We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Rate Service and Four Star food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vine

Vine
Ranked #8 of 365 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a dark cramped restaurant located in a strip mall in Coligny Plaza. Our music loud, the lighting uncomfortably low ,making it hard to read your menu, large taper candles provide minimal illumination and drip on your table. The staff will explain our dishes and ingredients in excruciating detail, and outdoor seating is in a parking lot with a view of NOTHING. Service is sub standard on a good night and our food ordinary at best. If this sounds appetizing then we would love you to join us for a memorable culinary journey. Our Chefs have lived throughout the world, our 400+ bottle wine list is almost all small boutique and rated wines. We work as a team and take pride in meeting and exceeding every guests expectation. Dress is club casual and no children under 14 PS we are not an Italian Restaurant!!
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“First Rate Service and Four Star food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Although he location of the Vine is not your normal four star, it is in Coligny Plaza shopping area, don't let that deter you. Food is all four star, farm o table with many speialties never found on the island. Gourmet fare. Salads are spectacular, as are main courses. Reservations a must have and at least afew days in advance. Inside is better than outside. Staff is knowledgeable and very attentive. On of best restaurants on the island,d if not he best.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    762
    60
    44
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Hadley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Excellent food - subtle and delicious, pricey but worth it. The atmosphere is intimate and the staff was very attentive. Well worth looking into. Unless you are going early, would recommend reservations.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Melinda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Wonderful!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Well it got it all. What I think is simply the best food on the island. Farm to table, organic, fresh, simple yet complex flavors and textures. The wine variety and offerings rival some of the best anywhere. The atmosphere is close yet it brings all the patrons together so there is a communal experience, kind of like going to a best friends for an amazing dinner. The staff Steve, Olivier, Harry, Tim and the rest only have your best interest for a great experience at heart. Well done!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“A great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

I went last night for my birthday dinner and it could not have been better. They have a small area outside and although it faces the parking lot, it was charming. The carrot soup was very tasty. We also had the black truffle pasta and the shrimp dish from the dinner menu. Considering the quality of the food, it was very reasonable. The wait staff were attentive and prompt; gave us good accounts of the foods and ingredients. The wine (Poppy Pinot Noir) was great too.
They use farm fresh locally sourced and it tastes it; vegetarians will be particularly happy here. I would dine here again happily.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Love the Ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Yes it is small, yes the patio dining is in the parking lot but it has a charming ambiance about it. Been three times and always enjoyed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jakelowbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vine also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Vine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing