We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Time in Hilton Head!”
Review of Sea Crest Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Crest Villas
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another Great Time in Hilton Head!”
Reviewed July 8, 2009

We brought the family down for Spring Break and back again in June for another week. Another fantastic trip - the condo was perfect with great views, 2 pools for the kids, just a 2 minute walk to the beach or a 2 minute walk to Coligny. We also rented bikes and road to Harbour Town from our condo (~4 mile ride).

Kids loved it and we're looking forward to renting this unit again next summer.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GolfGuy614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    20
    4
    7
    3
See reviews for
36
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener
Level Contributor
195 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2009

SeaCrest Villas are fabulous and unit 1405 is fantastic!

My husband, son, daughter-in-law and I rented this villa for a week during March. We wanted water, quiet, things to do within a short distance, and a beach. Sea Crest delivered all of those. The location of the villas can't be beat -- facing the water, and yet within steps of stores, entertainment, restaurants and a beautiful beach!
We walked and rode on the beach several times a day.

The grounds are beautifully kept with two pools, a large hot tub and splashing fountains. The weather was so great that we did not use the fitness facilities or the indoor lap pool although these had been features that appealed to me when I booked the unit.

Speaking of the unit -- it is exactly as described. We rented through VRBO and were very happy. This unit is also listed with a rental agency. The layout of the villa allowed for a great deal of privacy -- each couple had their own bedroom/bathroom suite. The baths are huge, with beautiful soaker tubs, separate showers and double sinks.

The main living/dining portion of the condo is very bright with hardwood floors, comfortable seating and lots of light for reading. The bay window gives you wonderful views over the fountains and the ocean beyond. Kitchen area is well designed with everything you could want -- we ended up cooking or eating in more frequently than we had planned, simply because the surroundings were so pleasant. A full sized washer and dryer were a definite advantage.

We cannot say enough wonderful things about the unit or the complex.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2008

To be clear, this review is for the Sea Crest Surf and Racquet Club property, not the ocean front villas. They are owned by the same management. The S&RC is a timeshare unit located a block from the beach that shares some of the Villas' amenities. There is no separate listing on Trip Advisor for the S&RC.

A block and a half from the beach and across the street from the dozens of shops and restaurants at Coligny Plaza, Sea Crest has an excellent location. Sea Crest has both timeshare units and villas; we stayed in a timeshare unit. They have one bedroom and two bedroom units.

The management:
A lovely woman checked us in, giving us information about Sea Crest and the area. We received two phone calls on the first day from management trying to get us to attend timeshare presentations in exchange for cash, which we declined, and then weren't bothered again. The resort has a very hands-off approach-- housekeeping and sheet and towel changes during the week are available only by request (and for a fee). This keeps the owners' costs down, but if you hate to clean (especially on vacation), I would spring for the housekeeping.

The unit:
We arrived and found the unit very clean, spacious (except for the bedroom, which was just large enough for the bed and a closet), and fully equipped with necessary kitchen supplies. My only quibble with the unit was that the bedroom does not have an external window, rather a window facing the outside corridor and stairway, so I felt a little like a vampire. There was a DVD player and wi-fi.

The resort's amenties:
When you stay at the Sea Crest timeshare units, you have access to two pools right onsite (one heated), as well as four tennis courts and a beachfront pool belonging to the condo units (combination entrance). The beachfront pool is the best (and the most crowded), and includes a bar, tanning deck, bathroom access, and of course a view of the beach. Sea Crest's beach access leads you right out to the outskirts of the very popular Coligny beach area. The beach is well maintained and just gorgeous.

Random:
Pay laundry is on-site. The resort will help arrange day trips, bike rentals, and other activities. Minimal activities are available on-site, and seemed geared towards kids. Bike racks are available in multiple locations.

Overall:
Sea Crest is not fancy, but it is well maintained and provides you easy access to all of HH's attractions.

  • Liked — the location!
  • Disliked — daily cleaning not included
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank havebeachwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graylake, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2007

As a place to stay I think the Sea Crest combines the best parts of a hotel with the amenities you get with a condo. There are two main pools and a kiddie pool outside. There is an excercise room and lap pool inside. My wife and I have vacationed in Hilton head a dozen times. We have just completed our 4th stay at the Sea Crest. What we like about it is the ocean front location and its location to Coligny plaza with its many shops, restaurants and grocery store just across the street.

There are many room views and sizes to choose from priced accordingly. The main rental agencies have pictures of the insides of each particular villa for rent. There are three buildings and we have stayed in all of them. We prefer the rooms in building 3 because they give the best ocean view. The three bedroom villas have the largest balcony spaces as well as room inside. The setup of the villas allows one bedroom to be locked out. Some rental agencies will offer to rent just 2 bedrooms in a 3 bedroom unit saving you money if you don't need the extra bedroom. There is a bathroom for each bedroom and they are large with seperate soaking tubs and showers. The single bedroom units have 1 1/2 bathrooms but with less attractive views. The garden landscaping between the villas is nice. Many of the rooms in buildings 1 and 2 let you view the gardens with the beachfront in the background.

The room numbers identify where the room is located. For example the last villa we stayed in was 3401A which was a 3 bedroom corner unit on the fourth floor of building 3. This is the 2nd time we stayed in this villa and we rented it both times as a 2 bedroom villa. It has one of the best ocean views being able to see down the coast line even in the living room while sitting on the sofa.

One thing to keep in mind is equivalent villas from different agencies may have significant price differences. The usual reason is the amount of decorating and how recent it was renovated. It is up to you to decide what is more important. The villa we stayed in only had 2 chairs on the balcony.

Helpful?
7 Thank steveni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2007

We just returned from a week at Sea Crest, where we shared a 3-bedroom condo with another family. This was our third time staying at Sea Crest, each time in a different condo. We booked the stay with one of the large rental agencies on the island.

I must say that the overall experience has gone downhill a bit, due to the fact that the pool situation was less than ideal. One of the reasons we have stayed at Sea Crest is its ideal location (right on the beach, across from Coligny) that allows for easy access to the beach and the 2 pools. One pool is more adult-oriented because it has a deep end (8 ft) and the other pool tends to have more kids, because there is a kiddie pool and the large main pool is only 3-4.5 ft deep. The shallow pool was closed for half the week, and in fact for part of one day, BOTH pools were closed. Any information from either management or maintenence was vague, at best. About half-way through the week, though, the problem was fixed and both pools were up and running. I might have chalked this up to an isolated incident, but just last year, the shallow pool closed for several days at the end of our stay. Sea Crest is not inexpensive (especially if you are not sharing the cost with another family), and for two consecutive years there have been frustrating problems with the pools.

On the good side: every year we have stayed there, the condos have been clean and comfortable; perhaps the agency that has handled our rentals has the cleaning and maintenence logistics down. Also, it is relatively easy to download a map of Sea Crest, so that you can tell exactly where your condo will be (it is true that one side of the complex does overlook the parking lot with ocean beyond). The location, though, couldn't be more ideal. If all you want to do is hang out on the beach or at the pool (assuming it is working) with the kids, this is the place for you. The large balconies of the condo allowed for the adults to hang out at night, after the kids were asleep, and enjoy the sea breezes. The kitchen was well equipped and there were 3 large bathrooms, so with 8 people we did not feel cramped.

Overall, I would recommend a stay here, but be sure to do your homework first in finding the right condo (size, view, etc.). Next time, we are thinking of renting a house in the Forest Beach area, and splitting the cost with some other families, but I'm sure that will present its own pitfalls...

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Pool situation
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank taeshatama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollidaysburg, PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2007

Our stay at Sea Crest this year was very disappointing. The private pool for the residents has a bad pump and was not in use the entire week. The AC in our unit was not working half of the time. The place was dirty when we hot there, not properly cleaned after the previous guests. The bathrooms exhaust fans did not work, lights did not work, electrical plugs did not work...my curler just fell out...it would not stay plugged in. So many things were wrong that it made out stay a very unpleasant one. I will not go to Sea Crest again. The realtor passed the buck to the maintenance people and no one did anything about the problems. It was a sad situation.

Helpful?
5 Thank thenelsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2006

Be aware that all accomodations are consider ocean front even if they face a parking lot. At least that is what Island Getaway says. The decription on their website clearly stated ocean front villa. You would thing that it would front the ocean. The condo was nice but I would suggest that you have a clear understanding in what you are renting from this agency.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
10 Thank tntraveler28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
1.9 mi away
Ocean Oak Resort by Hilton Grand Vacations
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Captains Walk Villas
Captains Walk Villas
#30 of 52 in Hilton Head
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spinnaker at Shipyard
Spinnaker at Shipyard
#12 of 52 in Hilton Head
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Crest Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Crest Villas

Property: Sea Crest Villas
Address: 190 N Forest Beach Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6465
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Sea Crest Villas Hotel Hilton Head
Sea Crest Hotel
Sea Crest Hilton Head
Hilton Head Sea Crest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing