We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MUST DO ON HHI FOR VACATIONERS AND LOCALS”

Savor the Lowcountry
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A fun and flavorful afternoon as we embark on a walking tour of the Lowcountry's best dining spots and specialty gourmet shops. Along the way you will learn interesting tidbits about the area's rich history and walk away with memories that you will savor for a lifetime.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
2 reviews
“MUST DO ON HHI FOR VACATIONERS AND LOCALS”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Had the pleasure of attending Savor the Lowcountry Food Tours last Thursday!! The food was amazing and the history and stories were so interesting! I learned so much about new restaurants and my local area that I did not know before! I highly recommend this tour not only for the tourists but also the Locals!! Great Job Alice Reid! I will be back!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank CULLYKRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    18
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jekyll Island, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss this”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Alice and Kelsey took us to 5 great places and we experienced everything from appetizers to cupcakes, and a glass of wine with pizza. We went away very happy and very full...and we will be back to these restaurants.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KarenK93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Pines, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Even in the rain. . .”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Alice Reid's Savor the Lowcountry Food Tour is certainly worth the cost, and the time. It centers around Coligny Plaza in Hilton Head, just steps from the beach. The restaurants visited varied from fine dining to bistro to ethnic to small shop. Alice gives great historical notes about the island during pauses in the eating and drinking. The tour is also very helpful in determining future dining plans. We took the tour upon arriving in HH, and it was dumping rain. Not to worry, Alice had pancho's for those who were less prepared, and the walks outside are relatively short - not more than 5 to 7 minutes maximum. We would have revisited one of the restaurants, but Alice gave us another to visit (also on her Tuesday tour) that was so good we went there twice.

Professionally done, great for older kids, great with friends, or on your own. Don't hesitate to try it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank gtcamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tour on 3/28/13”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I went on this tour with my wife and her brother and sister-in-law. We love to eat and taste various foods, and this tour did not disappoint. Come hungry. We were able to taste 5 restaurants, and sampled various meals from high end tapas, to local low country fare, to dessert, greek food and flatbreads. Most of the restaurants included the ability to order drinks, and one of the tastings included a wine sampling, but there was certainly zero pressure to buy anything more than the tour had to offer (even though we did bring home some additional items from the restaurants to eat later because the food was so good). The food and drink was absolutely wonderful, as was the mix of people on the tour. We had people from Chicago, Maryland, Arizona, Michigan, etc. All had a great time. I must say that as someone who enjoys hearing about the histoty of places I am visiting, Alice was a real delight as she entertained us with the history of the restaurants, the food, the owners and chefs, and a very well layed out history of Hilton Head. I would highly recommend this tour to people who enjoy eating with friends, making new friends, and listening to the history of this beautiful island and the culinary delights it has to offer its visitors.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Montovon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it.”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Alice was a terrific tour guide. She is very informative about the area as well as the history of Hilton Head. So while you're tasting excellent food you're hearing about local history as well as tidbits about the restaurants and their owners. All the restaurants and foods were unique. I would happily take the tour again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savor the Lowcountry also viewed

Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
Hilton Head, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Savor the Lowcountry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing