We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1 Ocean Lane 1106”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilton Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villamare Villas Resort at Palmetto Dunes
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“1 Ocean Lane 1106”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

The owners of this property make you feel at home ...It is a 3 bedroom 3 bath home away from home ..there was not one thing they did not think of to make you feel at home ...down to a cork screw....the condo was keep in the first class shape....we travel a lot and rent lots of properties and we have to say this was kept up the best of all condos we have ever stayed.I will be staying at this property again ...we just hope it is not rented when we visit

Room Tip: vrbo check the reviews here as well that's how we found it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Dave V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    22
    15
    3
    6
See reviews for
65
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McDonough, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Rented a condo here for fall break but be careful because most are not updated. Our condo was clean with tile floors and a beach view. They were painting the outside of our building but you can tell it is old. The grounds are kept up well but the pool and hot tub looked like it had a bit of sand in it. Not much parking so I am sure during peak months that would be a problem.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jenifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were looking for a two bedroom property with two nice bedrooms for two couples. Surprisingly hard to find on Hilton Head. Many properties have a great master and kiddie 2nd room with two twin beds. Villamare 2 bedroom layout has a master with soaking tub and balcony shared with living room space. 2nd room is larger with private balcony.

Rented from Hilton Head Rentals and Golf. Got a 4 night for price of 3 deal. Had some trouble picking up our key - so they gave us a late check-out to make up for mix-up. Rental agent said Palmetto Dunes area was less kid centric.

Our room and bath were clean. But there was mold/mildew in mast bath that really bothered our friends staying in that room. Each unit is privately owned - so the furnishings and cleanliness can obviously vary.

What I found odd - no beach towels. Geez... you are on the beach...how hard is it to provide beach towels. Towels take up a ton of room in your luggage. Our unit did have a couple beach chairs.

Pros:
*lovely landscaped property
*our unit had a partial ocean view
*2-3 minutes to pool; 4-5 minutes to beach

Cons:
*Complex is large with relatively small pool. We were there the week after Labor Day and I can't imagine how crowded the pool must be on a busy weekend. There were 25 people in the pool at one time and it felt congested.
*Elevators were broke except the first day. I felt bad for one older couple on the 5th floor who had no idea how they were going to get their luggage down to the parking garage.
*Doesn't seem to be an onsite manager. One day the fire alarms went off for 45 minutes. That night at 1:30 am they went off again for another 10-15 minutes.
*They were putting up scaffolding. Poor people who paid for oceanfront view - and had to look at scaffolding. If you are booking in the next six months you should be sure to check on renovation project. No reason to pay for view to have workers looking in your bedroom window.

Room Tip: Buildings 1 and 3 are closest to the beach. Building 2 is set back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tdh42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

I think Villamare would normally be a great place to stay.

On the plus side, our condo was well located with a very nice view of the pool and ocean.

On the downside, I quickly got the "this is only rental property" feeling. The condo is worn and dingy and marginally clean.

On our second day, scaffolding was put up on building three for what is reportedly the beginning of a 6-8 month renovation process of the entire area. Loud banging began at 8 am. There were 4 fire alarms set off in 2 days, one at 3 am, each lasting about 45 minutes complete with the arrival of the fire dept.

We met one family at the pool, who spent a lot of money for an ocean view in building 3. They were told on the day of their arrival that some renovations were in the works. The next day their ocean view was replaced by scaffolding and construction workers in their windows all day. They were very upset and the last I head got an "oh well" attitude by the rental company.

The hot tub was broken all week.

If you are considering a vacation here in the next 6 months, please be sure to ask about renovations.

As far as 1101 is concerned....I would come back and pay more if they cleaned the place up. It is a shame because it would normally be a perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: Shop around and ask a lot of questions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiger76_1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is our third time vacationing at the property. We like staying here. Just be aware that the outside of the building is being pressure washed and then painted. Our last two days were not as pleasant due to the pressure washing. The elevators had to be shut off and the fire alarms would go off due to the excess water. Imagine opening your door to someone with a pressure washer standing there and all the water in the corridor. The ocean front units have scaffolding in front of their balconies, Just be aware of this situation. We were glad that the first half of our vacation did not have this going on. It just makes it harder to relax.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Volmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

I researched a lot of places. I just wanted to make my 4 teenage girls happy! Villamere met our expectations and more. Check in and out was easy. The unit was quiet, updated, and clean. Bedrooms and bathrooms were large and living space was very comfortable. The pool and beach areas were outstanding and we enjoyed the proximity of the Marriot. I would love to return to Villamere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

My family and I stayed in 1404. It was a wonderfully updated room with new Tommy Bahama living room and dining room furniture. Our room over looked the courtyard and the pool and beach. Our boys got a kick out feeding the turtles every morning in the pond courtyard.
The grounds are impeccably maintained by a dedicated grounds crew and is evident as they are out there working daily. The pool and hot tub are well maintained. Also, quick tip, if the pool chaise lounges are crowded, there are always free chairs by the BBQ grilling area which no one seems to utilize during the day. The BBQ area is really great and we witnessed 2 families having a beachside BBQ all by themselves. It was if they reserved the BBQ deck area all to themselves even though that's not the case. The BBQ area is a nice way to have a family gathering rather than going to a restaurant and spending a fortune and there is no pressure to leave. Free WIFI ,VCR, and disc player were in the living room.
Our check in could have been a little faster but that was no ones fault. The rental company we used explained in the our arrival packet that we should not expect the room to be available until 4PM. 2 years ago we were able to start occupying our room at 2PM. This time it seems there was a cleaning crew mix-up, however when we went to check if the room was available at 3:30 it was still not made. Here is where Beach Properties sprung into high gear. They had a cleaning crew there at 3:40 and turned over a immaculate room to us in 20 minutes, right at 4:00. The 6 person crew had the room ready that fast. They operated like a NASCAR pit crew and did a awesome job.
My family and I will definitely consider staying in 1404 again and dealing with Beach Properties again for rental.
BTW Patti from Beach Properties was most helpful to my family on check in day

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
3.1 mi away
Ocean Oak Resort by Hilton Grand Vacations
2.6 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.2 mi away
Captains Walk Villas
Captains Walk Villas
#34 of 52 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Spinnaker at Shipyard
Spinnaker at Shipyard
#12 of 52 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ocean Palms Resort
Ocean Palms Resort
#30 of 52 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villamare Villas Resort at Palmetto Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villamare Villas Resort at Palmetto Dunes

Property: Villamare Villas Resort at Palmetto Dunes
Address: 10 Ocean Ln, Palmetto Dunes Resort, Hilton Head, SC 29928-5165
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Villamare Villas Resort At Palmetto Dunes Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing