We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's Grande Ocean

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marriott's Grande Ocean
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
mbeach89
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great family vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

We traded our timeshare week in Myrtle Beach, for a week on Hilton Head Island for a change of pace. My family and I really enjoyed Marriott's Grande Ocean. First of all, the villa was huge! We stayed in the Laughing Gull building and our villa overlooked the putting green near the Dolphin Pool. Parking is available outside the building as well as under. So, first floor villas are actually on the second level. The grounds were clean and well maintained. The pools (I believe) are heated and seemed to be the salt water variety, which was easy on the skin.

Biking: You MUST rent a bike and ride through Sea Pines Nature preserve. I was stupid and rented a bike for $10/day....I should have done the much better deal of $30/week...I would have rode more. You can bike pretty much anywhere on the island. The paths are paved and fairly flat. One day I biked from Grand Ocean to Marriott's Barony Beach and also Surfwatch to check out those Marriott properties..around 8 miles each way from Grande Ocean...but an easy ride.

The beach at Grande Ocean is fantastic. Very wide and you can wade out quite far before the water gets deep. You can rent chairs and umbrellas, or bring your own. Many people brought those 10' x 10' fold up tents you see at tailgate parties..I may have to do that next time.

The staff were all friendly and knowledgeable.

My wife enjoyed Pool Bar Jim's...good drinks, and live music.

Downside......the poolside restaurant closes at 4:00?!?!? You can get food until 9:00 or 10:00 at the Marketplace...but kind of inconvenient.

Downside 2: Parking. If you go out to eat and come back around 9:30 or later, parking is scarce. Overflow parking available across the street from the resort.

This is certainly a first class operation...just like what you would expect from a Marriott Timeshare.

Room Tip: If you have kids with you, ask for a room near the Dolphin Pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mbeach89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    172
    38
    13
    9
See reviews for
385
212
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

My family and I stayed here over 4th of July week and had a great experience! The resort is very nice and clean. It is evident that the property is well maintained. There was plenty of room at the pools and the resort was right along the beach. The beach access was excellent!

The location of the resort with regards to the rest of the island was very good. We were close to Coligny Plaza and Sea Pines.

The room was clean on arrival. The staff members of the resort were friendly and accommodating.

The only complaint I had was the limited parking. We did have trouble finding a space one night, but this is to be expected on a busy holiday week. Regardless, I would stay at this resort again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReviewerDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We visited during the low season and got an amazing deal on an ocean front villa. The view from our unit and the sound of the waves made for a great experience. While it was too cold for the beach, we did walk along the shore, hike, swim in the heated pools and enjoyed some of the resort activities. Our children (4 under the age of 8) loved Hilton Head and we are already planning a return trip.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

The villa is a time-share. It is and older resort. For the price of this villa per night ($600), I expected a lot better quality. You could hear every noise above you and outside your doors. The pools were nice and had plenty of seating. The Marketplace had terrible service. Parking was always a chore - never enough spaces under our building so had to find a spot elsewhere on the resort and walk back to our condo. We won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: Stay away from poolside rooms. Request an outside corner. Since all doors are exterior, you will g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JenniferFisherNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We have traveled to HHI for the past 5 years staying at various places in Port Royal. This year we decided to try the Marriott Grande Ocean and I can say it has everything you will want for your family vacation. We are already planning a trip back for next year. We traveled with our two daughters aged 7 and 9. There are 4 pools, many jacuzzi's and activities all day long! The beach was the nicest we have seen in HHI (although nothing compared to the Carribean) and we had the best time collecting sea shells, boogie boarding and taking long walks.

The room was wonderful- newly renovated and close to the small pool! We stayed in the Sand Piper building and we loved it!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ctadgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
141 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

I'll make this short and sweet.

Marriott's Grand Ocean is Simply The Best Property on Hilton Head.

You have a large beach, numerous Pools, both for adults and children, outdoor spa's, a great snack bar, music, access to Sea Pines, Great Tennis with lessons and clinics provided by Van Der Meer Tennis Academy and Jim's Pool bar. A social event as Jim has been there since it was the Hilton Head Inn.

Tennis is free for owners as are the clinics. I've recently rented and the clinics and tennis were free but limited to one hour for each per villa. the round robins are also fun and social.

The best that Hilton Head has to offer all in one great spot.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have restricted views as the trees have grown large over the last 21 years. The on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank antony359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipp City, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

First visit to Hilton Head - highly recommended by several co-workers. The Marriott Grand Ocean was also recommended by a family who has vacationed in Hilton Head for over 20 years. The Grande Ocean was fabulous! I am always leary about the cleanliness of a rental, but this was exceptionally clean. Our villa had been renovated recently. The furniture was clean and comfortable. The carpet/floors were clean. We loved the size of the master suite. We traveled with our 21 year old son and his friend. They had their own bedroom/bath. It worked out great. The kitchen is roomy and clean. The updated appliances were wonderful. I loved the laundry room - full sized washer and dryer! The complex was very nice. There were chairs in the sun or shade. Our villa was close to the lap pool which offered a more adult environment and sun or shade. They had activities planned each day. We enjoyed Jim's Pool Bar. Easy access to the beach. The staff was exceptionally friendly - from the front desk staff to the workers cleaning the pools to the security workers at the front gate. We will return and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jill2522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
2.8 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
0.6 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
6.8 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
#13 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
2.9 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Grande Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Grande Ocean

Property: Marriott's Grande Ocean
Address: 51 S Forest Beach Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Grande Ocean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott and Travelocity so you can book your Marriott's Grande Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Grande Ocean Hotel Hilton Head
Marriotts Hilton Head
Marriotts Hotel Grande Ocean
Marriott Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing