We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Hilton Head
Open today: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Coastal Discovery Museum
from $10.26
More Info
from $10.00
More Info
from $116.52
More Info
Reviews (1,100)
Filter reviews
1,100 results
Traveler rating
697
320
62
14
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
697
320
62
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butterfly house camellia garden marsh tacky horses scavenger hunt carnivorous plants gullah tour honey horn children's room self guided tour gift shop walking tour on display live oaks sea turtles hilton head island local history blue crab
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,100 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2020 via mobile

The museum is a grouping of houses that have displays showing history and ecology of Hilton Head. They also had a temporary display of straw grass baskets. The person weaving was very informative and answered questions about the process. Outside they have a trail that takes you through the grounds with 3 piers over the salt marsh. It was low tide and not much to see as to wildlife. The trail took you through gardens. The camellia garden was just blooming and some of the bushes were beautiful. In another few weeks, it would be in full bloom, so I want to go back. They have a butterfly house but that was past its season as well. The trail goes past an old cemetery and a open barn building which now houses a piece of “space trash” that washed ashore one day and NASA confirmed was a piece of a rocket. They did not want it back so the museum now houses it. It is a very relaxing way to spend a few hours and walk outside.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2020

HUbby and I enjoyed the Coastal Museum and walking the boardwalk trails. The artwork was beautiful and I liked the sculpures, trees and plants on the grounds. Very nice place to visit.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Eileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2020 via mobile

Jeff is our volunteer tours guide, he is doing very excellent job, even though my wife and I were the only two peoples in the tour and our English is not very good, he explain everything very detail to us, the whole tour is about 90 minutes.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank 233raymondh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2019

On 12/27/19 we enjoyed the low country raptors presented by Lila Arnold. The presenter was stuck in traffic ( Christmas on I-95 the worst) , the museum very kindly called to let us know in advance. The room was filled about 40 people of all ages. The talk was worth waiting to see, Ms Arnold was knowledgeable, informative, humorous and shared her love of the beautiful owls that came with her. We look forward to many more activities here. We are lucky enough to live here and visit often.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank BethTesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2019 via mobile

Excellent museum with information about Hilton Head, history, animals and more. They have a great 1mi walking path that is ideal in spring, summer or fall (not much to see in winter). There is a kids room and they have activities scheduled where kids can see reptiles, history walks for families and more if you plan ahead. They also have an excellent farmers market in Tuesdays. Educational and worth a visit, especially since it’s free (cash donation if you like).

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Shelliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews