We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Quaint?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Beach Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hilton Head
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
South Beach Inn
Ranked #16 of 29 Hotels in Hilton Head
Certificate of Excellence
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quaint?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We just got back from a short stay at the SBI and had a lovely time. The hotel is definitely a little dated, or quaint, depending on your outlook. It was also clean and in a great location. It is hard to beat for convenience. The Wreck & The Salty Dog are right downstairs as well as some little touristy shops and "general store" for necessities. We were meeting up with some friends staying in one of the homes in Sea Pines so this was the best place for us to stay. It was inexpensive - $150/night in peak season and has a kitchenette if you want to keep food/drink in your room. We waited til we got there to rent out bikes from South Beach Bikes (also on site) and had no problem getting that done in a short amount of time. There was a coupon in one of the pamphlets the hotel gave us for 10% off the rental. We used the bikes almost exclusively to get around as it seems many people do. We rode them on the bike path to Harbor Town and to the beach and to our friend's house etc.

I would agree with others though that if you are seeking luxury - this isn't your place. I'm not sure about other rooms, but our shower head probably could have been replaced years ago. The pressure was fine, but a lot of mineral buildup or whatever that made adjusting the stream impossible. And it kind of feels like staying in your Grandma's spare room - which was ok for us. This wasn't a trip where we wanted to be pampered with luxurious linens and such. The room was very functional and met our needs and we would go back. Everyone we encountered that worked in the South Beach marina area was very friendly and helpful. Great place for families.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Happy_TX_Gringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    27
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
30
25
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

If you want posh, stay away. But the location and proximity to things to do are unmatched. Rooms are comfortable and clean. But who goes to the beach to be in their room? The beach is across the street, the pool is in the parking lot, food is right downstairs or a short walk on the pier. Bike rentals (the perfect way to do hilton head) and tennis courts are also in the parking lot. Seriously a fun place to stay. We'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrandonPerdue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stayed on the 2nd level so I could sit on my little balcony and enjoy my take out breakfast from the restaurant across the way. My friends who have a very large family stayed in a condo in Sea Pines and unfortunately their condo smelled like mold from all of the humidity in the area. The South Beach Inn is clean, fresh and feels like home to me - no mold! I was so happy there I'd stay again in a heartbeat. Just a side note: You can rent bicycles on Hilton Head and I would highly recommend doing that and just riding around and enjoying the scenery. Make sure you go to the Lighthouse and get breakfast one day. Have fun!

Room Tip: I liked having a balcony overlooking the court yard outside where the parrots are located so I'd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank restorationgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, NJ
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Discovered the South Beach Inn after years of vacationing in Sea Pines and I just don't know why we didn't know about it before. My husband and I were down for three days and accommodations there turned out to be absolutely perfect in every way. We were always warmly greeted and shown the computers, DVD library, etc. Our room #208 was just the right size -- a small living room very comfortably furnished, a small galley kitchenette (sink, full refrigerator, coffee pot and microwave, with glasses, dishes and cutlery for 4), a good sized queen bedded bed room and bath. The place was immaculate and we were surprised to have daily housekeeping. It was exactly what we needed in a fantastic location and for a more than competitive price. We had looked at hotels and the South Beach Inn beat every single one for value. We are telling everyone about it -- it's simply wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank alwaysmoving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My adult cousins and I visited Hilton Head for a couple of years in a row and have found this to be an excellent place for the family to stay and gather. The restaurant there set a room aside for the celebration of my uncle's 81st birthday. We had a wonderful time together!

Room Tip: We like the rooms with a bay view.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank MLMNaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds - england
Level Contributor
79 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Loved Hilton Head and the South Beach Inn was a great place to stay. Room/apartment was very clean and spacious with all the ammenities we could have hoped for. The beach is within easy walking distance as are several restaurants, the real highlight is the bike riding on the beach though, mile after mile of empty beach.....loved it.

Absolutely no complaints!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank mdstephenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

South Beach Inn is at the southern tip of Sea Island Plantation on Hilton Head Island, South Carolina. South Beach Inn is a gem, affordable, clean cool rooms with bright views and a terrific location, You can park you car and walk to the beaches or to several restaurants. We have stayed at South Beach Inn several times and are takign our honey moon at one of their rental houses on "Lands End". The South Beach Inn staff and owners are super friendly and very nice to work with. We love HH and South Beach Inn is our first pick to stay on HH -- only off season though!

Room Tip: Go for the loft room with a view of the South Beach Marina - we did and saw the most gorgeous sunris...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DfHRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
4.6 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
1.7 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
2.3 mi away
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
Marriott's Monarch at Sea Pines
#13 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#8 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
6.8 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Inn

Property: South Beach Inn
Address: 232 S Sea Pines Dr, Hilton Head, SC 29928-4004
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
South Beach Hotel Hilton Head
South Beach Hilton Head

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing