We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spicy!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bullies

Bullies
Ranked #25 of 362 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Spicy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

The ribs were very good but they are on the spicy side. I liked the cole slaw but not the corn bread. The ribs were fall off the bone tender and well spiced without any sauce. Lots of choices for sauces from sweet to extra hot. Definitely a locals place and certainly nothing fancy. Very friendly. I would like to try some other items on the menu so I will definitely return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    157
    30
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bullies is awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

The Mrs and I went to Bullies Barbecue yesterday for dinner. Told Bob, the owner, that this was my first time in South Carolina and I wanted some "real southern food." He suggested the spicy beans, spicy collard greens, and pulled pork dinner. He even gave me samples so I could see what I might like best. The Mrs got the 1/2 rack of pork and Carolina cole slaw. It was all fantastic! Huge portions. Total cost was only $33 total. The restaurant isn't fancy, you couldn't ask for better food or service. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hatsnjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Southern Bar-B-Q at it's finest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Pulled pork sandwich DELICIOUS!!! Generous portions for a great price. Excellent service. This northern girl loved it so much, I took 2 pounds back to Wisconsin along with their sweet sauce.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Georgia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hole-In-The-Wall BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Looking for good bbq from the SC BBQ Trail map- Bullies is listed. Passed it several times & no autos around, had me wondering about the food. Finally stopped in & gained 2 lbs. on the "air sandwich". Ordered the "Feed 2-3 Family pack, it is on the to-go list and wasn't allowed to eat it in, go figure. Took it back to condo & pigged out- the ribs were awesome, pulled pork was great, chicken was great, beef brisket was smoked well with a great smoke ring- I'm a "pork" person, hence the listing last of the brisket. Mac & cheese and slaw for the side dishes, were ok. The jalapeno cornbread was good, except I don't care for "sweet" cornbread, that's just not a raised-in-the-South thing. Bullies obviously supports the Military, which I like, and has a lot of wall art from previous customers. Over-all, the food is good, ambience great, smells are what they should be, and the price was right. This was on Wednesday & the daily special was a Full Rib Rack for $15, can't beat that anywhere. Will try their vinegar slaw & kickin' collards next time.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aubie512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“THE BEST RIBS EVER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

When you step into Bullies BBQ, it’s not filled with tourists. But it’s filled with locals. Constructions workers. No there isn’t any liquor there. And no it’s not a party restaurant. But Bullies BBQ has great food.These giant tasty sandwiches for 5:50 . Tasty Ribs to make your mouth water. It also has a lunch special , 1lb of ribs 15$ at lunch compared to the normal price of $21.95. If you like a good atmosphere don’t come. The restaurant is a crowed 1 room place. That is extremely small. If your a rib guy this is a great chance for you to have some southern style ribs. IF YOU LIKE RIBS AND YOU ARE IN HILTON HEAD YOU MUST COME. they only have pork ribs fyi

To read my full review go to http://wp.me/p30pRt-by

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank judgefood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bullies also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Bullies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing