We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spur of the Moment”

Gillan's Fresh Seafood and Oyster Bar
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Pooler, Georgia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Spur of the Moment”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

One recent Saturday, my husband and I spent the afternoon shopping, then decided to get something to eat before going home. We stopped at a couple of places, but had no reservations, so we had to look elsewhere. We wound up at Gillan's Seafood & Oyster Bar, where despite the fact that they were extremely busy, we only had to wait a few minutes for a table. Our waitress was just a little overwhelmed, but she took our orders and our food was delivered within a few minutes. We started with the Cajun Fried Oysters, and they were wonderful. My husband was very pleased with his Steak with vinegar-based cole slaw and fries. I loved my Veal Spinaci with garlic mashed potatoes and steamed vegetables! This was a couples night for us, but any kind of group would feel comfortable at this restaurant. The only downside was that they seemed a little understaffed that evening. Overall, we really enjoyed the food and the service was very good, especially as busy as our waitress was. We definitely recommend this restaurant and will go back again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert N Rebecc... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    30
    23
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good...just good, not great”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had lunch which we felt was a little overpriced - but maybe not for HHIsland, $13+ pp for sandwiches and lunch entrees. Grits & shrimp were tasty; Shrimp Po Boy was just okay. Unfortunately, shrimp did not seem very fresh in either dish. Overall still good. Good service!
Maybe will try again for oysters!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank texlove2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moultonborough, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved the seafood”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We recently visited this seafood restaurant and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the fresh fish. Service was very good. I would highlyrecomend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cara71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Love Oysters?”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

A dozen chilled, DELICIOUS raw oysters served on ice (or, a dozen peeled shrimp, also on ice) - it's heaven on Hilton Head! And that's just for starters! Excellent seafood, and very good landlubber food, too. From the moment you enter you are treated as a friend and asked to linger and enjoy. Great, fresh food, highly knowledgeable wait staff and a delightful hostess make Gillan's a must stop! Bargain hunting? Go at Happy Hour! We went two nights in a row - it's THAT good!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cruisin0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“For Seafood Lovers”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We have been to Gillan's, on Hilton Head Island, 3 times since our arrival 2 weeks ago. It is very busy with customers, which is always a good sign. The service was great. The prices are reasonable. If you are going for anything but seafood, you will be disappointed, which would be the only real "complaint". If you love seafood, have at it. Happy hour offers fresh local oysters at $0.75 a piece and excellent beverage prices.

The cook likes lots of cajun spicing. Even the apple/pecan crumble had a touch of "hot" in it. The ribs, also. Obviously, we'll be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gillan's Fresh Seafood and Oyster Bar also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing