We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner party of 30' and still great service and perfect food”

Ombra Cucina Rustica
Reserve with OpenTable
Ombra Cucina Rustica is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 369 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: OMBRA Cucina Rustica, located in the beautiful Village at Wexford on the south end of Hilton Head Island. Come and enjoy Classic Regional Italian cuisine created by Chef Michael Cirafesi voted Best Chef Hilton Head 2013 and 2014. OMBRA features an extensive wine list including Italian Benchmark wines. Stop by to relax at our bar and lounge with a spectacular selection of Italian specialty cocktails, apertifs, and digestivos.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dinner party of 30' and still great service and perfect food”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We recently had a large dinner party here at Ombré the staff was great and very patient with us and as classy as any place we have eaten, we had many courses over 30 ppl and all I heard is how good everything was, I had the gnocchi Gorgonzola it was amazing, and my wife had pasta dish penne buongustaio and loved it, the desserts were also amazing profiteroles a great cream filled puff pastry with dark chocolate syrup. Mmmmm. The atmosphere was friendly and upscale. Can't wait to return. Thanks

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    933
    162
    48
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Consistent excellence.”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This restaurant is simply superb.
Frankly, having spent years dining in Atlanta's revolving door hot/cold dining world, I have to come to Hilton Head for this cuisine.
The menu is particularly Tuscan but more generally excels in Italian-fusion and a really outstanding wine list.
I've now tried veal and chicken in different variations and nothing has been less than outstanding.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank evantorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing food, great service, lovely atmosphere!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had dinner at the Ombra last week to celebrate a special birthday. It was such a wonderful experience! We found it by chance and loved the place. All the staff were friendly from the minute we walked in. We enjoyed everything we ate. We all had a variation of the veal dishes, both very tasty. Their desserts are to die for. All I can say is great food, great service, great atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dionne700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, SC
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“excellent food on the island”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We like seafood and I'll have to say the selection and quality were quite good.
The waiter did a very good job. Had a problem with getting us bread, which
seemed to be the fault of the kitchen. Wine selection could be better.
Food is on the pricey side. Ambience is generally good, but I hate getting
crammed in on those long covered benches where you are slam up against
other customers on each side. I'd recommend asking for a table. Also, although
the place was crowded at 7:00, by 8:15 it was a lot quieter and more pleasant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scmaddux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great underrated Italian”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My first ever tripadvisor review if that means anything. We're on vacation and are foodies so rather picky. We loved each course that came our way. Esp the brombata di chocolata for desert. The scallop appetizer was also wonderful (I was spooning the sauce long after the scallops were gone). The waiter was excellent. Very knowledgable but not over bearing. Suggested wine that was not the top of the price range but perfect for what we wanted. Definitely would recommend.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ombra Cucina Rustica also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Ombra Cucina Rustica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing