We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great moivie theater”
Review of Park Plaza Cinema

Park Plaza Cinema
Ranked #5 of 14 Fun & Games in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Situated just outside the entrance to Sea Pines Plantation. Park Plaza Cinema is Hilton Head Island’s favorite premier movie theater. Voted "COOLEST MOVIE THEATER in South Carolina" by Cosmopolitan Magasine! It is the only movie theater in the Low Country that offers an extensive selection of beer and wine. A full service café with an exciting weekly menu made with fresh items, featured by our own Chef Shel. Locally made, gourmet ice cream and coffee. Check out our new MANN CAVE bar, local craft beer on tap. Known for it’s RED luxury reclining love seats, the theater is fully digital and offers 3D movies. Voted BEST popcorn around (all in the recipe ) We offer the ultimate movie going experience! A place that feels like home but better, where you can connect with your loved ones. Come say hi to owners Larry and Lucie Mann, our wonderful staff and our two little theater dogs Annabelle and Antoinette who greet you when you walk in. Park Plaza Cinema, Welcome Home!
Reviewed October 29, 2017

We recently visited Hilton Head Island and my wife and I had the pleasure of going to see a movie at this movie theater in the shopping center right outside of Sea Pine Resort. I have to say that this is such a nice family run movie theater by the husband and wife team of Lucy and Larry Mann!! After purchasing your ticket from Larry you probably will be greeted by one or both of their dogs named Annabelle or Antoinette in the lobby upon entering, maybe you will get to see them do a trick.The theater also has a bar if you want a beer or wine and serves food as well. There are nice big comfy recliners to relax in while watching your movie. This is a definite must visit place while visiting Hilton Head!!!! I tip my hat to Larry and Lucy!!

Thank mrrenov8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Cinema, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2017

Mrrenov8, Thank you so very much for such a GRRREAT review!!! We love having the dogs to greet our patrons as ya'll come in. They bring a lot of joy to soo many of our customers!! We look forward to seeing you and your wife on your next trip to our theater.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"reclining seats"
in 22 reviews
"movie experience"
in 14 reviews
"great movie"
in 13 reviews
"first run movies"
in 12 reviews
"concession stand"
in 10 reviews
"watch movies"
in 5 reviews
"red leather"
in 5 reviews
"great popcorn"
in 5 reviews
"current movies"
in 4 reviews
"movie house"
in 4 reviews
"movie night"
in 6 reviews
"small popcorn"
in 3 reviews
"movie goers"
in 3 reviews
"smaller theater"
in 3 reviews
"small theaters"
in 3 reviews
"favorite movie"
in 3 reviews
"ticket prices"
in 3 reviews
Filter

105 - 109 of 330 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2017 via mobile

LOVE this theater!! Comfy leather recliners, great bar and the best dogs to visit with!!!
Love the dogs and being able to take our favorite beer/wine into see our favorite new release movies!

Thank kellbell001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Cinema, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2017

Kellbell101, Thank you for the fabulous review!! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2017

Great little theatre. Two years in a row the movies we wanted to see, Sully and the Victoria and Abdul, were playing. Both were highly factionalized accounts 'Based on a True Story'. But that is the American way, not the theatres fault. And both were very enjoyable if you ignored your knowledge of the real facts.

The theatre is particularly well appointed and the experience is comfortable and pleasing. The new chairs are huge. They recline with a foot rest and there is a small table for your food and drink. We had wine and popcorn, something we cannot get at home in a theater. We can of course get popcorn and unfortunately the popcorn here was not very good. We suggest you skip it but there is other food available and it can be delivered to your seat.

Some minor negatives that detracts from but certainly do not ruin the experience:
1: the popcorn
2: The excess self congratulatory videos about the origin of the theatre and the seat renovations.
3: previews too many and too long.
4: sound - very high volume during the previews and videos. The volume was so high my wife was holding her ears and we actually considered leaving the theater. Fortunately the volume during the actual film was at the correct level.

As I said, these are minor negatives. We did enjoy the evening and depending on what is showing in the four theaters we fully expect to be here again when we return to Hilton Head next October. But we will probably sit at the bar until the main feature starts.

Thank Chopstick105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Cinema, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2017

Chopstick105, Thank you for taking the time to make a review on our Cinema. The owner are very proud of the upgrades they have made...hence the commercial in the beginning. We look forward to seeing you next October.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2017 via mobile

My friends and I attended the $5 movie night on Tuesday, although we were not aware of the discount until we arrived....a nice surprise! The place is clean, bright and cheery, great popcorn, friendly atmosphere and awesome comfortable reclining seats. We will definitely be back! Only thing, we had to purchase our tickets at the concession stand and people, of course were buying food. Only 1 person behind the counter, so we had to wait a bit. We were on vacation though, so no biggie!

Thank triptaker1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Public Relations Manager at Park Plaza Cinema, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2017

Triptaker, thank you for taking the time to write us a review! Tuesdays is one of our busier days due to the $5 all movie tickets...we will take note of the one person here later in the night. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the HHI and PPC. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2017

Tuesday afternoon at Park Plaza Cinema was a treat ....Not only the price , but the delicious pop corn and those wonderful reclining seats.......Loved it......

Thank josh2126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie M, Public Relations Manager at Park Plaza Cinema, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2017

Josh, Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. Every Tuesday we treat our guest to $5 movies all day long and Park Plaza has been voted Best Popcorn on the island 3 years in a row!! We look forward to seeing again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Park Plaza Cinema also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Park Plaza Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing