We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villamere was great!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilton Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villamare Villas Resort at Palmetto Dunes
Reviewed October 12, 2006

My experience at the Villamere was great! Close to everything! We did not have an ocean view, but a nice view of the grounds/ponds-this saved a bit of money. The condo was very nice. The only problem was that it was not cleaned when we arrive late Sat pm, the owner was extremely apologetic and the cleaning crew was in early Sun am. We found clean linens in the closet so that was ok. I rented directly from an owner via a certain website and will do it again!

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betsy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 107 of 107 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2006

Villamare has had many improvements! It now has an updated gym area and a new baby pool. The grounds are very well kept. Our condo, 1208, was in excellent shape. Since they are owner rentals the shape of the condos probably change. We rented through the owner who were excellent. We will rent there again.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2006

I saw a previous review that mentioned the Hilton establishment, that isn't the VIllamare Oceanfront Villa rentals located within the Palmetto Dunes area.
We stayed in an extremely nice third floor Villa, owner maintained and operated. It had two master suites with a connecting foyer to keep the kids etc. close but not to close.
The beds were large, the Villa was large and close to everything. Impeccably clean and showed the owners excellent taste in decorating their island vacation home. They had a family stay logbook in the room which was very nice to review.
TRANE climate control and plenty of hot water. Parking was tight and underneath the complex but kept the sun from overheating the car interior.
24 hour security was provided for pass inspection before entry, a reason we stayed there in the first place.
The stay beat some of the best hotels using connecting rooms for multiple guests.
Check the particular Villa you are considering renting since quality, view, and price may vary.
Not a cheap stay but we are happy.
Please watch where you post reviews.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank moonlighter6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2005

We rented an oceanfront room at the Villamare in August, 2005. The location and view were great - but it ended there. Only one of the two elevators worked. The service man was there but after the elevator was "fixed" the people getting off while we were waiting said it dropped them at least one floor. They were ok but very shaken. The paint on our balcony was chipping off, my two year old got a mouth full when he leaned against the rail. All the exteriors of the doors and windows were scratched. The rails on the balconies were horizontal so my three boys were using them as a ladder to climb up. Subsequently I did not feel comfortable letting them on the balcony. The parking spaces in the garage were very, very tight and hard to come by.

Our room was very run down. The carpets were stained, doorknobs were broken, and the applainces were very outdated (and some of them did not work). There was a crack in one of the tubs and all of the faucets were rusted and had pieces broken off of them. The furniture was old, worn, and faded. We called our management company the same day we arrived and secured our money back. We left that night. I did not even want my children walking on that carpet without shoes on.

I am sure that some of the condos have probably been maintained much better than ours, but that is too much of a risk for us to take. We lost two days of vacation leaving this place and trying to find a new place and then driving there. For $2500 a week we expected much, much better accommodations.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank cheerit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2004

We stayed at the Villamare Villas for three nights in June 2004. The condo was average and clean, but it could use some updating. The pool really wasn't large enough to accommodate the number of people (especially children) that were using it. It was clean and well-maintained, though. Walking distance from our unit to the pool and beach was reasonable. We were told that we had an ocean view, but that was almost a joke because you could only see a glimpse of the water. Exercise room was not equipped with up-to-date machines. They were worn out and old. Overall, it was a nice vacation, but I would not want to stay a whole week.

13  Thank KLF2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
2.6 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
3.7 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
0.1 mi away
Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
#22 of 28 in Hilton Head
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villamare Villas Resort at Palmetto Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villamare Villas Resort at Palmetto Dunes

Address: 10 Ocean Ln, Palmetto Dunes Resort, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5165
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range: $250 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Villamare Villas Resort At Palmetto Dunes Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing