We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wings are the real deal”
Review of Ruby Lee's

Ruby Lee's
Ranked #45 of 374 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wings are the real deal”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We went for lunch, shared the wings, 10 and they are big, did the Ruby sauce very good. Not a large place, lot of TV's, great bar, service was very good, had to wait for the wings but worth the wait. Very nicely decorated with sport pictures and stuff. Not a large menu but from what we could see everyone was happy with their food. Small parking lot.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    115
    17
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great local Joint”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Great local "Joint". Much more than it looks like from the outside. Very nicely decorated. Family atmosphere. GREAT music. Sports bar without the sports noise. My husband and I like to hang at the bar for dinner. Recommend the whiting and the she-crab soup. True story: We were seated at a table having dinner one evening and the owner put on the song "To the Left, To the Left." You know the one. Well, every woman in the place immediately jumped up and ran to the middle of the room to dance. A couple came through the door and without a blink, she joined us as he went to the bar. It's that kind of place. Maybe not 4 star food. But more atmosphere and realness that you will find within 60 miles of Hilton Head.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kleblancnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The live music was very very good! The food was hot and fresh with a low country appeal . The service was very good ,and the atmosphere is especially nice and clean. The guy that says he is the owner really made us feel at home . I would highly recommend ruby lee's to anyone that loves comfort food!!!!!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mac d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“To much for a locals spot”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Me and a co worker Went for all music Night we saw on facebook, the server was great really friendly but food took a hour the food was good and hot. There was also no room to move no walk area the servers had to push our food through crowd of people music was great also! But to expensive and overprice

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Islandlife56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“mediocre food and unexpected music charge”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The food was just OK. A group of us tried the fried chicken, gumbo and mac & cheese, which were alright. The spareribs were not very good (a special), only 2 ribs, and had an artificial smokey taste.

We chose Wednesday night since they were going to have blues music. Little did we know that the music was a one-man band with electronic music. Sounded more like karoke. No blues at all, more like something you'd hear at a wedding. The big surprise was when the check arrived with a $20 music charge (for 4 of us). Really?

There wasn't any notice on the door or menu stating the music charge, or in its ad. We could see paying a charge if there was good live blues music (as in the Jazz Corner), but this was ridiculous and we felt ripped off. Not just because of the charge, but the surprise of it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BedeliaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby Lee's also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Ruby Lee's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing