We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite place in Hilton Head”

Ombra Cucina Rustica
Reserve with OpenTable
Ombra Cucina Rustica is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 369 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: OMBRA Cucina Rustica, located in the beautiful Village at Wexford on the south end of Hilton Head Island. Come and enjoy Classic Regional Italian cuisine created by Chef Michael Cirafesi voted Best Chef Hilton Head 2013 and 2014. OMBRA features an extensive wine list including Italian Benchmark wines. Stop by to relax at our bar and lounge with a spectacular selection of Italian specialty cocktails, apertifs, and digestivos.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Our favorite place in Hilton Head”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

Second time there. First came last year and I don't know what else to say but the food and service are second to none. Linguini Mediterranean, Veal Medallions, and the snapper were all excellent. For starters, the beer salad is our favorite.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    901
    158
    46
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Italian perfection”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We have dined at Ombra many times, and it has never disappointed us. The quality of the food and the preparation of each dish is as good as it gets. Chef/owner Michael Cirafesi creates pasta dishes that are wonderful. The ravioli, whether with marinara sauce or butter and herbs, are always tender and delicious. The beet salad with goat cheese is a personal favorite. His Milanese is devine. The service is sharp and smooth, the welcome warm. Yes, it can be somewhat noisy, but dining here makes you feel as if you are in Italy at a big family gathering.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EIfoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head
2 reviews
“Islander favorite”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

This is by far the best restaurant on the island. The menu is very extensive and the food is always excellent and of high quality, no matter what you order. We visit Ombra on a regular weekly basis and we love all the various dishes Chef Michael prepares as well as his home made deserts. The atmosphere is very comfortable and the service is excellent. We love the feeling of being welcomed there every time from the moment we walk in. The overall dining experience is definitely first class.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sigrid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“First Class”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We've traveled the World by Concorde (when it was still flying) and have been to the finest Relais & Chateux and Orient Express hotels/restaurants around the World. Ombra is simply one of our most favorite restaurants for a "total dining experience". Certainly, the food is of exceptional quality and consistency (we have dined there multiple times since they've opened), however, the experience goes beyond the fulfillment of expectations of quality. This includes a warmth of the entire staff which, simply stated, makes you feel special from the time you enter to the time you leave. At the conclusion of each meal, you immediately begin planning your next visit. If you ever have the opportunity, put this restaurant at the top of your priority list. You are sure to be delighted.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeTheresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great dinner at Ombra”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

My partner and I had a wonderful dinner at Ombra on a Wednesday in early July. We're not the most adventurous eaters, especially me, but I loved my tagliatelle bolognese, and his ravioli was so good that he even ate some of the accompanying cherry tomatoes, even though he doesn't like tomatoes! The service was excellent, too (and especially appreciated after receiving some less-than-stellar service at Wiseguys the previous evening). Our waiter, Mitch, was great. Thanks for making the last night of our vacation so enjoyable!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ombra Cucina Rustica also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Ombra Cucina Rustica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing