1972. Signe Gardo still coordinates the operation, which has been featured in numerous national publications as well as the Food Network for its eclectic breakfast and luncheon menu. All-day breakfast includes a remarkably delicius baked French Toast (blueberry, blackberry and old fashioned) as well as fluffy frittatas, hearty shrimp & grits and an assortment of fresh pastries. An array of Signe's specialty salads appeal to local vegetarians as well as her quiches and tarts. Sandwiches run the gamut from turkey & cranberry to Hot Reubens. Then, of course, there are desserts - lots of them, including our renowned double-chocolate "Mud-dauber" cupcake to sweet-potato/pecan pies, fresh key lime pie and a choice of cakes by the slice, made daily.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best bakery, desserts, scones & muffins on the island”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

This is THE place to satisfy your sweet tooth . . . a little hard to find your first time and an interesting parking lot . . . worth it when you see all of their wonderful home baked breads, muffins, pies and other goodies . . . a few small tables to sit and have coffee or tea and some selections or buy a selection takeout and take them back to your condo and have them at your leisure.

They do have luncheon specials and breakfasts . .. and they are good . . . but this is a BAKERY and you need to FOCUS.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    132
    71
    40
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seymour, Tennessee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Favorite”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Always enjoy our breakfasts at Signe's. Especially good bakery items, fritatas, waffles, shrimp 'n' grits, fruit, etc. Usually end up taking bakery items home with us. The only minor annoyance at times is when the timeshare sales people are filling the place trying to make a sale. The staff is pleasant and the indoor dining area quaint and cozy. There are also tables on the deck.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
2 reviews
“Great Meal a little disappointed”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Well where do I start, we came in today with a party of 6 Family members, We seated ourself and the waitress was quick to get our drink orders and bring menus, as time pasted we watched her going from table to table, we were patient and when she returned for our order we asked if she was working alone, she said no we have 2 other waitress working too, we placed our order and again waited as the same waitress was running all over helping customers. We don't mind the wait but when we saw 2 spanish waitress watching their phone and chatting in spanish (rude), and 2 other waitress chatting at the cash register. Our Kudos to that one poor waitress, and our thanks for making our meal enjoyable. A great place to eat all and all....

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quaint Cafe”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We ordered the Deep Dish French Toast trio and weren't as impressed as "Rachel Ray". We expected a crusty texture like traditional french toast but our servings were just thick moist slices. The country sausage was excellent; a breakfast of sausage and either quiche or a frittata would have been a better choice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Stopped in for dessert”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

During our last visit in 2011 we were told to try to Key Lime Poundcake, which we did and we loved it so we knew that we wanted to go back for another one on this visit. While there one of the ladies working suggested that we also try the Key Lime Pie so we bought a slice and I honestly think it was even better than the poundcake. Very good and will return on our next trip!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Signe's Bakery & Cafe also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Signe's Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing