We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Berated by Manager for Using Redicard Free Night Award”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Hilton Head
Reviewed August 7, 2010

We live just a couple of hours away from HHI, so we stay here quite often. After staying at this very hotel for a week in April, I earned a free night with my RediCard membership. So my daughter and I popped down for a quick couple of days at the beach/pool in July. The Manager happened to be at the front desk, and when I presented my free night letter, he started berating me for using it there and taking up one of his nicer rooms! Even after I stated that I had EARNED it staying there, he kept up his little tirade! The hotel was not full, so WTH? Yes, some of the rooms are not the cleanest, and smell of cat pee, some are fine. We have a family joke of, "Oh, is this the room with the light over the sink that doesn't work?" We complain about it every time, and they always promise to fix it, but never do, and it's there the next time we go back! Room rates have gone way up, from the $60's to the low $100's, but it helps to keep the clientele a bit more upstanding.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WineJazz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 457 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2010

The Red Roof Inn provided for a great stay during my vacation. The staff were very friendly and you can't beat the room rates. The location was perfect, just outside of beach traffic, with convienence stores and restaurants a short walk away. Clean rooms and clean pool, wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crenshawpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Great location, great pool, great service, clean rooms, newly renovated, very short distance to resturants and grocery stores, very quiet, security, rates are roughly half of comparable motels i.e. quality inn and holiday inn. not much else to say, very happy with our stay and willl return. Have recommende to friends who have been just as happy. Very close to many nice beaches. There are many locations on the island that are very "high end." i can't afford those. ($400 to $3500 per night). Great value.
ray.joyner@broadlinxtelecom.com

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjoyner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

The hotel is located very close to many attractions. We had no problems staying here. The room was ok for the price ( Budget hotel). The staff was helpful.
Free breakfast was provided ..Has a Gas station onsite and many restaurants are close by (5 miles)

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlotteTravel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

The room smelled horrible. Refrigerator leaked water all over the floor. You have to squeeze between the stool and tub to shut the bathroom door. The woman working the front desk during the day was extremely rude! Vending machines were apparantly broken but will still take your money. Can't believe this motel is even allowed on HH Island!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveltime088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

The Red Roof is a small Inn which is suitable for staying a couple of nights. The rooms are clean and it's not too far from tourist spots (the beach, shopping area, outlet center...). They don't provide breakfast though. Relating to the location on the island of Hilfton Head it's reasonable priced - good value for the money.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fussel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

I just stayed in this Red Roof Inn for three nights over Memorial Day weekend (May 31-June 2, 2010) and was very impressed. I expected it to be a low-end, no-frills motel, but I was totally wrong. My king room ($61 per night with AAA discount) had a fridge, microwave, safe, and a large L-shaped desk area. Although the motel was last renovated three years ago (I asked), the paint and carpeting looked very fresh and new. The room was big, clean, and comfortable, and the furnishings were nice and modern. I also liked the free WI-FI in the room and free breakfast in the lobby. The motel is only a ten-minute drive from three different beaches, and there are several good restaurants within walking distance and a dozen good ones within a five-minute drive. All in all, this place was a real find.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ty_in_Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Hilton Head
Days Inn Hilton Head
#25 of 28 in Hilton Head
607 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ramada Hilton Head
Ramada Hilton Head
#19 of 28 in Hilton Head
621 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Park Lane Hotel and Suites
Park Lane Hotel and Suites
#18 of 28 in Hilton Head
632 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
Hilton Garden Inn Hilton Head
#15 of 28 in Hilton Head
846 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
Hampton Inn Hilton Head
#10 of 28 in Hilton Head
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island

Address: 5 Regency Pkwy, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3311
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range: $72 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Red Roof Inn, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing