We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We've stayed here twice. Great location, service and accommodations. The showers and tubs are huge, the beds are comfortable and staff is very helpful and accommodating. Book early! We will stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank djb0726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    76
    18
    5
    4
See reviews for
123
283
10
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

My family and I went to Hilton Head last week and stayed at the Inn at Harbour Town. I have previously been to Hilton Head a number of times but have never stayed at this inn. Now that I have, I want to go back. Actually, I didn't want to leave.

First of all, the location is great. It is convenient to the lighthouse, several restaurants, the playground and the horse stables . I have a five-year-old and the location was great for us.

Secondly, the inn is very clean and well-maintained. I have stayed at a number of hotels over the years and this is the nicest one that I have stayed in. The pool is very nice.

Thirdly, the staff is very professional and very friendly. They were very friendly to my son, which as a mother, I really appreciate it. All of the staff seemed young. I only saw one person that I thought was above the age of 35. But you would not know their age by their professionalism. They all acted very experienced and on top of it..

The only real issue was one morning at breakfast. The service was very slow and when the waffles were finally brought out, they were cold. However, the manager took care of this problem immediately. We ordered room service a couple of times. While it is slow and expensive, the food is very good. Having said that, resort food usually is expensive.

Lovely place, lovely staff, lovely location and I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton on tees
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is by far and away the best hotel we have stayed at in recent years. We expected it to be good and even excellent but it exceeded all our expectations. This was our second trip to S. Carolina since 2012 and we wanted this to be really special and it was; memories that will last forever. The service was excellent, efficient but also very friendly and yet maintaining a professional distance. We were staying for 6 nights so felt we thoroughly experienced the hotel and the resort. Nice touches like handwritten notes, Molton Brown products in the bathroom, buckets of ice, radio softly playing after the turn down service, chocs on the pillow, the barman recalling that I preferred two bottles of beer at a time, all little things but they all add up to a wonderful stay. One small gripe, the breakfast menu could be more adventurous, we love our American breakfasts but the choice here was limited. Nevertheless, all in all great value and would certainly stay again. As the title says, weeks later we are still pining for Sea Pines!

Room Tip: Overlooking the golf course is best, make sure you ask for a balcony or veranda, not all rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
160 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Sea Pines area of Hilton Head Island is geared more toward vacation rentals (condos, homes), so there really aren't many traditional hotels to choose from. That said, relatively speaking, the Inn at Harbour Town probably has the best hotel accommodations on the island.

This place pretty much lives up to expectations for its location and price range; however, I do wish the beds were a little softer (they felt almost firm), the bathrooms had a double sink, and the toilet was in a separate room. As I was traveling with family, these two bathroom improvements could have made getting ready a little easier.

There is a new pool on the Inn's back patio, and it is absolutely lovely. They envision an area of tranquility for this site, but a pool's a pool... fun will be had, There's also a more raucous shared pool in front of the Inn, beyond the tennis courts.

One thing to note is that there is no beach nearby. You need to bike, drive or take the island trolley to get to one. You might notice from a satellite search a small strip of beach near the harbor lighthouse, but this is (in my opinion) disgusting and un-swimmable.

If/when I return to Hilton Head, I'll probably look into a rental closer to a beach.

-Don't forget to stop at the Sea Pines welcome center (off Greenwood Drive, just beyond the roundabout- right-hand side), just before the Sea Pines gate, to get your pass that allows you "free" entry into the Sea Pines Resort area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCSconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Nice room, no problems at all with anything in our room. One small hiccup at check-in that was fixed the next day. We later got a hand-written card and bottle of champagne from the manager apologizing for the error. It wasn't a huge mistake but I still found it quite nice that they took the time to do that.
Coffee each morning on the floor was nice.
All the staff around the entire resort was super nice and cheerful.
Even though there were a ton of people all over, it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 95traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

First the good stuff: beautiful place with pleasant amenities; large bathroom with deep tub, nice tile and overhead shower; pleasant staff; tea/coffee service every morning was nice; bikes available at no charge
Not so good: staff pleasant but ineffective and not particularly well trained--little stuff that adds up so you can't help but notice--they remembered our name, but didn't pronounce it correctly and never asked if they had it right; upon arriving we put "do not disturb" on our door, and at 5:30 had a call noting that the sign was out, but were we going to want turn down service (what part of do no disturb is not clear?--noted that turn down runs from 5 to 10 pm!); on a weekday, mid-stay there was a business group with a reception on the patio, playing LOUD amplified music, starting about 5:30, very unpleasant in our room even though we were not directly over or next to the patio--we went to dinner and it was still going strong at 8:50--desk had no idea when they were quitting and were unable to allow us to speak to a manager, despite our calm and pleasant request. Next day told the manager in a constructive way that I understood their need to host events, but that perhaps, especially for a reception such as the previous night's, they could specify non-amplified music or a limit on the volume as it is disturbing when you want to relax in the room. Manager asked me "do you want a gift card or something toward a future stay?" (not "I will mail you a gift card and I apologize for the inconvenience and will forward your comments to our management team")--By the way, I declined her offer, noting that I was trying to help them, and did not want compensation. Maid service was ok, but should have been impeccable--things like they forgot the ice bucket liner every day and didn't always replenish products. When I asked for an explanation of my bill and the charges to my Amex, the desk staff could not explain things concisely and clearly. For the price, I think there are better places to stay.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the end of the hall--on the 2nd floor there was a small function room that had a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPRMarketing, Marketing Manager at Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Inn at Harbour Town. We regret that your experience was not what you anticipated.

The housekeeping and front desk staffs work together in the evenings to follow-up with every room that has a privacy sign to confirm a convenient time for their evening turndown service. Some guests prefer their privacy; however the phone call and attentive service is typically appreciated and provides guests with an option. It also provides our thoughtful staff an opportunity to bring ice, clean towels, water or any of the bathroom amenities that need to be replenished.

On the occasions that we host an event on the Inn terrace, we make certain that the event has concluded, and the music is turned off at a reasonable hour, as not to disturb our guests. In this particular instance we instructed the guest that the event would end at 9pm, which was the case. We apologize for the disturbance it may have caused, although this is very rarely an issue.

We regret that you encountered these atypical experiences with our staff; we can assure you that all staff at The Sea Pines Resort emphasizes quality and unparalleled customer service. We typically receive overwhelming positive feedback regarding our unparalleled customer service and professionalism.

Again, thank you for your feedback and know that we aim provide highest level of service possible for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook Island, SC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our arrival was met by a lovely hotel intern who gave us the grand tour. Our room overlooked the first hole of the famed Harbour Town golf course and was more than adequate--loved the Molton Brown toiletries. We booked a pkg that Included breakfast that was by individual order and very pleasant on the outdoor terrace. Complimentary bicycles were available and we biked to the forest preserve. We walked to the harbor for drinks before dinner and had prebooked two dinners at wonderful Hilton Head restaurants, Trattoria Divina and The Jazz Corner. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Inn which was also next to the very active racquet club.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Contessabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
3.4 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
9.0 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#8 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
5.4 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
8.9 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort

Property: Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
Address: 7 Lighthouse Ln, Hilton Head, SC 29928-7271
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hilton Head
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
#2 Green Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the intimate atmosphere of The Inn & Club at Harbour Town, located within The Sea Pines Resort's 5,000-acre estate. This award-winning, AAA Four Diamond, Forbes Four Star property and Preferred Hotels & Resorts member features 60 deluxe guest rooms complete with all the finest amenities, such as personal butler service, turn-down service, valet parking and 24-hour room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Harbour Town - Sea Pines Hotel Hilton Head
Hotel At Harbour Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing