We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place for an off season, relaxing vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Davidson, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Lovely place for an off season, relaxing vacation”
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We've been to Hilton Head many times over the years, but this was our first stay on the Broad Creek side of the island. It's a hidden gem. The views are spectacular - tides coming in and going out create a constantly changing scene of the marshes, seabirds, and small boat traffic to the Shelter Cove harbor.
Our 2 bed-room, 2 bath unit was a bit smaller than we've had at other Marriott timeshares and the buildings are older. However, we had everything we needed in the well appointed kitchen including a combo washer/dryer tucked away in a corner of the kitchen. The unit was very clean with plenty of towels, comforterson the beds,flat screened TVs 2 balconies and parking right in front of the building.

Most importantly, we were greeted by friendly and helpful desk staff, a warm and accommodating manager, and extremely good service. Mimosas in the lobby one morning, caramel apples one afternoon, root beer floats on another day. The staff here was 2nd to none (and much friendlier than we have found at the larger, more elaborate venues.

Walking distance to the harbor with shops and restaurants (some of which were closed due to the proximity to the holidays and the slowest week of the year on the island. Very quiet and perfect for a relaxing off season week. The main road on the island is 1/2 mile away - so easy access to any place we wanted to visit including walking on the lovely, wide, flat beaches.

Definitely recommend highly.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit with balconies facing the creek/marsh. We had 512 Harbour Point and would request on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank spengle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    96
    38
    4
    3
See reviews for
138
90
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

I paid $129 for a nicely appointed 2-bedroom villa in December. This is a family-friendly property that is a little off the beaten path - it is on a cove on the west side of the island rather than an ocean view. This makes for spectacular sunset viewing. The staff was extremely friendly and anxious to please. Bicycles are available for $10/day or $25 a week. Do not expect grandeur, a grandiose lobby, or a finely tuned high-end restaurant, but rather a reasonably well appointed 2-bedroom/2-bath villa (apartment) ideal for families with children or 2 couples within walking distance of the waterfront and a few decent restaurants. Use this property as home-base for an off-season golf or tennis retreat or arrange for a small corporate meeting.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank easystreets1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I was very pleased with the rate, room accommodations and proximity to everything we wanted to do, but the real winner here is the staff. Friendly and outgoing, they are truly eager to please you! They made several excellent choices for our dining thus far, and we have been nothing but pleased! I'm happy to entertain their suggestions for the remainder of our stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hempstead, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I was a little concerned about this Marriott property after reading reviews. Our group( 2 couples) were pleasantly surprised. The property is lovely and well kept. It is not by the ocean, it is shelter cove.The room faced broad creek and we enjoyed the view. The room was lovely, except one room is huge with a kingsize bed, jacuzzi etc. The second bedroom has twin beds and rather small. We have been to many other Marriott's where the second bedroom is usually a queen bed and a decent size. The staff was excellent and handled any minor problem quickly. The tennis pro, Phil was great and I had a week of great tennis clinics. The water aerobics class was enjoyable. Convenient location to many restaurants. The pool area was fine with a great view of Broad creek. We did eat at San Miguel which was awful. Better choices, Bonefish grill, Alexanders. We never found a "great" restaurant. Bottom line, it's not as luxurious as other Marriott's but nice and quieter. We would come back.

Room Tip: It appears that all rooms are facing broad creek. Just make sure. Some did face the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vegasgirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

First they have a fantastic staff at Marriott harbour pointe. Especially Cullen! He was awesome and very helpful. The rest of the staff was helpful James and Jason did a great job as well! We had water in our room through the sliding door and they offered us a gift card but it really wasn't a big deal and they were super prompt in fixing it. Overall we were some of the youngest folks there. Most everyone was 70 + it may have been we were vacationing the week after labor day and the kids are back in school but it was somewhat geriatric. We are in our early 40's so don't look for lots of activities here like pool volleyball. They did have ping pong :).
We did some great activites and spent a half a day on a sailboat with capt Jim with special k. He was awesome and we had a great time. If you want to kayak do it in shelter cove with outside Hilton head. The cove is a bit easier to paddle so just think about where you want to kayak before you do this activity.
We had a fantastic meal at Robert irvine's eat restaurant for tapas Tuesday. All tapas are half price and so is house wine. All 4 of us ate and drank for $80.00. It was excellent!
All in all we had a great time. The only bummer was they don't change your towels here mid week so you have to freshen your towels yourself. Not a big deal but worth noting. I would go back here in a heartbeat. We had an excellent time.

Room Tip: Room 117. Close to pool ground floor and great views of the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ccpt95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Beautiful resort, nice views. Better than we expected. Staff very friendly. Very comfortable and quiet. Nice flat screen TV's and free wireless internet. Great for families and retirees. Only complaint: master bath shower is VERY small.

Room Tip: Ask for Bay View at the end of the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda5355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Just got back from a week long stay. Did a timeshare trade through Interval International that went through very smoothly. We were assinged a bottom floor 2 bedroom unit that was extremely roomy. I think the units were recently refurbished as everything looked new for an older property. Unit had a large flatscreen in each bedroom along with one in the living room. Large kitchen with Granite countertops/breakfast bar. Fully stocked with everything you would need, stackable W/D in unit. Each bedroom had it's own full bathroom. Pool/hot tub area was very clean and nice. Front desk help was awesome! Easy check in and out. Full use of facilities included Wii games for the kids, workout area, Gas Grills, Basketball court, tennis courts, Bocce and Shuffleboard. Right on Broad Creek (Bay) perfect for viewing weekly fireworks show on Tuesdays. Very close parking with plenty of room. We saw cool crabs and frogs frequently. Good location very close to shelter Cove Marina for tour boats ect. and shopping and the ocean beach was about 3/4 of a mile away with free parking pass or free shuttle service. Would be interested in coming back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
3.0 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
3.7 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
764 reviews
5.0 mi away
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
#12 of 28 in Hilton Head
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
1.9 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
3.7 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove

Property: Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove
Address: 4 Shelter Cove Ln, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3543
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Harbour Point and Sunset Pointe at Shelter Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Harbour Point And Sunset Pointe At Shelter Cove Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Hotel Hilton Head
Marriott Hilton Head
Hilton Head Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing