We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, relaxing, clean and accomidating”
Review of The Breakers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Breakers
Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome, relaxing, clean and accomidating”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Our stay was great, the location was perfect. We booked through hotels.com, checked in with Hilton Head Rentals and Sales with William Hoisington 855-785-2700 and he upgraded us to a two room Villa at no extra cost which was a blessing from heaven because we was able to put the rugrats in the second room and have some privacy. We booked not during peak season and so the price per night can be compared to the price you would pay for a regular hotel room, very very affordable.
The Breakers Shorewood was great, clean, had everythign a traveler could possibly want including a washer/dryer and kitchen sink. Our room had a grat view of the pool and jacuzzi with the beach beyond. My children 3 and 2 had a blast, my wife and I felt this was a true vacation. Our vacation was a 10, our stay at the Breakers can be classified as an 11 since it was like the icing on the cake.
Had we not eaten out the whole time (HH Island has awesome resturants) we could have cooked in our villa and spent around $700 for the whole round trip including fuel room stay and some shopping. $700 is cheap for a 5 star vacation.
We will be back next year the kids wont shut up about the beach
Sincerely
the Wallaces

Room Tip: At this locatin ask for the 1st floor and also the first 2 building which are closer to the pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    28
    17
    6
    13
See reviews for
34
45
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cleveland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

The Breakers condo complex is in a perfect location. It's on the beach. It's right across from Coligny restaurants and shops. The rooms are small don't offer much. We visited in April and it advertised a heated pool. The pool was not heated. They were also doing construction on the stairs at 7:30 in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank crazyforcleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

The Breakers is a small condo complex right on Coligny Plaza. The location is perfect. My family didn't need a car the entire week, we could ride our bikes everywhere. You can see the ocean from the condos, which makes for a relazing ambience.

With all the perks, there are a few drawbacks--condos are 1 bedroom and very small. Godd for 2 people, maybe 3, but no more. The condos are also older, so everything is a bit dates. Our condo #307 had a new kitchen and bathroom, so that was great. However, I would imagine not all condos might be as renovated or well kept.

In general, it was a wonderful stay and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank smclarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Breakers is ok if you don't want a lot of room and want an average place on a budget. It's kind of dated nothing fancy but it's not horrible. Rooms are small and no elevators.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KentuckySharpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Just returned from a wonderful week of fun and relaxation by the pool, at the beach and shopping & dining at Coligny Plaza. We enjoyed our accomodations with comfy space for the 3 of us. We were on the 3rd floor with no elevator but the view was worth every step. Affordable pricing and rental from For Rent by owner. We didn't need a fancy lobby or lots of amenities. We wanted pool and beach and we had easy access to both. Shopping, dining and entertainment just steps away at Coligny Plaza. I'll vacation there again!

Room Tip: If you want easy access to pool and beach, this is the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank JudySC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

My husband and I spent a week at the Breakers, staying in condo #335. We had a fantastic time and loved the condo. It was absolutely perfect for us - with great views of the beach and freshly decorated inside with all the amenities we needed. The condo is very close to the beach (just at the bottom of the property's steps) and Coligny Plaza, with all its nice bars, restaurants and shops (including Piggly Wiggly), was a minute's walk across the road .The condo was in excellent condition and spotlessly clean when we arrived.

We arranged the rental directly with the condo's owners (via VRBO) who couldn't have been easier to deal with. They sent us all the information we needed before our trip and sent back our security deposit almost as soon as we left.

I would particularly recommend this condo for couples, or a family with max 1 or 2 small children, who love to be right on the beach but still have bars, restaurants and shops on the doorstep.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chezfionaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. louis
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We rented thru Resort Rentals of Hilton Head island, unit 116. The pics on the website were just like the unit. The units are small, but perfect for 2. NO elevator, no big deal for us, just keep that in mind if you have mobility issues or little ones. No problems at all with Resort Rentals; we did get 10% discounts to several restaurants by showing our rental card The unit was fairly clean.We used a folding camp chair in the living room to add more sitting space if one of us was spread out on the couch. The view of the ocean was great, you are right on the beach. We preferred to not have a pool/ocean view, more private, less noise. There were lots of families there and the pool was crowded often. The pool area with chairs is large enough. There are lifeguards on the beach since the public access is next door. We did not mind the crowds on the beach. Having Coligny next door was a plus..easy to get a coffee/meal/grocercies. We will return to the Breakers next time if it's just the 2 of us.

Room Tip: Each unit is individually owned, so do your reseach. We liked Resort Rentals of Hilton Head Island
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marymary02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
0.2 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.6 mi away
Ocean Oak Resort by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Head - Ocean Villas
Hilton Head - Ocean Villas
#39 of 52 in Hilton Head
3 reviews
2.2 mi away
Captains Walk Villas
Captains Walk Villas
#30 of 52 in Hilton Head
36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Port O'Call Shipyard Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers

Property: The Breakers
Address: 1 N Forest Beach Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6478
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Breakers 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Hilton Head
Breakers Hotel Hilton Head
Breakers Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing