We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why the changes?”
Review of Charbar Co

Charbar Co
Ranked #30 of 368 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Hilton Head Island, SC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Why the changes?”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I believe we can be called "regulars" at Charabar...we live locally and have dined here at least 10 X in the last year...we take visitors and it is a standard for us...last night,Thursday,arrived to meet friends at 630p, seated outside and had a server hand-off to another young lady immediately and the problems began;

-our initial wine choice was unavailable after "happy our"
-waited ONE and ONE HALF hours for our regular order (hamburgers, chicken sandwich)
-Typical order of onion rings 1/2 the usual size
-no toppings on my burger

The visiting family of four / two kids were already seated next to us when we got there and were still not served after two hours...

Very UNTYPICAL and a bad experience...What happened??

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kt_allenbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharbarCo, Owner at Charbar Co, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your recent visit with us. Unfortunately, last Thursday was a perfect storm of employees calling out due to sickness, or personal emergencies and as a result we were running with half of our typical kitchen and waitstaff. To make matters worse, it was one of our busier nights at Charbar as I'm sure you could see that we couldn't keep up with everyone on par with our normal standards.

Management tried to make it to every table that suffered as a result of long ticket times or haphazard service, but it sounds like you may not have gotten a chance to speak w/ management while on site. I want to take this opportunity to extend a big apology for falling short of your usual expectations for your Charbar experience. Since you are a regular, I'm sure you are aware that this is not a commonplace occurrence.

Please feel free to contact us at 843-785-2427 and ask to speak with a manager to discuss the issue further, as we will make sure we make the situation right. Thank you for understanding, we look forward to hearing from you and exceeding expectations on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    200
    59
    22
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
156 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Quite a bit of a wait, but worth it”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Arrived about 8 o'clock on a weekday and ended up waiting 45 minutes for our burgers to arrive. Love the menu, love the choices but quite honestly we were starving at that point. I asked the waitress later on if the wait was typical and she said yes everything is handmade hand patted and cooked to order. Arrive at 5:30 she said in the wait would be much shorter.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lenox, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Drinks”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Saw this In one of the dining magazines. Stopped and had a drink. fresh raspberry lemon drop martini. Outstanding!! Cute classy restaurant, small but good atmosphere. Can't wait to go bac and try one of their burgers. The menu looks great and have read a lot of wonderful reviews.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Sandwiches”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a hidden Gem in Hilton Head. Friendly Wait staff knows the menu very well. The Hamburger and Chicken BLT is to die for. Only one problem the sandwiches are just too good.
Will def. visit this place again. Thanks for making our visit a great experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tpannell70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Will visit everytime we are in hilton head”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband and I have been going to hilton head for 16 years. We came upon this by accident and took te kids and the dog. The outside atmosphere was fantastic. Very kid and dog friendly outside seating. Cocktails were well made and reasonable. Food was outstanding. Kids had shrimp burgers. Husband had the cha burger and I had chicken blt. Nothing was bad. Onion rings were fantastic. Shakes at the end were the best the kids said. Well done staff and cooks. We had a great evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paco1926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charbar Co also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charbar Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing