We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Annie O's Kitchen

Annie O's Kitchen
Ranked #71 of 361 Restaurants in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our concierge recommended Annie O's so we decided to give it a try, glad we did. We started our meal with an eggroll as the appetizer, delicious. I had the catch of the day which was cornmeal dusted Mahi Mahi sitting on cheese grits, topped with fresh arugula & yellow tomato. I had a side choice, I took the veggie of the day which was basil summer squash, all my choices were delicious. My hubby had the shoulder pork meal, generous portion, moist and tender, he thoroughly enjoyed it. We rounded out our meal with a piece of key lime & chocolate chip pies, lick the plate good. Prices are budget friendly, portions are good sized and scratch made to order dishes to boot, can't beat it. Our super cute & efficient waitress was Hannah. Thanks Hannah for the great service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rltipton86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    121
    45
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Very tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I tried Annie O's for the first time with a friend that was visiting and had a great experience. The steak and fish were both cooked perfectly and the service was friendly. I would recommend Annie O's to anyone.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CGeldert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food, super friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

It was a very good dining experience. I had the Chicken and biscuit blackened style with red peppers, it was served on a blue cheese sauce. The chicken was moist and tasty, the blue cheese sauce was zesty. The staff was super friendly. I have visited Hilton Head Island several times, and had not eaten at Annie O's, but will definitely stop in on our next visit....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cam5699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Indiana
Level Contributor
242 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Try”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stopped there a few minutes after 3 o'clock to discover they had just gone to dinner hours and not obliging to my attempt to get a lunch menu. Oh well, we were hungry and had read decent reviews on this site. Our waiter was friendly, efficient and knowledgable while making some good selection recommendations. We started off with wings with a blend of southern sauces served over four tiny waffles as an appetizer. I'm not usually a wings fan but was pleasantly surprised how this combo of flavors worked out. Two family members had The Burger with generous portions of lettuce, tomato, shaved red onions plus a side; one had fries while the other had mac n cheese. Both were above average. I had Mama's fried chicken at $11 that came with two sides (I had Mac & cheese plus Susie's potatoes, the latter a hash brown casserole concoction). This was all tasty and well above average as was my daughter's chicken biscuit for $8 and wife's "catch of the day", Mahi Mahi over a bed of dark greens with a flavorful sauce. Granddaughter's chicken strips were more flavorful than the bland ones she'd gotten at the last two stops. The best was saved for last with dessert, a chocolate pecan pie that had melted dark chocolate chips inside what tasted like homemade southern pecan pie!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kgray_hoosier_hayday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gotta set this one straight...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

I usually live off of Trip Advisor rankings but this one boggles the mind. We ate there several months ago on a normal trip in the spring. This place was new to us and worth a try. A southern restaurant with basically NO Southerners working there! Food was ok but nothing to go crazy about.

Fast forward to last week. We stayed on the beach too long and wound up looking to eat at 8pm. Lines were everywhere so we checked out Trip Advisor for something close to us that was highly ranked. Annie O's showed up. My wife and I thought, " lets give it another shot!"

This was our worst experience of all time. Service was very slow and we were basically ignored for about 25 minutes. The food was just OK. They kind of push all of our orders towards the fried chicken. We all ordered it. Good stuff but not a meal to spend one of your 7 nightly meals on in HHI.

I wanted it to be good. It was ok. There were only 50% full which surprised me for a Trip Advisor Top 15 restaurant. This must be a computer glitch. I'd put them about #100 down there. Food is just not that great.

I live in the South and eat southern food weekly. I'd put several meat and 3 places in my area WAY above theirs. Not worthy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ecd2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Annie O's Kitchen also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Annie O's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing