We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
$246
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Hilton Head(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
$169
$161
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
$199
GardenInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
Red Roof
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Palms Resort(Hilton Head)
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$299
$292
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$429
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
$349
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort(Hilton Head)(Great Value!)
$335
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (893)
Filter reviews
893 results
Traveler rating
626
193
48
15
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
626
193
48
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool bardolphin poolsouth poolsea pines passtime sharepools and hot tubsfrozen drinksmarriott propertieslaundry roomhilton head islandfull kitchendaily activitiesrented bikestimeshare resorthigh floormarriott vacation clubshuffle board
Filter
Updating list...
479 - 484 of 893 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We have stayed here for a few days every year for the past 5 years as my in laws own a Marriott time share. The resort is beautiful, our 3 boys ages 1, 2 and 6 have the best time in the pools/toddler pools and being right on the beach. They also love the turtle pond on property as well as the many outdoor games (corn hole, shuffleboard, chess, pool etc). It is always very quiet at night with the bar closing at 8pm. This is a short walk or bike ride to shops and dining as well. We left our boy's Spider-Man beach towels in the dryer upon leaving and the hotel staff were so nice to find them and mail them home to us! Looking forward to next year as always.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank KatieBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

My family visits hilton head every year and we stay at Marriott properties each time. The last several years we have stayed at the Grande Ocean. The Marriott properties all have impeccable grounds fully equips with everything you will need for a villa beach stay at HHI. We are excited to return this October for another week stay at the Marriott!

We love HHI and have our favorite restaurants that are a quick drive from the resort. Every trip we take advantage of their grills and picnic table areas.

Stayed: July 2013
1  Thank TravelbugKD25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Right on the ocean with less than a 1 minute walk to be in the water. This was our second trip to this resort with relatives who have had a week timeshare there for 20 years. The facilities are all very well maintained and the service not only at the front desk but also in all the other places in the resort was outstanding. Grande Ocean has 4 buildings and all the rooms have a view of the ocean. There are 2 rooms on each floor in all the buildings that face directly on the ocean. We had a large 2 bedroom suite with a large balcony where we had breakfast every morning and drinks in the evening. The side rooms that don't face the ocean overlook one of the many pools. There are a number of stores and restaurants just a short walk away but we chose to drive a little farther to eat. The traditional pool side bar is not run by Marriott. It also is accessible from the public beach walkway. Pool Bar Jim's. They make a large number of frozen drinks. Just the thing for a hot afternoon! They have a huge book with literally hundreds of variations of these drinks. Hard to chose. I would highly recommend the Grande Ocean to anyone.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Levon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Very well maintained, good location. Marriott seems to do a good job of keeping their timeshares renovated. I would recommend replacing the weather seal on the front door of the our unit to keep hallway noise down, otherwise unit was in good shape.

Over the years I have developed the opinion that Marriot uses their timeshare properties as a training ground for customer service agents.

Staff at this property did not have a "Can do" attitude. Eventually a manager followed up with me and expressed a desire to help and offered to have a staff member follow up, they did not follow up, however we were checking out that day anyway.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank Yoshidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

First trip to Hilton Head to scout out location and resorts and was thrilled with my experience. The resort is clean, modern and has all the amenities you can think of. We spend three nights in Savannah and one night in Hilton Head and will seriously consider coming back annually after just one night at Marriott's Grande Ocean.

We rented beach chairs our first afternoon and enjoyed Pool Bar Jim's frozen libations. The resort has absolutely everything you may possibly want and is not too far from town. We walked up the road to enjoy some live music and check-out the local stores.

If you are traveling with family or friends, this is a great choice. The staff were helpful and friendly. A crown jewel for Marriott!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luv2TravWayne_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews