We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food and experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ombra Cucina Rustica

Ombra Cucina Rustica
Reserve with OpenTable
Ombra Cucina Rustica is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 362 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: OMBRA Cucina Rustica, located in the beautiful Village at Wexford on the south end of Hilton Head Island. Come and enjoy Classic Regional Italian cuisine created by Chef Michael Cirafesi voted Best Chef Hilton Head 2013 and 2014. OMBRA features an extensive wine list including Italian Benchmark wines. Stop by to relax at our bar and lounge with a spectacular selection of Italian specialty cocktails, apertifs, and digestivos.
South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

I have been to many "famous" restaurants in many different cities but I am still in awe of the food and dining experience at this restaurant. Our dining party ordered chicken, fish, and beef entrees along with several appetizers and desserts and each one was amazing in flavor and presentation. The staff were amazing and made this evening one for the memory book. This was a perfect restaurant for celebrating!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SCSouthernGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    827
    147
    42
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton, South Carolina, United States
1 review
“Easily one of the best restaurants in the SouthEast...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

I think my husband said it best when he took a bite of the scallops in white truffle sauce…"It's like there's a party in my mouth"! Every bite of food here should be savored. It's just bursting with flavor. We've been to many Italian restaurants over the years and Ombra by far is the best! Michael is such an amazing chef and so personable. His wife, Lauren, is extremely professional yet very friendly and truly makes everybody feel welcome and comfortable (when she's hostessing). The waitstaff is phenomenal and treat you with the utmost respect. They're attentive and always offer suggestions and advice when uncertain of what to order..because you literally want to order everything! I highly recommend Ned. Great conversationalist!
The few negative comments below are laughable. Probably friends of the competition trying to drive business elsewhere. Haters! Jealously is an ugly emotion.
If you want excellent food….with the finest wines available…in a classy (but not snobby) atmosphere…for very reasonable prices…...go to Ombra. You WILL NOT be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the best on the Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Eight of us were there for dinner, everyone commented that this is one of the best restaurants on the Island. Everything we tasted was just great. Good wine list, attentive service but not the feeling of being hovered over by the server, nice setting. One of the highlights for our group was the two visits to our table by the chief. He was very friendly and made the evening a special event. He sent an amuse-bouche to our table of lobster with white beans - it was great!

This spot is a don't miss on your next visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Traderguy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

For a wonderful dinner at Hilton Head, go to Ombra!! It is fantastic. The service is terrific and the food is the best. If the halibut is a special, try it. It is amazing. The chocolate lava cake dessert (that's not the name on the dessert menu, but it is something like that) is very rich but an outstanding treat if you're a chocolate fan. It is the restaurant's signature dessert. For a wonderful dinner -- don't miss this one.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MDCruiseFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Quite superb and sublime pasta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We went on a Saturday evening and had the most fabulous time. The service was attentive, the starters superb and the special veal ravioli sublime - really quite excellent. With lovely wine a very good venue.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JolyonG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ombra Cucina Rustica also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Ombra Cucina Rustica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing