We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Vine

Vine
Ranked #8 of 369 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a dark cramped restaurant located in a strip mall in Coligny Plaza. Our music loud, the lighting uncomfortably low ,making it hard to read your menu, large taper candles provide minimal illumination and drip on your table. The staff will explain our dishes and ingredients in excruciating detail, and outdoor seating is in a parking lot with a view of NOTHING. Service is sub standard on a good night and our food ordinary at best. If this sounds appetizing then we would love you to join us for a memorable culinary journey. Our Chefs have lived throughout the world, our 400+ bottle wine list is almost all small boutique and rated wines. We work as a team and take pride in meeting and exceeding every guests expectation. Dress is club casual and no children under 14 PS we are not an Italian Restaurant!!
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Vine has become one of the premier restaurants on HH. The menu is varied and the chef has created memorable dishes for all to enjoy. The desserts are all home made by Steve's wife each day. The service is excellent, the staff has been well trained and are courteous and very efficient. The wine list is extensive and excellent, any questions ask Steve for help, he has tasted each one and can recommend one for your taste.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank john0417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    771
    60
    45
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wayzata, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth the wait...”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We did not have reservations but they did get us in for a late dinner. Best to call and make reservation... Food, service, atmosphere - everything was great! Be sure to plan ahead and make this a must when visiting Hilton Head.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank waltmona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
supersega1
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely incredible”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I see why this restaurant is rated so well. The food was absolutely worth going. I would say that it is not in the best location or not great visual attractiveness...but what it lacks in decor it makes up for in quality of food. They are a farm to table restaurant and use local ingredients. I had a beet cobbler (beets, strawberries, marscapone cheese, goat cheese, vinaigrette) for appetizer, and a truffle pasta for dinner to die for. They made fresh truffle pasta in a truffle sauce and then came out and grated black truffle over top... My husband had a tomato, fresh mozzarella, pesto appetizer, with a Mediterranean fish stew. My friends had the tomato app as well and had a deep sea scallop over pear gorgonzola ravioli. incredible food. I believe it says no kids under 14... It came to ~$200 without any alcohol... If you love food though - this is the place. They have very unique combinations and really know how to finish the food!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank supersega1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
293 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Culinary Heaven”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

After reading the reviews for Vine, I felt our visit to HH wouldn't be complete without dinner here, and it was indeed outstanding. It was difficult to decide what to order, the menu looked so interesting. My husband and I both had the beet cobbler for an appetizer and it was delicious...fresh, marinated beet chunks layered with strawberries, marscapone, and a fragrant goat cheese dumpling coated in panko on top. I had the red snapper special of the evening, and it was wonderful...fresh fish with a great sauce, Thai rice, and plaintain. My husband had plump sea scallops with a divine pear and gorgonzola ravioli. We were too full to order dessert but were given a complimentary slice of strawberry cake with whipped cream and berries. YUM! We eat out at nice restaurants often, and this one ranks at the top. It wasn't just the food, it was the great service and the obvious pride and care taken with each dish. Kudos to the chefs and owner of this fine restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Over the top.”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

All of the reviews lived up to the hype. Our evening could not have been more fantastic. The 5:15 seating was perfect since we were there for hours and took our time with the whole experience. One thing we could not figure out was why some tables received complimentary champagne or desserts and we did not, but we would still return again even though we are not in that elite club. Perhaps it is a "locals only" thing. We have now become true balsamic vinegar aficionados.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnieDR10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vine also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Vine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing