We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So. Much. Fun.”
Review of Commander Zodiac

Commander Zodiac
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come explore the enchanting low country aboard Hilton Head Island's original Zodiac raft ride. Experience the facinating world of Atlantic Bottlenose Dolphins and witness incredible marine wildlife in their natural habitat. A truly educational and envionmental experience for the entire family. We have been in business for over 30 years, so come join us for a unforgettable adventure!
Reviewed September 5, 2015 via mobile

This is a "must-do"! We have taken this tour twice and loved it each time. They take you out in the sound on the little zodiac boats and you get up close and personal with dolphins. It's great with couples and tons of fun with kids. You will not be disappointed with this tour. You must make reservations in advance if you want to do this!

1  Thank ZeusSNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommanderZodiac, Owner at Commander Zodiac, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2016

Thank you so much for joining us again and again!! We really appreciate your patronage and your review! We are so happy your experiences have been so wonderful! Hope to see you soon! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"captain todd"
in 15 reviews
"dolphin tour"
in 34 reviews
"sand dollars"
in 21 reviews
"sand bar"
in 16 reviews
"hour tour"
in 18 reviews
"dolphins strand"
in 3 reviews
"boat ride"
in 15 reviews
"marine life"
in 9 reviews
"shrimp boat"
in 6 reviews
"water fun"
in 3 reviews
"highly recommend this trip"
in 6 reviews
"saw dolphins"
in 10 reviews
"south beach marina"
in 3 reviews
"dolphin watching"
in 5 reviews
"great guide"
in 7 reviews
"pod of dolphins"
in 3 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 6 reviews
Filter

139 - 143 of 245 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2015

Fabulous boat trip and guide, Matt! We saw a lot of dolphins and had a lot of fun collecting sea shells on the disappearing sand bar. Bring a sand pail for collecting shells! Our kids are 2.5 and 4.5 - they loved it! But I would reco that they wear swim suits if you go to the sand bar - they got wet because they wanted to go in the water.

A fabulous experience - totally worth it for all ages.

Thank kellymcorc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommanderZodiac, Owner at Commander Zodiac, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2016

Thank you so much for joining Commander Zodiac. We are happy to provide such a great family experience! Hope to see you soon and thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2015 via mobile

We have visited with Commander Zodiac for the past two years. Their Water Fun Day camp for kids (9:30-12:30 on Thursday) is one of the few camps for kids that accommodate kids age 4-10/11 or so. They kids loved it last year and wanted to return this year. Last year kids were 4/6 and this year still enjoyed it at 5/7.

Separately, we did a 1 hour dolphin trip with them, private just for our family. It was wonderful. It was just fun to zip around in a Zodiac, it was just our family and was very reasonable, we were able to go virtually anywhere in the area we wanted and could stop, hang out or keep going and they were happy to do it. Also, in a small zodiac it is a far more exciting dolphin experience because you can get much closer and you are much closer to the water in these boats.

Last year, we did the standard dolphin tour with another company where you are on a standard, large boat with 20 people. Complete waste of time, very hot and not interesting. At commander zodiac, we were speeding around and having a wonderful time.

Overall, highly recommend kids camp and private dolphin sightseeing.

Thank aribnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2015 via mobile

We had a wonderful time on the dolphin cruise with Captain Scott. Gorgeous views, and getting that close to the dolphins was a highlight of our trip.

Thank P5216FMkellym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2015 via mobile

Great boat ride - fun for the kids and adults- history lesson from the captain- tons of Dolphins to see for my kids- stopped a shell bank to pick up some shells. Love the location of the dock -- right next to the salty dog.

Thank Mollie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commander Zodiac also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Commander Zodiac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing