We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sushi Dinner”
Review of Okko

Okko
Reserve with OpenTable
Okko is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #59 of 369 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Rockaway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Sushi Dinner”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

While not exactly inexpensive, the Sushi preparation was outstanding and the artistry of the plating was amazing. Service was very attentive while not giving the feeling of someone always over the shoulder. An enjoyable dining experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    118
    31
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

You would not expect to find a restaurant of this stature tucked away in the bag corner of a mini-mall who's anchor store is a Sam's. It is totally out of place and that is what makes OKKO so intriguing. They have done an excellent job of making you forget about their surroundings as soon as you approach the front entrance. Thus, this review is for the tourists. The "in-the-know" locals have already discovered this place.

Okko's offers a monumental variety of authentic Asian cuisine, including Thai, Japanese, Chinese & Hibachi. Needless to say I have not tried it all but what I have tried -- Hibachi tuna, drunken noodles, large variety of egg rolls & sushi -- is outstanding. it's impossible not to find something in the menu to your liking. The ingredients are super fresh, the atmosphere is inviting and the service is first rate. The appropriately scaled bar beckons you to enjoy a cocktail -- made & served with a flourish.

Whether visitor or local you must experience OKKO. I guarantee you will return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank purplemartinhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
83 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Sushi in Hilton Head”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Unique decor and lighting makes this Japanese restaurant a find. Sushi bar and regular bar are separated by a glass wall filled with wine bottles along which a row of tables sits diners. White stone walls back up each bar underlit with pretty blue light. Menu includes standard and inventive sushi rolls along with standard Thai dishes so that non sushi lovers can find plenty of choices. The fish is very fresh . Outdoor seating exists during good weather.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank nwalkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head island
Level Contributor
62 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Weekly Vistor”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

This is by far my FAVORITE sushi place on the island. I eat here at least twice a week, whether its take out or dining in and it's fabulous. It hasn't been open long and has far improved the service since then but just be aware, if they are busy it's not the best. But the food is worth the wait. So wonderful!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollis116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Catering to a pregnant lady's needs--priceless.”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I'm 7 mos. pregnant and can only have cooked sushi. The staff took the time to make sure I was seated on a comfy soft chair by the bar and away from the front door so I wouldn't be cold. They made sure my cooked sushi was prepared separately from the regular sushi. They checked in and refilled drinks often and anticipated my needs. I dropped a chopstick and right now I can't really bend down comfortably, they got me another set quickly. I will definitely return. One last thing, they are one of the few restaurants that serve late. As a Chicagoan, I really appreciate this. Thanks Okko! I will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richelle_Bonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Okko also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Okko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing