We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't pass this one up”
Review of Bullies

Bullies
Ranked #20 of 367 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Weedsport, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't pass this one up”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Bullies is easy to pass by, and even if you notice it, you might think it can't be good, there are so few cars there. WRONG. This is a counter service restaurant, but the ribs and other meats are among the best ever. Prices are very reasonable, we went on $15 full rack night. Good sauces, the herb sauce was a hit with 5 out of 6 of us. Will surely go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elliemae2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    163
    30
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great local BBQ joint”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stopped in for lunch and a break from cycling on Hilton Head, we found a great BBQ joint. We had a pulled pork sandwich as well as a brisket sandwich. The pork was close to perfect, great smoke flavor and no sauce on the meat so you can taste the flavor of the pork than sauce it to your taste. Neither of the meats needed sauce but there were 5 different sauces to choose from, I preferred a combination of the sweet and spicy tomato based sauces. There was a vinegar sauce, a Carolina mustard sauce, and their signature sauce with basil, it was very tasty on the pork. The brisket was good, had a great flavor and good smoke ring, it was just sliced way too thin, very much like a fast food roast beef. The two sides we had were fries and collard greens, both were very good and worthy of reordering the next time we visit. We were told by the gentleman that served us that their ribs are what people love the most, didn't have a chance to try them but will definitely go back on our next visit and order them.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mratcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolivia, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Must stop on search for "Ribs"”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

More than one would expect from a Rib BBQ sharing a building with a gas station, but it is worth it. The food was great, ribs were "finger licking good". A small shop with a "big meal" menu. Big Lou, the CEO was fun to talk with as well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Incredible ribs and sauces”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

I'll admit... We were unsure of Bullies, since every time we drove by there didn't seem to be many cars parked outside. But, we decided to give it a try based on all the good reviews on Trip Advisor...

We went on a Wednesday... They had a deal for a full rack of ribs for $15 ($6 off)... What a bargain! The ribs were incredible... Perfectly cooked, great rub. We also ordered some beef brisket... It was good, but not in the same league as the ribs.

The mac and cheese was also good, but not great. The jalapeño cornbread was quite tasty!

Bullies has a nice mix of sauces... My favorite was the herb sauce... It had such a unique flavor for a BBQ sauce. Sort of reminded me of a spedie-style marinade for chicken.

Can't wait to go back to Bullies on future trips to HHI!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pampa
Level Contributor
103 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Little Find!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This place was close to where we were staying and we wanted to try some BBQ in this area, since we were visiting from Texas. We were very pleased with the food. I had the brisket plate and my husband had the ribs plate. The plates included french fries, cole slaw and jalapeno cornbread. The food was plentiful, tasty and served pipping hot! The ribs were fall off the bone good. The brisket was thinnly sliced and yummy. My only compaint was the food was a tad salty.

The place is not large and you order at the counter and the food is brought to you. I found that the two men serving and plating at the restaurant (don't know if they are owners or what) to be the friendliest people we encountered on the entire island. They made us feel so welcomed, like they knew us forever. All I can say is Way to Go Guys, keep up the Good Work!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mommrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bullies also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Bullies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing