We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WE LOVED THE BREAKERS !”
Review of The Breakers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Breakers
stcatharines
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“WE LOVED THE BREAKERS !”
Reviewed February 19, 2011

First of all, I want to mention that The Breakers are Condos, which menas that when you are reading bad (or good) reviews, be aware that each unit is individually owned. For that reason, it would be helpful for reviews to have the unit # mentioned. We stayed in 325, and it was wonderful. We loved every minute. Know that there is no elevator, but who doesnt need a good walk up 3 flights of stairs ? Not useable for people with wheelchairs, obviously, as even the first floor is raised.

We loved #325 bc of all the special touches. She even left us a bottle of wine ! It was clean and tastefully decorated.Very modern.
The units ARE small, but then they are really meant for 2 people. We have young kids, so the bunks in the hallway work for us. I wouldnt suggest it for people who have four adults- rent two units.

We are going back next month and cant wait ! This place is right on the beach, every single unit has a view of the ocean ! Again, please know that each unit is owned separately, so some may not be as lovely as this one was.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettydoerksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    29
    17
    6
    14
See reviews for
36
45
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

This was the second time we rented this condo. We once again had a great experience. The condo and facility was clean and well decorated. We loved the location. Also, the owner was a pleasure to work with.
I would highly recommend this property, for location and value!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisaandmikeoc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
2 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2011

The location is great - right on the beach. You can walk to Coligny with shops and restaurants. The condo is small and the complex needs an elevator (and we were on the first floor!) but a great value. Our condo was newly renovated and clean. I'm sure that experiences vary since these are individually owned but it was great for our small family. The kids LOVED the bunks, but still slept with us of course!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GA_GYRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, FL
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2010

I traveled to the Breakers in October on a trip to Florida. I arrived at the Breakers, a TAN property to find a beautiful condo unit. Unfortunately, when I awoke the next morning we found rodent droppings in the living room and kitchen area. I contacted the TAN emergency number and did not receive a phone call back from property management. I was so disappointed and of course did not stay.
After reading the reviews here it sounds like the Breakers is hit or miss.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retired1FortMyers_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2010

Hilton Head is many things to many people. Personally, we thought the Breakers was the perfect spot for our family (my wife and our 2 girls, ages 4 and 2). We don't golf, and we don't like weird gated communities. The Breakers (particularly Condo 313) offered everything we could want. We're easy to please to be honest. We're just thankful to be on vacation. The unit was small, yes. But we're family. We LIKE closeness. The girls slept in the one and only bedroom, while my wife and I slept on the pull-out couch. Perfect for us as once the kiddos were in bed, we were able to relax (some more), watch TV, play music, make margaritas, and hang out on the balcony and watch the moon rise over the ocean. Not too shabby. The beach is a public one, which depending on who you ask, may or may not be a good thing. We enjoyed it and never felt "packed in".

The proximity to Coligny Plaza was the hidden surprise for us. A quick jaunt across the street, and bam. There you are. We're relative urban dwellers in our hometown of Lexington, KY and have always appreciated being able to WALK to stuff. Not other houses (or condos as the case may be), but actual STUFF. We took advantage of the festivities at Coligny Plaza nightly. Piggly Wiggly. Numerous restaurants and shops, etc. etc. The kids loved the beach, of course, but they LOVED the sights, sounds, tastes, etc. of Coligny Plaza.

So, that's about it. Is it the fanciest joint on the island? Probably not. But you can't beat the location and the value. The rest of the island just seems sorta "suburban". Not that there's anything wrong with that. The reclusiveness of all of the gated communities just wasn't for us. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aftern00ndelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2010

We stayed at this property through our vacation club, Travel Advantage Network (TAN). First thing...stay as far away from TAN as possible. They put you up in the most basic accomodations possible. Dirty, old furniture, worn out carpeting, dated and tired units. In extremely bad need of updating and refurbishing. They are one bedroom units with one bathroom. The bedroom is so small you can barely get around the bed. The bathroom is miniscule and the pull out couch for children is rickety and has a thin mattress that you can feel every spring and support bar. Their units are billed as non- smoking yet the unit we received absolutely reeked of stale cigarette smoke that caused irritation to our eyes and throats. TAN refused to move us and gave us some remedies for ridding the smoke smell that proved ineffective. The only positive thing about staying at this property is the close proximity to the beach and popular shopping area, Coligny Plaza.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wedding_belle1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniontown, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed in 335 which was a great location- oceanfront and poolside. I didnt mind not having en elevator but Im not afraid of exercise either. The unit was in terrible condition when we arrived I took pics to email to the owner because I was afraid we would be charged for the condition of the unit-- and still did not return full security deposit- Honesty is a funny thing. The curtain rod was broke, the drawers and refrigerator was filthy and the white handle on the refrigerator was dark gray- it took 2 magic erasers to budge it. The bathroom was extremely small and the pics on the website are deceiving the unit is 519 sq. feet. Thats the size of my den! and to have to clean when I arrived- not what I had planned for. The owner was great to deal with until we arrived. We would visit again to this location but with a different unit and owner- we have friends that have stayed here for years and they can not believe what we experienced.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
0.6 mi away
Ocean Oak Resort by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Captains Walk Villas
Captains Walk Villas
#34 of 52 in Hilton Head
38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Head - Ocean Villas
Hilton Head - Ocean Villas
#37 of 52 in Hilton Head
3 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coral Reef Resort
Coral Reef Resort
#5 of 52 in Hilton Head
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Property: The Breakers
Address: 1 N Forest Beach Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6478
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Breakers 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Hilton Head
Breakers Hotel Hilton Head
Breakers Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing