We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frequent HHI Visitors - We Loved It!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marriott's Grande Ocean
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Frequent HHI Visitors - We Loved It!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Before I start, it's necessary to point out that this resort is a timeshare. I am not an owner at this timeshare; we rented direct from an owner who could not use his week. I would hazard a guess that most reviews are from owners who've made a financial investment in this property and are interested in its success. This is not meant to be a good or bad observation, just something to keep in mind are you're reading reviews. We, however, found this resort to be excellent, so I believe the good reviews. We've stayed at condos in Sea Pines, a large home in Palmetto Dunes and several of the island's hotels. This was our favorite accommodation so far for location, ease and relaxation.

Our party consisted of mom, dad, two young children and grandma. If you've traveled with young children, you are aware that relaxation is tough when little ones are around. However, we achieved moments of relaxation on this vacation, due in part to the Ocean Grande's proximity to the beach, its numerous pools and it's location near Sea Pines. Everything was just so EASY.

We stayed in the Kingfisher building on the top floor. Our unit was very nice and clean. This resort does a great job of stocking you with the basics: paper towels, dishwasher detergent, and coffee filters. Not included is laundry detergent, FYI. I did think the unit could have used a few things: a bigger non-stick skillet and deeper cereal bowls (the ones provided were pitifully small and shallow). However, I am nit-picking. Overall, the place was decently equipped for a week. We ate all breakfasts and most lunches in our unit.

The sofa is not very comfortable to sit on, this is a function of the nice sofabed underneath. However, it was adequate.

Now, on to the good. The pools are numerous and clean. The pool areas have a good blend of sun and shade. The employees are very friendly and helpful. Pool Bar Jim's on site is one of the best bars on the island, hands down. We're frequent visitors to HHI (we have friends that live there) and we visit that bar even if we aren't guests at Ocean Grande (this was our first stay at this property). The beach is nice and wide, but note you do have to pay handsomely for beach chairs and umbrellas. This is unfortunately typical of many large beach resorts, and it grates me every time.

The resort really doesn't have much in the way of restaurants, but that's not a problem as we either ate in our unit or went off site to eat. But, we're very familiar with the island and have our favorites. We were surprised one day when the pool grill didn't open until after noon. That seemed a little late to me, especially as there are so many families and young children at the resort, and they tend to eat earlier. They may open earlier during summer season, we visited during Labor Day week, which is apparently mid-season.

We did note that this resort was very reasonable on many rental items, including bike rentals (only $30 for the week) and tennis courts ($5 an hour, as opposed to the $35 we've paid elsewhere). Included with your unit are passes to Sea Pines, both bike and car passes. Sea Pines is our favorite plantation for bike riding, so this is a big reason we chose Ocean Grande over Baroney or SurfWatch, two of the other nice Marriott properties.

Overall, we'd love to stay there again and would recommend it highly to families.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Alw1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    178
    39
    13
    9
See reviews for
403
223
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Love this place! Great views, pools, beach, and room is amazing! Staff is wonderful, security is top notch. Clean parking areas, steps, and rooms. Comfy beds too! We had a great time, enjoyed the entire week!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
246 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just stayed here with my wife this past week as part of our Marriott time share - let's start with an overall rating of Excellent. This resort property is located in the South Forest Beach / Sea Pines area of the island - there are lots of great restaurants in this area and navigating is quite easy. The numerous bike trails are a pleasure to ride - and highly recommended. Bike riding is also permitted on the beach - just be careful of having to ride against the wind - it will test your fitness!

The villas (rooms) are nicely appointed; lot's of nice amenities and meets the high standards you would expect from a Marriott property. Resort staff was helpful, professional, friendly, and courteous. That said, we ran into a minor problem with an aggressive housekeeping staff wanting to clean our room at 8AM on the day of our departure. Our only other gripe and more of an annoyance is that while the property is meticulously maintained - the maintenance is accomplished early in the morning. This means lawnmowers, gas hedgers, weedwackers - all starting very early in the morning. Not sure about your preferences, but when I'm on vacation - it would be nice to sleep in and not be serenaded each morning by an army of groundskeepers.
Back to the positives and there are many - great pool area and accompanying bar (although being open beyond 8PM would be a plus), nice sun deck area between the pools and beach, and a spacious beachfront.
I would return to this resort in an instant. With Savannah only 1 hr away you will also want to treat yourself to a great day in historic Savannah and the riverfront area.
Hope this helps for anyone considering this resort which is both family friendly and also a great escape for couples.

Room Tip: High floor may help with noise and will provide a better ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank audittflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was our first trip to HHI and it certainly won't be our last! We had a great 2 bedroom/2 bath unit that was totally stocked with everything we needed. (They even supply dishwasher detergent!) The pools were fantastic-we have 2 young kids so it was great that they were all pretty shallow.So many chairs and umbrellas that there was never a shortage when we went. Loved the music (one man band!) playing at the South Pool. He was fantastic. What a great spot...Hopefully we'll be back next year!

Room Tip: Try to get a room two floors up from the parking garages-floors 2 and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Incredible 2 bedroom unit, almost as large as my home. Outfitted with everything one would need, including a two-person jaccuzi tub en suite! The property itself is beautifully landscaped with fish ponds and multiple pools. There's even an area to BBQ. Beautiful stretch of uncrowded beach (then again, I'm used to the Jersey Shore!). Only downside is no room service and no real restaurant (there is a small snack bar).

Room Tip: Corner rooms are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovebeaches08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This was out third trip to HHI, hopefully the beginning of a family tradition like so many already enjoy. Grande Ocean is our favorite HHI Marriott property, then Surfwatch and Barony.

The villas are typical Marriott, tastefully furnished, well equipped, love what they do with angles to make the villa very appealing.

All buildings are close to the beach, we where in the Kingfisher building on the first floor and couldn't have been happier. The main pool was outside our door and the beach a short walk away. The staff was very friendly, pools, spas, villas and property were spotless. The property is gorgeous with its mature landscaping. We preferred the buildings surrounding the main pool vs the buildings around the lagoon, however any room on this property should make most happy.

The Sea Pines car pass is a bonus, and be sure to visit the bike rental area for a Sea Pines bike pass. Biking in Sea Pines was great.

The following did not detract from the property but feel its worth mentioning...
There were a few minor things that surprised me for a Marriott property, like cracked grout in the kitchen and bath and rotting door frame in the master bath , made me wonder if Marriott is skimping with its contractors or quality control. The other thing worth mentioning is that there was a queen bed in the master, not a king size. Maintenance insisted it was a king size, sorry, I know what a king size should be, and this wasnt it. Plus there was an extra 10" on each side of the bed between the side tables and the bed, like they replaced the king with a queen for some reason. Perhaps because we were exchangers? Who knows, great property non the less.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aposguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
356 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The Marriott Grande Ocean on Hilton Head Island is a great place for a vacation.. Great pools, great hot tubs, and then you have the ocean.....what more could you want...Well you need a nice condo...and the condos at MGO are very nice with every thing provide that you need for you stay...also you some things to do, at MGO the activeties are very good, tennis, golf and many more...I would highly recommend this location for a couple or family and friends..

Room Tip: All the rooms are very good not a bad condo at MGO.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeaRay52SB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.7 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
2.7 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
6.9 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#7 of 28 in Hilton Head
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
#12 of 28 in Hilton Head
310 reviews
2.9 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
2.2 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Grande Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Grande Ocean

Property: Marriott's Grande Ocean
Address: 51 S Forest Beach Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Grande Ocean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Marriott's Grande Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Grande Ocean Hotel Hilton Head
Marriotts Hilton Head
Marriotts Hotel Grande Ocean
Marriott Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing