We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott's Grande Ocean
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place and wonderful location”
Reviewed September 17, 2008

This resort is located right on the beach but do not expect a view of the water. That is good and bad I guess. the resort has plenty of trees and plant life that many vies are blocked. I thought this was bad at first till i was sitting on my deck in the shade with and it was so private. Very relaxing, where if yo had an open deck out in the full SC sun and in front of all to see i am sure not so nice. As a matter of fact i really didn't see many people on those decks. Moving on.
The resort is large with 2 main pools. I suggest if your without kids ask for the north section. Quiet with several hot tubs and a shady courtyard. In contrast the South part is has more sun and a larger pool with more kids so the units around them are more family noisy. There is a lack of food and they really should open some type of a restaurant. Yes they do have a snack bar that is open here and there by the pool and a pizza place in the store. guess they are ok for kids but never appealed to us.
We rented bikes for a day at the hotel and that was cheep. They also rent them for the full week for just a little bit more. What a great day ridding around on the trails, it is a must do. The gym is very well fitted with up to date equipment and you have the choice to watch your on tv or views out to the ocean. It was a little tight with all the stuff but nice.
On to the units. We were in one that i am assuming has not been updated yet. The floor plan is great and think they should make condos and apt. like these. The sinks and showers leaked and were old but from what i read hear they are remodeling all the units. The beds were dreamy and oh so soft. They are pretty well stocked when you get in but if your doing wash while your here bring soap. They give you one load worth to get you started and it is a waste to buy a whole box for just a week. A quick hint is bring ziplocks. You always have leftovers and it always comes in handy.
For those who can't get away from the computer, the wireless works great and is fast. It also came in handy to find places to eat and get maps while in SC.
Don't go by the books about places to eat here. Seems like they pay to be put in them and write their own reviews. I suggest go to the lobby and talk with Fredrick. He is very helpful a joy to talk with. I found others at the desk were not as informed of the area.
Cell service was not very good in the unit but fine out on the beach or pool areas.
2 friends got a massage while here and said she was great. Cost $80. Suggest doing right away and get your vacation off to a relaxing start and there is always the pool bar that blends 1000's of fruit drinks.
Over all not seeing any other resort I have to say I would stay here again.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — No place on site to go relax and have a sit down meal.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank spyke5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    178
    39
    13
    9
See reviews for
403
223
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2008

This was our second stay at the Grande Ocean. Very family friendly. All room locations are great. Easy walk to pools, beach, bike ride to town. Recommend you visit the supermarket - there is a Publix close by - to fill up on food so you can cook your meals in your unit. Rent bikes right on site. Also recommend you take advantage of the 90 minute timeshare visit - see Frederick at the activities desk. Lots to do for whole family. Front desk very responsive to all issues. Had reported we found what appeared to be a broken glass next to the fridge. We left the room to go out for an hour or so and when we returned that had cleaned it up right away!!! Beds are great and units are spacious!! Highly recommend for families!

  • Liked — Location near Sea Pines wtih free access to Sea Pines Plantation.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fam4ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2008

Stayed here as guests of time share owners who had traded to stay at this property. The property itself was nicely decorated and spacious, but the a/c broke down 3 times over the week we were there. Not acceptable in HHI heat!

The pools were very nice and relaxing. Plenty of chairs in the sun and shade to cater to people's preferences. Also, did not struggle to find a chair at any time, even busy sunny afternoons.

One afternoon they closed the big pool without any explanation.

I also enjoyed the pool bar drinks - plenty of virgin choices if preferred. Did not try the onsite restaurants.

Overall a very nice holiday with a few glitches that could have been dealt with differently.

  • Liked — Pools
  • Disliked — Broken A/C in units
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank briarleasgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roswell, ga
2 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2008

I was disappointed. My family, husband and three kids, stay at Marriott Resorts here and in Western Europe a few times a year. This is our first time staying at a Marriott time-share though. The two bedroom suite was very clean and spacious. It was nice to have a kitchen, but we did not use it at all. The grounds are very natural and pretty. The beach was beautiful. My complaints are lobby; small and way understaffed. I waited 15 minutes to check-in. Even though the front desk was friendly, she certainly did not give me all the information I would need for the weeks stay.
Also, there are only two very small restaurants and one beach bar, with no waiter service. The food was terrible. And after a typical Florida summer afternoon, one hour rain shower, the restaurants and bar did not reopen for the remainder of the day. Come on...the sun was shining bright, the pools were packed, they really lost some revenue that day.
The three pools are large but nothing spectacular. No slides or fountains for the kids. They were very warm like bath water.
And the events they plan for the guest, I'm sorry, but are really lame.
Next time we want to go on a beach vaction from our Atlanta home, we are heading back to Amelia Island, FL Ritz Carlton. (Owned by Marriott)

  • Liked — room
  • Disliked — lack of restaurants, no slides in pools, staff did not clean pool and sidewalks after rain storm
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjaafar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2008

Stayed at the MGO Resort July 26-30, 2008 as guests of timeshare owners. It was my first visit, and I was impressed by the quality of the fixtures and furnishings in the two-bedroom unit (granite countertops, nice quality furniture and linens, updated tile on the floors). It looked like the unit had been redecorated in recent years. Loved the outdoor pools, which ran on salt water. My two children didn't want to leave. The stretch of beach in front of the resort is as nice a any on HHI--not spectacular, but certainly not bad. The resort location is good--near Coligny Plaza and most island sites that are popular destinations for family bicycle rides. The beach was free of seaweed and not overly crowded. Would definitely recommend the resort.

A few notes for the nit-picky:

1) Front desk staff was either ignorant or deliberately unhelpful. Told me there were no coffee places (local or Starbuck's) on the island except for their "Marketplace." Also couldn't tell me where a Harris Teeter grocery store or Fresh Market (both are regional chains) were. Turned out that each were just a short distance a way.
2) TVs in units should be replaced with newer flat screen models. At this price-point, most guests would probably except a plasma or LCD.
3) Dining options are very limited. But the beach bar, specializing in blended drinks, is great. Loved the lava flow made with fresh mango.

  • Liked — pools, overall quality of unit
  • Disliked — reception service
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ncbookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2008

We just got back from staying at the Grande Ocean and would give it a high rating as far as the quality of the facility. The location is very nice, about a 1/2 mile west of Coligny Plaza. An easy bike ride or walk if you don't have small children. The condo itself was reasonable equiped. We were staying as guest of timeshare owners so I am comparing it to other rentals that we have stayed in over the many years (15+) of staying at the beach. These units have the bare essentials, so if your staying, make sure you bring anything that a personally owned rental tends to have.

I though the layout of the condo was a bit strange in that the master bedroom sweet, bathroom, and large tub took over at least 1/3 of the entire area. Seemed to have some wasted space (never used the jacuzzi) that was common in places built in the 80's. The 2nd bedroom had 2 double beds along with a couch that also had a double pull out and our family of 6 fit in well. The pools were very nice and saline treated instead of chlorine. Over the week, it took less toll on my kids hair and skin then chlorinated pools.

The beach was in easy walking distance from the Grande Ocean. Hilton Head beaches have very little waves and very long distances (100 yards) between low tide and high tides, leaving immense areas of flat packed sand for tossing items, riding, or running. If you set up your day "camp" for everyone at high tide, by the time low tide arrives you will either need to move or get a shuttle bus to enjoy the ocean. Like wise, if you set up you belongings at low tide at water's edge, you items will be half way to England if you leave them. I have never seen this much change in the tides compared to any other beach along the East coast. Beats beach erosion, I guess! I personally like bigger wave such as one in Cape Hatteras, but if you have small children or like waves that are smaller then some lakes, you will love it here.

Two of my children did a kayak tour that the Grande Ocean offers for a charge. The price seemed reasonable but other activities seemed over priced, like charging the kids $3 to participate in a guitar hero contest, or an ice cream social that cost $5/person or for us $30/family. Pick and choose.

We were going to rent bikes from the Marriott, but after seeing where you actually go biking, we thought it better not to. I have biked for years and do this with my children in Pittsburgh, but I felt the biking conditions down there where EXTREMELY dangerous for young (less then 12-14) children. It is very dependant on where you choose. If you stay on the beach or go into one of the plantations, no problems. What I didn't like is seeing families with children riding with training wheels crossing busy highway intersections. Combine this with people on vacation and encountering traffic circles for the first time and it seemed so dangerous. There is just too much traffic in most areas to be safe. OK, enough of my preaching (just stick to the beach at low tide!).

The staff seemed helpful enough. Parking is no problem unless you pull in late. Security was present and checked our parking pass everytime. The electric dryer couldn't dry more then one or two towels at a time, but I think that is more a problem with electric dryers in general. The AC seemed to have no comfortable setting, it was either off or full freeze cycle.

All in all, you can't go wrong. Since I am not a timeshare owner, but a guest, I am simply comparing these to other rentals that I have been to (I stayed at the Sea Crest in front of Coligny plaza 2 years ago). From what I understand, The Grande Ocean is very hard to get in so be forwarned.

  • Liked — The location and it's numerous pools.
  • Disliked — I think the units are starting to show their age and could use some upgrading in the furture.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mjpgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2008

Hotel sits on the beach which is very nice to walk or bicycle on. We found the hotel is perfect for family with young children, rooms and kitchen were large and very comfortable. Rooms had no views at all., Trees are in the way.
Request the hotel side that has the large pool, much, much nicer.
Car is a must in this area.

  • Liked — Apartment style large rooms
  • Disliked — No restaurant
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.7 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
2.7 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
6.9 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#7 of 28 in Hilton Head
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
#12 of 28 in Hilton Head
309 reviews
2.9 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
2.2 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Grande Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Grande Ocean

Property: Marriott's Grande Ocean
Address: 51 S Forest Beach Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Grande Ocean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Marriott's Grande Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Grande Ocean Hotel Hilton Head
Marriotts Hilton Head
Marriotts Hotel Grande Ocean
Marriott Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing