We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Oasis” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's Grande Ocean

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marriott's Grande Ocean
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here four times in the past three years and loved it. Lots of pools and hot tubs and steps from the beach. Definitely Worth every penny. Make sure you visit the Tanger outlets nearby and our top places to eat are the Jazz Coener for an evening out and the Market Street Grill in Coligny.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    163
    37
    13
    9
See reviews for
370
203
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

We traded a 1 bedroom for our stay. We were put in sand dollar building, farthest from ocean but still great.

One of the nicest timeshares we have ever stayed in. Full size laundry with one detergent. 2 full baths with large soaker jetted tub in master. We were on end of building and our tub had a window. Nice patio with 4 seat table. Master suite and living room open to patio.

Multiple pools and hot tubs. Plenty of lounge chairs. Outdoor bar area with loungers and 2 fire pits. This area could be crowded in summer but you can access fire pits anytime of year.

Nice beach area and chairs available for rental. Also have some beach gear transports for rental. Lots of bikes for rental. $10 a day & $30 a week. Lots of bike trails to ride on.

Kitchen has some nice extras not found in other timeshares. Mixer, grater, 2 sizes of measuring cups, 4 slice toaster, broiler pan,sheet pan, and decent stainless steel pans with good nonstick frying pan. Plenty of dish detergent without having to ask for more.

We will be back!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Annette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We traded our timeshare week for a week on Hilton Head. The unit was 2 bed, 2 bath, laundry room, full kitchen, jacuzzi tub in master, 3 flat screen tvs, balcony with an ocean view in the Seahorse building. Property has at least 4 pools plus an indoor one. There is a lagoon on one side of the property with a section to play with motorized boats. You can rent beach chairs and bicycles right at the resort. Beach access is great and it was practically empty in late November. We got a great sunrise right from our room and a great sunset from the beach. The room was up to Marriott standards, just a little worn and dusty, but very comfortable with everything you could want or need. The resort offered lots of activities and left messages each night to let you know what was going on. We didn't take advantage of too many of them but did enjoy the nightly showing of a movie in the room. You do have to pay for housekeeping if you want it, but we opted out and had no problems. There are enough towels to last you for two weeks! The Seahorse Building has a Marketplace, a fitness room and the Crow's Nest - a comfortable lounge/activity room with an awesome ocean view. You also get a free pass to Sea Pines which is a nice perk and there are some discounts offered at local restaurants and activities though we did not use them. Without the ocean view room we would have been very disappointed as you could get a room way in the back which seemed very dark and removed.

Room Tip: This resort is directly on the ocean but not all rooms have a view. There is a pool side and a lago...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NHIslandGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We just spent Thanksgiving week at Marriott's Grande Ocean. Nice villas, very clean with all the amenities. We traded a week in Marriot's Ocean Watch in MB. Nice property. Not as many activities as other Marriott properties. Villa descriptions can be deceiving since our "close to the beech" was in the building furthest from the beach. This was our second visit and will likely try the Surf Watch next time. Pool Bar Jim's is a must for a drink. Fresh fruits and expansive drink list. Worth the stay for. Other staff were less helpfully and polite than we experienced at other Marriott properties. Great location near Sea Pines and you get a free pass. Bike rental is on property.

Room Tip: Rooms near beach or around pools are ideal in Summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RLurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
156 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Hilton Head may be a planned resort, but it has much more to offer a history buff or the
nature lover. It gives a marvelous combination of colonial, Civil War, and modern day to the
vacationer who needs more than a beach chair to be satisfied on holiday. The island
Coastal Discovery Museum, Rose Hall Plantation in nearby Bluffton, the Marine Museum on Parris Island, only 50 miles away, provide more history than most can absorb, not to mention
nearby Savannah. The beach is a daily lesson in sealife; the waterways teem with birds and
animals, including the not-so-illusive alligators. So much to see that a week is not long enough
to really get into the local routine. We went to the local Oyster Festival in early November. Great fun, and a good place to sample varieties of those raw underwater treats. Sunsets are
fantastic, sunrises even better. We plan to go back soon, and would certainly return to the Marriott Grande Ocean for its extensive facilities and comfort. Large living area, perfect for four adult. Quiet.

Room Tip: Don't expect an ocean view from most rooms. The trees on property have grown so tall that they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
289 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Exchanged for a 2 bedroom villa for two adult couples. Were assigned Dolphin building overlooking the Lagoon - very quiet and close to beach, pools and market place. Facility is typical Marriott and meets it standard for cleanliness, staff attention to guests and their needs. This Marriott location has beach access and a fun Pool Bar as well as an exercise room overlooking the beach which made for an enjoyable stay. Only negative was staff oversight of a scheduled room cleaning, but were quick to offer extra towels, etc.

Room Tip: Dolphin building is near the pools but actually overlooking the lagoon and grill area so is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgal617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect, Kentucky
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here on a recent family trip and were very pleased with the location, property condition, staff, amenities and, most importantly, access to the beach. In my opinion, Hilton Head has some of the best beaches in the country and this Marriott has direct acess to it. You are also next door to Sea Pines and a short drive/ bike ride from Harbortown or South Beach. Hilton Head is completely accessible by bike and the Grande Ocean has its own rental vendor which is reasonable in price. They even have 2 children strollers for their bikes, so a family of 3-4 can rent for the week and literally bike everywhere on safe, convenient paths. Just a great perk. The pools are all heated and there are plenty of spa/hot tubs. The management is helpful and knowledgable about the surrounding area. The condos are spacious, tastefully decorated and complete with large wash rooms. I highly recommend the property for all travelers, specifically families, year round. You're very close to Hilton Head's airport and Savannah's isn't too far a drive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Worldtravel41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
2.8 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
6.8 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
#13 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
2.9 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Grande Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Grande Ocean

Property: Marriott's Grande Ocean
Address: 51 S Forest Beach Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6220
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Grande Ocean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott's Grande Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Grande Ocean Hotel Hilton Head
Marriotts Hilton Head
Marriotts Hotel Grande Ocean
Marriott Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing