We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Toughest Course on the Island”

Atlantic Dunes by Davis Love III
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: As the first course built on Hilton Head Island, the Ocean Course at The Sea Pines Resort embraces the true coastal golf experience. Exquisitely redesigned in 1995 by Mark McCumber, this breathtaking golf course boasts one of only two oceanfront holes on Hilton Head Island and poses delightful challenges to novices and veterans.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
343 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Toughest Course on the Island”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

While some may relish the challenge, this course isn't fun by any means, and I would argue, is unfair in its design. Full details on tips golf tips. Out of Bounds rings every hole and water is in play on at least 10 of the holes, if the gators don't get you, the OB will. Even a well-struck shot may bound off the green and out of bounds, as the OB lines are only a few feet from the greens and cartpaths. The course is pretty and well-maintained, and green fees are reasonable. However, unless you're a single-digit handicapper, pack a dozen balls and don't bring a ball-retriever--there are gators in every lagoon! With 24 courses to choose from, there are many more playable options that won't have you leaving the course grinding your teeth in frustration.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ltw52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    39
    13
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun Course”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Course was in great shape and the greens were putting fairly fast. Staff was courteous and my dad and I had a good time. Course was fairly busy, we played after two pm to save a few bucks. On the par 3 15th make sure you take at least two extra clubs!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pwcfd464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The golf course is very nice. Ice machines at certain holes along with restrooms. Beverage Cart always on the course, always seem to find you, which is great. The pro shop very nice with lots merchandise. Pretty holes with nice layouts. But, only one hole #15 has steps to view the ocean. Nothing great. Not sure why it is called the Oceans Course. Don't get me wrong, the course is pretty and nice, but no views of the ocean.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MSMPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Top with the locals too”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We got a tip from a local university player on our last visit. He said the Ocean Course was his favorite on the island (and he had no vested interest in us going there). So this time, we took his advice. We loved the Ocean Course. Granted there is only one hole views the ocean. However, I feel I am a discriminating, golf-travel player. Greens were great: fast and true. Fairways were consistent and flush. Tee boxes were not torn up. Each hole has its unique challenges. The "family" tees are a nice touch for short hitters.
The course routing meanders among bike paths and nice homes.
Staff is friendly and welcoming. The pro shop, which is shared by Heron Point, is well stocked.
Pace of play for our twosome was 3 hrs 15 minutes.
If you only play one course on HHI, play the Ocean Course.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Golf_Traverler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The course was in perfect condition, the service impeccable, everything in easy reach, enough to drink on the course even when it is hot. We particularly liked the "family" tees for our not-so-often-golfing daughters. This allowed us to keep pace as a flight and still give them the whole enjoyment and the chance for the occasional par.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank latitude-seeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlantic Dunes by Davis Love III also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Atlantic Dunes by Davis Love III? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing