We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marriott Vacation Club member would only go back with an ocean front room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's Grande Ocean

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marriott's Grande Ocean
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Marriott Vacation Club member would only go back with an ocean front room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

This was my first time to Hilton Head Island. The property was pretty. My only complaint is that there were not any Ocean Front Rooms available. I think they are for Owners the majority of the time. We felt a little young for majority of the crowd. There were some young families. We came with another couple and we are around 50 yr old. Things shut down early. The snack bar is only open for lunch12-3. Since the weather was funky. We played ping pong, rode bikes, played cards, and walked on the beach. It was a very very relaxing vacation. Since it is an island and they only have the one internet service, the reception and connectivity even in the office is sketchy.
Our departure was at 5:30 pm so they did give us a later check out.

Room Tip: We stayed in the dolphin as recommended by trip advisors. But the highest room available was on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotrodstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    172
    38
    13
    9
See reviews for
386
213
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
97 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We have been going for years. My kids start the countdown months out. It has beach and pools. Our family LOVES the activities. From the sand castle contest, trivia, bingo, scavenger hunt, beach soccer, tie dye shirts to corn hole, we have done it all! The Grand Ocean definitely holds a special place in our family memories. We're headed there again very soon!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mammalovescake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is a fantastic resort. We asked for an updated room and were given one in the Penguin building. It seems to have been just renovated - everything is brand new! We got here a little early and were able to check in about an hour before standard check in time. The amenities in the room are fantastic. The pools are great, although be warned that only two of the outdoor pools are heated. One of the heated pools is reserved for adult lap swim several hours a day. There are multiple hot tubs, which are very nice and spacious. There are fun activities for kids, such as Easter S'Mores made with marshmallow Peeps. We also rented bikes for the week for $30 and we have used the HHI bike paths a lot. Beds are extremely comfortable. We had a wonderful week and would like to come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PearlieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Had the wonderful opportunity to stay for a week in March at this relaxing Marriott with family. We stayed in the section Sand Castle which had a great view of the dolphin pool and just a glimpse of the ocean. We found our location central to everything, taking only minutes to get to an indoor pool and spa on a rainy day. We really did not partake in any of the activities while there, but saw people biking, playing ping pong, and using the large chess set in the outdoors. People also were enjoying bocce and shuffleboard.? We did enjoy the Crows Nest which was a lovely room with a great view of the ocean where we sipped our wine prior to dinner. On our first morning there We were unable to get our coffee maker to work, so I went to the front desk to explain. They sent me to their Market for free Starbucks, while at the same time sending up a new coffee maker. Very efficient in pleasing their guests. We enjoyed our lunch at the cabana by the poor. Pretty yummy for poolside fare. Loved the great swings between the pools,as well as our walks on the beach. Definitely no complaints staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelqueenVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Grande Ocean, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you for your five-star review of Marriott's Grande Ocean! We are happy to be your relaxing hideaway on beautiful Hilton Head Island. Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

By Hilton Head Island this oceanfront hotel is a bargain. It sits on a good beach and is well staffed. The room we had was very large with a nice ocean view. Hotel staff was friendly and very helpful.
I was there on business and the room was great to work in.

Room Tip: Ask for partial ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NSNSNRNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Grand ocean just keeps improving. There are so many things to keep our little ones busy. Just happy with this visit. I will continue my visits here on Hilton Head and with Grand Ocean. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kinks1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Grande Ocean, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for the great review of Marriott's Grande Ocean! We are happy you enjoyed our recent updates and look forward to continuing to provide you with an exceptional vacation experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

We recently stayed for a week at the Grande Ocean and it was better than I remember it from 16 years ago. The units were very clean and well stocked. The grounds were also very well taken care of and really add to the resort atmosphere. I particularly enjoyed that the large pool was heated because even though it was 70 outside, if the pool wasn't heated it would have been a looong week. We rented bikes through the property and the guys there were very helpful when we had to change out one of the bikes. The staff is very friendly, the location is fantastic right on the beach. I would definitely recommend the Grande Ocean. The only downside is that there are no options for dining on the property other than pizza in the evening. But, I guess when the units have full kitchens, most people would opt to eat in their units anyway. The front desk and concierge staff was incredibly helpful and made you feel like you were welcome from the first day.

Room Tip: We were in the dolphin building and had a great view of the ocean from our balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Grande Ocean, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for your five-star review Mark! We appreciate your kind words and are glad to have exceeded your expectations. Please visit us again soon on Hilton Head Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
2.8 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
0.6 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
6.8 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
#13 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
2.9 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Grande Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Grande Ocean

Property: Marriott's Grande Ocean
Address: 51 S Forest Beach Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Grande Ocean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Marriott so you can book your Marriott's Grande Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Grande Ocean Hotel Hilton Head
Marriotts Hilton Head
Marriotts Hotel Grande Ocean
Marriott Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing