We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh captain, my captain...Scott that is!”
Review of Commander Zodiac

Commander Zodiac
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come explore the enchanting low country aboard Hilton Head Island's original Zodiac raft ride. Experience the facinating world of Atlantic Bottlenose Dolphins and witness incredible marine wildlife in their natural habitat. A truly educational and envionmental experience for the entire family. We have been in business for over 30 years, so come join us for a unforgettable adventure!
Reviewed October 24, 2013

While visiting HH, we booked a Dolphin tour with Commander Zodiac (second time with this company and we’ll go back again & again as they are the BEST!!!). Scott, oh captain, showed us a great time once again. We saw tons of dolphins and enjoyed going through the marshlands, river, over to Daufuski (by Bloody Point) out to the mouth of the river and back again. This was a 2.5 hour tour and it was thoroughly enjoyed by all…Scott is a pleasure to be with. He's been working there for years and knows all there is to know about HH, the eco system in the river, marshes, etc. He can find dolphins anywhere....do go when you’re on HH...if you have children, they'll beg you to go again! Heck, my friends begged me to go again!!!

1  Thank nala22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommanderZodiac, Owner at Commander Zodiac, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Wow sounds like a great trip. We are so pleased that you used Commander Zodiac again for your Dolphin watch trip .Thank you and we look forward to seeing you and your family again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Commander Zodiac
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 183 of 202 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

We are seasoned Hilton Head visitors, coming here for 30 years. We took the 90 minute Dolphin & Saltmarsh Tour with Capt. Scott and were very very happy. We had 77 yr old Dad, 76 yr old Mom (who is NOT fond of most boats), 50 yr old Son, and 19 yr old Grandson. Scott was very nice, and very knowledgeable. We saw more dolphins and herons than we've ever seen before on the large dolphin tour boats. The fact that the boat only holds 6 people was very nice and made it very personal. We all really enjoyed it and thought it was the perfect length of time. The only regret we had was that we had never done it sooner. We are sure to do this again when other family members and guests come to visit us.

1  Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommanderZodiac, Owner at Commander Zodiac, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Happy we were able to accommodate your family and that everyone had such a great time.We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our two hour trip with Commander Zodiac was worth every penny! We all enjoyed it so much, especially the kids.

First I have to say that a few years ago we went on one of those discount "dolphin boat tours". It basically went up the broad creek and back. It was really boring for the kids. If you have never been up the Broad Creek it is sort of interesting but not thrilling at all.

So this year we decided to try Commander Zodiac. We opted for the two hour tour that visits a "disappearing island" and includes dolphin viewing. The kids weren't very excited at first because they remembered the boring boat ride from a few years ago... But when they got on the boat they started getting excited. The trip leaves from the South Beach Marina which is really close to the sound. The advantage of this is that almost all of your ride is in the sound and the ocean....you don't spend valuable minutes traveling up the creek to get to the "good stuff"

The boat is low to the water and really fun to ride in. It seems like it is going fast across the water and it was a blast for the kids who get to ride on the front of the boat. The captain took us out behind some shrimp boats and we saw dozens of dolphins and hundred of birds. We even saw a dolphin with a very young calf. The dolphins are right next to you in the water-it was just amazing. And the boat captain knew so much about the islands and about the ocean...he was an incredible resource.

We went out as far as the GA/SC line and saw the lighthouse on Tybee Island. We also went along the coast of Dufuskee Island as we headed to the disappearing "island", which is a shoal or sandbar, to look for shells. We didn't find a lot of shells but you can find sand dollars. I was surprised how big the shoal was....we found about ten sand dollars (in good shape) and a few shells (nothing too exciting) and lots of interesting sea creatures...little crabs etc. we could have spent hours out there...it was really neat.

We were surprised to be dropped off on South Beach because the tide was too low to get back to the marina....but it was just a short walk back to the marina.

Thank kateincobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommanderZodiac, Owner at Commander Zodiac, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for your detailed description of your experience with Commander Zodiac. Glad you had as much fun as we do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My 3 y/o dolphin-loving daughter, husband, sister, mother and I, all went out for an adventure with Commander Zodiac and Captain Matt. What a truly exhilarating experience for all of us.
We saw more dolphins than we could count and my 3 y/o has had an experience of a lifetime. The boats are low to the water and the views are amazing!
Captain Matt was on time, friendly and knowledgable. He helped make my entire family feel comfortable on the excursion.
We love Commander Zodiac and can't wait to return next summer for another trip.
If you have any doubts, set then aside, this is fun for passengers of all ages and all levels of boating experience.
Awesome fun!

Thank Love2Explore2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CommanderZodiac, Owner at Commander Zodiac, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

We are so blessed to have the opportunity to share our love of nature with families such as yours ,especially young children. Thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing your family again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

My family and I went out with these guys. Super knowledgeable and very personable. My 3 year old daughter absolutely loved seeing the dolphins up close. Had a perfect day for the trip. Calm seas, clear skies, not ridiculously hot despite being July. Had a great time and recommend to anyone of any age.

Thank AlexanderOfMacedonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commander Zodiac also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Commander Zodiac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing