We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unprepared for a big party” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Hacienda of Hilton Head

La Hacienda of Hilton Head
Ranked #164 of 362 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nassau County, New York, United States
1 review
“Unprepared for a big party”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I was a part of a 23 person reservation for an intern celebration. My boss placed the reservation at noon for a 9:00 reservation. Supposedly, some midget guy was suppose to take care of us. (NOT!!!!!!) The wait staff was very ill-prepared. No tables were ready, and a group had already taken up a large private area. The wait staff should have given us free chips and salsa, and possibly comped our drinks while we were waiting. They did not have the balls to do that.

After this debacle and mess, we decided to head over to Smokehouse, which accommodated us by closing later. I'm sure I would have had a great meal here, if not for the ugly mishap caused by whomever booked the reservation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DEngl0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    40
    8
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Wow! Great Mex!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

I was doubtful until the homemade guacamole was made table side. Excellent. Main courses were very good too. Menu looks like typical order by number but food is fresh and very good. We will be back often!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shrmrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
231 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food---Ole!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

La Hacienda is a great place to take families to eat. Their menu is extensive, and the price is affordable. The service is great...as soon as you sit down you are presented with delicious warm chips and homemade salsa. In addition to soft drinks, their draft beers are numerous and bar drinks are available, too--especially pitchers full of Margaritas! They were very accommodating to our order changes and the food was served quickly and hot. The servers were very attentive and we never had to ask for a refill. The restaurant was very clean. I liked the idea of having York peppermint patties on the way out---great dessert for only $0.25!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltton head island, sc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little gem for the S End”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We live on the S End and dread going out to eat during tourist season. This is the one place that we have never had to wait to sit down (if we go out it's usually on a Friday night). We order the fajitas to share and we bring home leftovers. The service is always excellent and they have great deals on large cold draft beers (and margaritas if you choose). If you like what I call 'dirty Mexican' you must try this place. Good prices and great service!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank k f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swayzee, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice change of pace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

After eating at several restaurants on Hilton Head Island, La Hacienda was a nice change of pace. The food and service were both excellent! We were facing an hour and a half to a two hour wait at most other restaurants, but we got right in here. Most of the other restaurants in the area are very pricey, but having 6 people in our group, we were able to eat and have a few cocktails for much less than the price of other meals we had. This is our second trip to HHI, and our second time at La Hacienda..it is a must when in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Hacienda of Hilton Head also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to La Hacienda of Hilton Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing