We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class experience”

Tammy Jane Charters
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Welcome to the unique shrimp trawler Tammy Jane! In the pristine waters of Hilton Head Island, we offer exciting, informative shrimp trawling expeditions, relaxing and surprising wildlife and dolphin eco-tours, and deep sea nearshore fishing adventures. Proudly owner-operated for over 20 years, up to 37 guests, private parties are welcome. Tammy Jane provides a unique Lowcountry experience -- you might even bring some shrimp home for dinner!
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Eleven of us signed up for the morning shrimp trawling expedition. It was a lovely exxperience with great information being provided with respect to marine life that we might experience on out trip. It was most interesting and had us all captivated. Then we trawled for shrimp and took a catch of some 200 pounds, including several small sharks, rays and a large horseshoe crab. We then sorted the fish and de-headed the shrimps. We were given several pounds of our catch that we took back home and cooked for lunch. It was a most interesting experience for both children and adults alike.

5  Thank Worldwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marley M, Owner at Tammy Jane Charters, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thanks so much for the positive review! We aim to please, but we ALSO aim to educate everyone just a little bit about how healthy and rich our natural environment is on Hilton Head Island. Thanks for joining us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 37 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

This shrimp boat adventure is an absolute must for anyone over 5 years old! Marley is an excellent teacher and we learned all about the marsh and how shrimp live, along with other sea life. We stayed in the calm waters and trawled for a short time while learning all about what we were likely to catch in our nets. It was white shrimp season, and I believe we caught at least 100 pounds! We were able to help de-head them and got to take plenty home. They were dinner that night and they were the best shrimp we've ever had!

3  Thank bloomingidiot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marley M, Owner at Tammy Jane Charters, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Wow, kind words! I would add one "explanatory" caveat in that this trip might not be the best for the youngest kids, say under 7 years old. Remember, it IS three hours on a boat, with not a lot of move-around space, and with a fair amount of "quiet time" for the first half of the trip. Anyone considering this trip with younger children is encouraged to give us a call, and we can talk about whether it will be fun for your young one (AND for you!) ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I have to say that the Tammy Jane Charter's Shrimping Excursion was quite interesting. The guide knew everything about the local environment. She was very informative about spartina and she knew what bioluminescence is in the environment. This charter was interesting. The net pulled up multiple dangerous sea creatures; sharks, sting ray, jelly fish, and crabs. The net pulled up about 3 pounds of shrimp which was given by a lottery. Interesting!!!

1  Thank ListenToMe717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marley M, Owner at Tammy Jane Charters, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thanks so much for your comments. We try awfully hard to have a core understanding of our environment, and any time someone says they've learned something, that's a BIG compliment for us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I just spent 3 hours shrimp trawling on the Tammy Jane and it was fantastic. I highly recommend this to anyone wanting to experience trawling, in addition to learning lots of information about marine life in general. Our catch included shrimp, ( of course), small sharks (of various species), a good sized sting ray, several butterfly rays, a variety of crabs, some flounder, squid- all sorts of fish goodies. Upon completion of the expedition, each group was given some of the shrimp to take home. Yum. Oh, forgot to mention several dolphin swimming behind the boat hoping for some fish from the net. Never get tired of watching dolphin swim.

2  Thank Bearsfan51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marley M, Owner at Tammy Jane Charters, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Thanks so much for the great review! We caught around 95 lbs. of shrimp altogether on that day -- so grateful you were able to join us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My wife and I have been trying for several years to find a shrimp boat experience. Fortunately, we were able to reserve space on the Tammy Jane this trip. It was terrific! We had about 30 tourist on the trip and found it to be educational, fun, and we hope to be able to make the trip again next September. Not only educational, but we got to experience "hands-on" sorting the 200 lbs.+ of White Shrimp that were pulled up in the net from the other sea inhabitants. The nets and rigging prevent sea turtles and anything larger than 3 to 4 inches across getting trapped. We each received about 4 lbs. of "wild caught" shrimp, especially considering only about 20% of the shrimp are not "farm-raised", we cooked them the next night with friends and they were delicious. The captain, first mate, Naturalists (which included the captains wife, Marley, who did the primary education and is in training from the SC Dept. of Natural Resources. All were top rate. And, if your are concerned about safety, don't be... the first activity was safety training with life vests. I recommend this for everyone... I am 70 and got to help pull the net aboard. Can't wait till next year.

1  Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tammy Jane Charters also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Tammy Jane Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing