We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marriott's Grande Ocean
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Bluemont, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Ocean Resort at the end of July for the first time and I was very impressed with this property! We stayed in a two bedroom condo/villa-style and the rooms were exactly as seen online. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable.
Pros: very well maintained property. The pools, grounds and amenities are in terrific condition. The staff is friendly, helpful and willing to do whatever is necessary to accommodate all requests. There is a lot to do at this resort; they have at least 3 pools [may be more, not quite sure], grilling stations, shuffle board, etc. Also, they have daily scheduled activities for their guests.
Cons: There were a few things to note such as; the stove in the room is a bit outdated. Parking is limited, however, there is overflow parking across the street and the amenities close too early in the evening. It would be nice to have the pool snack bar open past 4pm and the convenience store open past 7pm. Perhaps my only real complaint about this resort is the “Concierge.” Her name was Kelly and she was not helpful at all. A few times we checked in with her for some dinner recommendations but she was more interested in trying to get me to sit for one of those timeshare meetings. Eventually she said she made a “reservations” for us and instructed us to check in at the hostess stand—when all she really did was let restaurants know guests from the Marriott will be going there for dinner—we still had to put our name on the list and wait for over 40 minutes (we were burned by her on this twice—yes, shame on us for letting it happen twice). Despite the cons listed above, our experience at the Grade Ocean was a very good one and we will be returning next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    180
    39
    13
    9
See reviews for
409
223
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Family of 5 and completely enjoyed our stay. The staff is friendly, eager and helpful. Rooms are clean, fresh and spacious (we were in a 2 BR). Great location, near Coligny and Sea Pines. They give you passes for Sea Pines so no worries there. The grounds are exceptionally well-maintained and clean. Great beach that never seems crowded, Pool Bar Jim's, tennis courts, fitness center. A little light on parking, so that could be a challenge sometimes but we always managed (we always felt like we were the last family to return home after a night out, lol). Pools were great. We enjoyed having the grills to grill our own food on and this saves a ton of dough on going out for lunch or dinner if you're budget conscious.. Pool Bar Jim's is definitely an attraction but so many drinks and so little time! Yes, the drinks are expensive but they are also made with fresh ingredients and taste outstanding! He has a book on the bar which he wrote with about 300 pages of drinks to pick from. He also sells this book, which I bought, and he personally autographed it for us ;) - we use it at home to experiment with what we like, pretty cool, Everyone always wants to look at it. This place comes with our highest recommendation!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5BeachBumz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We have owned at this property for 20 years and love it here. We return each summer and find something new and better. Pros: nice nice people, great ocean view rooms, clean well stocked rooms, Pool Bar Jims, fantastic beach, great tennis courts. Cons: parking can be challenging, salt water pools, lack of 3 bedroom suites. I highly recommend this resort for anyone going to Hilton Head.

Room Tip: Request Ocean Front room above the 3rd floor to get the best view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikelynxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

My family owns a timeshare here at the Grande Ocean, and we've been coming down for nearly 15 years now. This is one of the best properties on the island, without a doubt. Here are a few facts about the resort:

-OUTSTANDING location! It's right in the heart of things, with nearby access to Coligny Plaza, South Beach, and Harbour Town

-Large rooms (sleeps 8 very comfortably) with a full kitchen, flat panel TVs, washer/dryer, jacuzzi tub, etc. - everything you'd need to enjoy your stay

-Passes to Sea Pines. This will save you $5 every time you wanted to visit South Beach or Harbour Town, be it by car or by bike

-Access to Pool Bar Jim's. The best drinks "this side of paradise", as another reviewer put it. I'll venture a guess and say that I've tried about 100 different drinks, only disliking a small number of them

-Private beach that never seems to get crowded (note that our week is prime every year), and access to a decent number of pools

-The grounds are well maintained, and grilling near the ponds is always entertaining with the turtles who crowd around for some free food

I only have two complaints with the Grande Ocean - one that is easily corrected, and another that may take a bit more time. First off, we weren't able to check-in until 4:45-ish. The front desk did give us a few free PBJ drink cards, so I guess that's okay. Secondly, the elevators are painfully slow. We're always on one of the top 2 floors, so having to wait for the elevators gets annoying - especially when you've got little kids around. At least they updated the interior of the elevators, I guess.

Overall, this is an outstanding resort, and my family will continue to visit, year in and year out.

Room Tip: We're partial to the Pelican and Dolphin buildings. There is more parking in that area, and tend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NTP66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago,IL
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

As a nightly guest (and not a timeshare owner) we were given a room at the back of the resort on the 1st level which is right above the garage. As you can see in the photos, the rooms themselves are beautiful and clean (except for the huge roach we found on our last day!) and otherwise very comfortable. The linens, furniture and carpet seem newer and the full kitchen had everything we could need. The bed is very comfortable and the mattresses look to be new. Being at the back of the resort, the view was still nice overlooking the pools and courtyard area.
We had arrived earlier then the 4:00 check-in and unfortunately, had to wait around until 4:20 to get into the room. It didn't seem as if the front desk much cared to help out with our situation, and even when I checked out and showed them a picture of the huge roach I found, all I got in response was " Well, did you kill it?". not cool.
Another letdown was the pools. There are at least 4 large pools on the property which were all somewhat foggy water wise, and left a slippery feeling when you get out. It didn't help that the hot weather heated the pools to bath water temp. but that cannot be helped. The beach was lovely but again the water was the downside with it being brown in color and not clear, even in a foot of water. The surf was fun and you could go out a great distance and still be in shallow water.
Generally, a nice,safe place for families, especially if you are with a large group.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank btarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We love Hilton Head so much that this was our 6th time driving 10 hours to get there. Our stay at the Marriott Grande Ocean was the best so far. Right outside a plantation and a shopping plaza. Beach is gorgeous. Facility well kept and lots of activities. Only complaint was the pool bar. Long lines, bartender allowed people to cut in line. My husband waited 20 minutes to order a drink. By the time he brought the drinks to me at the other pool, we realized that the drinks did not have alcohol in them. Apparently the previous customer had ordered 10 drinks that way and the bartender continued to make them that way. If you can, skip the pool bar. Everything else was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We visit twice a year at the beginning and end of summer (Memorial Day and Labor Day), and this is our favorite place on the island. You get Sea Pines passes with the room, and we use those to bike the trails to Harbour Town, play in the playground there, shop and eat. Coligny is also close by with shops, dining and entertainment. And, of course, we have to visit the Walgreen's at Sea Pines Circle!

The resort itself is wonderful! It is clean and comfortable inside with a fully stocked kitchen, flat panel tvs and deck overlooking the beach and ocean. (We stay in ocean front rooms.) There are multiple pools, a pool bar, and a little shop in the center of the resort for small forgotten items, doughnuts, souvenirs and pizza/sandwich orders. Once you're there and have your groceries, you really don't need to leave the resort unless you want to. I like that.

The beach in front of the resort is nice also. I like being able to go down and find a nice spot to lay our things without trampling all over other people. The area near Coligny is a super crowded beach, so it makes you appreciate this one all the more! Plus, there are lots of games around to fill tme for antsy kids. There is a large chess set that the kids can stand on and move big pieces (they LOVE this!), a foosball table, pool table, and table tennis. These are all near the indoor pool which is GREAT for rainy days when the kids can't hit the outdoor pools. There are also numerous spas and water walkways and bench swings!

The only complaint I have ever had is that (1) there are no bathtubs in the second baths and (2) parking is a bit of a pain since it is limited. Other than that, this place is vacation perfection!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzySparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.7 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
6.9 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 28 in Hilton Head
764 reviews
1.7 mi away
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
#12 of 28 in Hilton Head
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Oak Resort by Hilton Grand Vacations
2.2 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
2.9 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Grande Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Grande Ocean

Property: Marriott's Grande Ocean
Address: 51 S Forest Beach Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Grande Ocean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott's Grande Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Grande Ocean Hotel Hilton Head
Marriotts Hilton Head
Marriotts Hotel Grande Ocean
Marriott Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing