We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
439 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Older But Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We rented a two bedroom unit for a week. The units are older. Ours had just been carpeted and painted a bright yellow. The new carpet smell was quite strong. The unit had a nice view of the marshes. Bedrooms were good sized. We had the twin beds in he second bedroom made into a king bed which was nice. Master bath was very large. Beds were I comfortable but the decor was unmatched. The living room had two fairly comfortable chairs but a saggy sofa bed. Kitchen is well furnished but no sugar/salt/creamer packets. (I called and asked about salt and they told me they did not furnish. ). There are five or six steps up to the elevators in the front. There is a side ramp around the side of the building to push up carts.

We liked it. Not as nice as most Marriotts but ok. We would go back. There are bike rentals right there. Good restaurants near by. Not much to do in Hilton Head if you are not outdoorsy.

Room Tip: They all looked pretty good. Five units on each floor. 4 and 5 were probably least desire able.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bensus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    82
    30
    3
    1
See reviews for
113
78
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

A room with a view is always preferred so, other than a main floor 2 bedroom suite next to a walled area with some kind of intermittent humming and buzzing noises ( ac? ) no complaints about this typical Marriott well maintained property. All is just as the photos. Great pools, and sundeck with shade when needed and the best place at the resort for a sundowner with lovely views of the salt marsh and inlet. Clean BBQ's ! Spacious units with standard Marriott furnishings, and beds ( not luxurious by any means, but all perfectly acceptable). Internet included. Locale is perfect for all ages and all levels of activity. Looking to relax in September - works for us. Looking for activities, perfect too. Short walk to Marina and good quality restaurants. There are indications this is a well used timeshare, it is very acceptable, and well maintained, but don't expect the luxurious. It's a pretty spot for sure.

Room Tip: A room with a view is always better than looking at a walled unit that hums and buzzes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GottheTshirt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, New York, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was our 3rd return to the Shelter Cove area. We have stayed in other Marriotts on Hilton Head, including beachfront, and loved them too. But we really love the Sunset Pointe location in Shelter Cove because it is in such a great area. The marina is a quick walk with great shops and better restaurants. It's not as crowded and noisy as other areas. A bit more upscale. The hotel itself has always been great, never any issues. The staff is lovely, always helping us with early check in, and the rooms have always been in perfect order. We've never had a complaint and have always had nothing but praise for this location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Very enjoyable week in a first-class, well-managed apartment hotel/timeshare. Views of creek, in Shelter Cove, very central Hilton Head Island location. Suites are fitted well with all essentials for living.

Room Tip: Ask for Harbor Point...all suites have views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nusurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom condo overlooking the water in early October 2012. The view was spectacular, the condo was well maintained, beautifully decorated, and provided ample space for a family. Restaurants, shops, and a scenic marina are all right around the corner within a few minutes walking distance. There's a lot to do at trhis locatrion - kayaking, fishing, and sunset dolphin cruises are easily booked through On Hilton Head kiosk at Triton plaza where the restaurants and shops are. You can also rent bike beach cruisers at the resort for about $10 per day - there's no better way to get around Hilton Head on the many bike paths and beaches. We've stayed at the Marriott Monarch and this resort is a little smaller and quieter than Monarch, but still a great place to vacation and relax.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a water view - you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tripprf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Like most Marriott properties it is well run and well located. This one is beginning to show its age and needs to be brought up to date. The kitchen was not very well equipped. Also the front bedroom windows could not be opened since they had a locking device that required an Allen key to undo which we had to go out and buy.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room on the water side, preferably on a higher floor. Some of the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug_Seagrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Defiance, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We rented a 2 bedroom condo (this is our timeshare). It was fantastic. Full kitchen, granite countertops throughout, beautiful courtyard right outside our door....I was ready to move right in! Around the corner is shopping and restaurants. Great time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vickiambrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
3.0 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
5.3 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
3.7 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#8 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 stars 689 reviews
5.0 mi away
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
#13 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove

Property: Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove
Address: 4 Shelter Cove Ln, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3543
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotwire, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Harbour Point And Sunset Pointe At Shelter Cove Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Hilton Head
Hilton Head Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing