We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Should Be a Two Weeker!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We love Hilton Head because of all the fun things to do such as the beach, tennis, golf and biking not to mention the great seafood. For many years, we have been during the July 4th holiday and have stayed at Harbour Point. It is something we all look forward to doing since it is in a great location and the room we have is up on the fifth floor overlooking the sound. We were pleasantly surprised at the great upgraded renovations that were done to our unit. New carpet, new stainless steel appliances which included a washing machine and dryer that could handle bigger loads. The clean unit was beautifully decorated including the second bedroom and bathroom. I do like the split plan. My favorites about the place includes the tennis clinics every morning with a super great pro that has been there for a few years and remembers his students! The courts are clay and lighted. Also, there is a shuttle that with a phone call will come by to take you to the beach or nearby locations. The beach is about a 6 minute ride to Palmetto Dunes Beach House and you can rent bikes at the Marriott and ride on the paved bike paths. Shelter Cove is less than 5 minutes away by bike. The property offers a lot for a family to do and build fun memories. There are pools with updated lounge chairs, ping pong and other planned activities. Nice built in grills are provided in certain common locations and bench swings to sit and enjoy the great views. They do offer shuffle board and bocce ball and indoor Wii games. Fitness center has a good variety of free weight equipment and enough things for a basic workout since it is a small room. There is shopping nearby and you are not far from my favorite grocery store, Publix! Just when you get into your routine of relaxing activities, it is time to pack up and leave. Maybe two weeks next time!

Room Tip: I would not be near the pool.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Dottie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review! We are pleased to hear you both had a nice experience at the resort and enjoyed many of the activities including the tennis clinic. Your comments regarding your vacation experience is greatly appreciated and will be shared with our team. We look forward to seeing you again soon, maybe even for two weeks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
There are newer reviews for Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 290 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

It depends on which unit you stay in. If you're in Sunset, bldg. 6, and you are in 6101, 6201, 6301, or 6401 you will not have a good view of the water. If a good water view is important to you, avoid these units. Other than this the resort is very good. Shelter Cove is located mid island with plenty of all kinds of shopping near by.

Room Tip: See comments regarding rooms with poor views.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank captmorgan40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed here for a week in mid May 2014. Was very impressed with how clean and well maintained the property was. The rooms were up to date with furnishings and appliances, and everything worked perfectly. It was also very quite and peaceful for the most part. I guess you will always have screaming kids by the pool. To me, the view of Broad Creek and the activities (boats, wildlife) is much better than any ocean view. The Shuttle service to the beach was quick and painless.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OhioLax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

4th time at this resort. Nice to see the units have been updated - at least the Osprey building. First part of the week it was cool enough to have the windows open - they only open 2 inches each, but by Thursday when the heat set in the aircon did not keep up with heat at the end suite (305) very nice for the sunset view became a sauna in the late afternoon.
Easy ride on the bikes over to the beach and short walk (about a mile) to the new Krogers in the Shelter Cove shopping mall that is under massive transformation.

Room Tip: Osprey 305 is an end unit so has the additional side window along with 105, 205 and 405. very nice...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

We are delighted you enjoyed the updated villas, Phil! Thank you for your positive TripAdvisor review and we look forward to hosting you again at Marriott's Harbour Point & Sunset Pointe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We stayed at Harbour Point May 14 for one week and enjoyed every minute of our vacation. The rooms were clean and spacious and we had all the conveniences of home. Our room was located on the 4th floor with a view of the bay and a small pond outside of our balcony. The rooms appeared to be updated and the weather was in the mid 70's for this time of the year. We experienced rain in the late evening on one day, but it was a welcome change from the 100 degree weather we had been experiencing in California. A small alligator in the pond came out every day and we nicknamed him or her Wally. We experienced a wine tasting social on one evening and a chocolate tasting on another day, which were both very enjoyable. We walked over to the Shelter Cove marina which was very close by and had a good time visiting the shops and stores and we ate dinner at La Fontane which had good food and a nice view of the harbour. We visited Charleston, Savannah, Bluffton which has a great restaurant named Buffalos at Palmeto Dunes, and we visited Pickney Wildlife Preserve and Beaufort which we really enjoyed. We enjoy the outdoors so seeing green trees and being able to go on day hiking trips made our vacation memorable. Be sure to also see Sea Pines Plantation and the Harbour lighthouse.

Room Tip: We stayed in a top level corner room which are always sunnier and brighter
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerLaMirada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you for your review of Marriott's Harbour Point & Sunset Pointe! We are happy your family enjoyed the many activities and wildlife at the resort! Thank you for staying with us on Hilton Head Island and we hope you will return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Although a tad dated and not quite as luxurious as most Marriott 'resorts', we were very happy with Harbour Point at Shelter Cove. We had room 110 (a handicap access suite) and the view of the marsh and creek was excellent--saw dolphins several times. Because it was handicap-access, the master bedroom was kind of open to the bathroom---no real privacy, and no Jacuzzi tub as other rooms have. Didn't like that much. But rest of suite was fine, plenty of room for us and our adult child+husband. Staff was great, lots of amenities (bikes,grills, 2 pools, hot tub, tennis, shuffleboard etc). and proximity to Shelter Cove and the shops/restaurants there was fantastic. used the Dune Buggy also, to go (free) to the gorgeous beach over in Palmetto Dunes across the way. We will definitely consider this property if we return, although I always prefer to be right on a beach, and this is not.

Room Tip: beware of tree frog clamour at night in rooms by the ponds...VERY loud ...at least in mid-May
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanandDick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review! We are pleased to hear your family enjoyed their time with us and hope you will return soon to Hilton Head Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

My wife and I stayed in a 2-bedroom villa in early May. It was a perfect location for us. We had a great view of the salt marsh and enjoyed watching the tides roll in and then leave. During the evening, there were plenty of trails for walking or biking (rentals available onsite). The Shelter Cove marina is close by, with several restaurant options and a dolphin cruise. Being more or less in the center of the island, it was a convenient location when we drove somewhere.

The rooms were spacious. We had a corner unit and it had we had 2 balconies. The first was shared between the 2nd bedroom and the living room. It looked out to the salt marsh. The master bedroom had a separate balcony looking out to the side, where there was a small pond.

The unit appeared to have been recently renovated. It had granite counters and new appliances in the kitchen. The refrigerator and stacked washer/dryer were crowded into 1 corner of the kitchen. There wasn't a lot of space for groceries, but we were creative and it worked for us.

Jason, at the front desk, was very helpful and friendly. Kudos!

We would definitely stay here again. It was very relaxing and peaceful.

Room Tip: Pelican building, rooms ending in x20 are a corner unit, away from the pool with 2 balconies.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paris-Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with fellow travelers! We appreciate your kind words and hope you will return to see us again soon on Hilton Head Island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
3.6 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
785 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
5.0 mi away
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
#12 of 28 in Hilton Head
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
1.5 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
1.9 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove

Address: 4 Shelter Cove Ln, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3543
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range: $175 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Harbour Point And Sunset Pointe At Shelter Cove Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Hilton Head
Hilton Head Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing