We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stayed an extra day!!”
Review of Shorewood Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shorewood Villas
Reviewed June 3, 2007

Great location right on the beach. Private, yet convenient to all activities. Family oriented with a large pool. All rooms were spacious. Owners demonstrated good customer service and willingness to help make the vacation great. Did I mention that it was a great location...

Stayed: June 2007
Thank hotatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 80 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2006

After months of anticipation for a family vacation at Shorewood
Villas, Hilton Head and the confidence in our Realty Office,
what a total disappointment the first night. Do they ever check
out these places before they tell you its "everything you need".
Fully equipped kitchen consisted of 10 cabinets and drawers,
ONE drawer had silver ware.....the pans were so nasty could
not cook, carpet so dirty felt like cotton candy and drapes at
windows so old and dusty you could not open or close.
Baths was moldy, towel racks in floor and 3rd bathroom
had serious urine smell. Moved to another condo in Villamare
next day....better, but is anyone checking on the housekeeping
in these places? A little Tile-ex goes a long way. Dryer did
not work, so on to Target for towles and especially "new pillows"
lastly, sleep sofa in Villamare I know had not been looked at
for weeks......sheets were soiled and moldy. We enjoyed Hilton
Head Island very much, but the accomodations were the worst
we have ever been to in cleanliness and upkeep. Won't be back.

Stayed: June 2006
5  Thank preschool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Lexington, Kentucky
15
Reviewed April 30, 2006

We stayed at Shorewood Villas unit 412A April 22nd through April 29th. This unit was very nice and had everything that we could possibly need. There were 5 adults in our group and we had plenty of room in the unit. The condo has two bedrooms - one with a king size bed, the other room with two twin beds and the sofa pulled out to make a bed as well. There is a nice porch off the living room that overlooks the courtyard and the pool area. The pool is good size with plenty of chairs and tables around it. The beach is a very short distance from the pool. We had great weather the week we were there so we were able to enjoy the pool and the beach. We are already making plans to go back next year and stay at the same place.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2006

We just returned from Shorewood on beautiful HHI. It was our first time staying at Shorewood and we loved it. Our unit #424 was great- it had 3 bdrms with 2 kings and 2 twins and a sleeper sofa in the living room. There were 6 of us- 4 teens ages 17,16 & 2 15yr olds. 2 bdrms had tv's in them and the 3rd had a beautiful deck which overlooked the pool and ocean. The unit itself was older but the counters were corian and the bathrooms were updated. We also had DSL access which was necessary for my husband as he worked while we were away. Not many units have DSL. The tile floor in the kitchen was old and needed repair. It had a big laundry room off the kitchen which allowed us to all pack very light!! The condo had 2 decks-one off of our bedroom & living room and one off the upper king bedroom. The end units in our area had ocean and pool views- other units would be boxed in and only overlook the courtyard- ask before you rent. There were also 2 buildings that were directly ocean front. There was a spiral staircase to the upstairs which had 2 large bedrooms. One note- this would not be a good place for elderly or tiny kids as the stairs could poise a problem. THere were also stairs leading into the unit- about 15 of them. The grounds were the nicest in the South Forest Beach area. This is our favorite area to stay because of the convienence factor- no car needed- we could walk or bike to everything- grocery store,coffee shop, bakery, restaurants, fine stores- even Easter Sunday Mass! The complex had a abundance of kids at it because of Easter Break so the pool tended to be crowded and you needed to get your chairs early- by 10 am. The beach wasn't as crowded but extremely windy for the first few days. All in all- this is a great complex to rent in. We were very pleased. Ocean One is 2 complexes down right next to the Holiday Inn and that has 1 level units that walk right out onto the grounds which might be better suited for elderly or those with handicapping conditions. Shorewood is great for families!!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank travelluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2005

We have just returned from a week at the Shorewood Villas. Although older, our unit was well-maintained and updated with granite countertops in the kitchen, corian in both bathrooms, and simple beach decor throughout. The kitchen was well stocked with pots and pans, dishes, coffee maker, toaster, glass top stove, and front loading washer/dryer. TV's were found in both bedrooms as well as the living room. The villas have elevators, which were nice considering we were on the fourth floor. The view from the balcony was amazing. Just past the meticulously landscaped lawn and pool area were the powder-fine sand beaches Hilton Head is famous for. The best part of our day was walking down to the beach every morning after breakfast, via our private boardwalk, as the tide was heading out. We were sure to find sea stars, hermit crabs, and one morning, even dolphins. The beach at low tide is perfect for biking, jogging, or strolling with baby. The fresh sea air really tired my little one out! A short walk down the beach was the Tiki Hut, located a few doors down at the Holiday Inn Oceanfront. There are two regulation sand volleyball courts right on the beach and there was always a fun game to watch! Shorewood Villas is centrally located to many of the islands best attractions; Coligny Plaza, Harbour Town, which has the Harbour Town Bakery Cafe (one of the best places for breakfast on Hilton Head) and an incredible shady playground, South Beach (which boasts the world famous Salty Dog Cafe), Shelter Cove, and the outlet malls. We paid $1600 for a peak August week. The only thing missing from the unit was a hair dryer! Bring your own...

6  Thank Blissfulocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Michigan
17
Reviewed July 26, 2005

We love Shorewood, have stayed thier many times. Have always had a great place, very clean with more than enough dishes, glasses ect..
Location is the best.
Got married on the beach..

Rented it from vrbo where you can negotiate on price

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2005

We stayed at Shorewood Villas in Hilton Head mid-July 2005. The only real disappointment was that the development is marketed as "oceanfront," but about half of the units are not that close to the beach. In fact, the view is more that of the pool than the beach, and it's a decent little walk from the unit before you hit sand. It's not like you just grab a book and hit the beach. You need to pack up your stuff, etc. So, "oceanfront" is, well, a stretch. You definitely want to check to see where you unit is on the property.

The thing to remember here is that each unit is individually owned. While one unit might be run down, another might be pristine. Our unit (#132), while not oceanfront, was in pretty good shape. I'd give it a B+ or an A-. A new coat of paint inside might be in order, but then again, this is a rental property (with lots of kids, I am sure), so some wear and tear is to be expected. The point here is that if you read "This place is a dump," that's a comment on the unit, not the overall property, which is actually pretty nice.

The pool is big and well maintained, and there is a kiddie pool. This is certainly a family-oriented spot. I didn't hear any hollerin' during the wee hours, and everyone was well behaved. The location is good, too, as you can walk to the shops on Coligny Circle, if you want. And if it makes you feel any better, there is a gate with a keypad for entry (when the guard is not there, which is often), so you don't have to worry *too* much about strangers on the property.

It's crazy to me that the unit we rented cost a little less than $2,000 for the week with all the taxes, etc., yet these places sell for over $800,000. That should give you some idea that the property, overall, is rather nice.

Long story short, Shorewood Villas is very nice. Just be sure you're getting the view you have in mind and that the unit has been well maintained.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank KellerRacing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
1.7 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
6.4 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
0.5 mi away
Marriott's Grande Ocean
Marriott's Grande Ocean
#5 of 28 in Hilton Head
846 reviews
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
#22 of 28 in Hilton Head
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shorewood Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shorewood Villas

Address: 21 South Forest Beach Drive, Hilton Head, SC 29928
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range: $262 - $569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shorewood Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Shorewood Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shorewood Villas Hotel Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing