We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Well situated and priced” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Hilton Head
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Well situated and priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

My wife and I are on a 6 moths tour around America and this was our first experience of the Red Roof Inn Hotel group and will not be the last that we will make use of their facilities. Since we decided to stay over somewhere on Hilton Island this was the first Motel we have passed on our way to the harbor and the first we called once we decided to stay over .

Yes we have found the Inn to be very clean well maintained. The room was to our satisfaction except that it did not have a fridge freezer in it . Feel that it should be utility that should be present in all rooms and not just in certain rooms.

We will definitely recommend this Inn to everybody that prefer Non Smoking rooms and a fresh place to check in to.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisB16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I am glad you found us on your visit here to Hilton Head. We are close to everything, and I agree our rooms are clean and comfortable and best of all we are a very affordable option when staying on Hilton Head.
From the team and myself we look forward to seeing you again.
Chris Anselmo
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    144
    62
    32
    31
See reviews for
122
147
33
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vidalia, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

I must admit, during our first visit, my family & I being weren't sure what to expect at this motel (because of a few negative online reviews) BUT, now that we've stayed here, we have to admit this place over exceeded our expectations. Our rooms were pleasantly clean, comfortable & cozy, not to mention our kids had a blast in their nice clean pool & we were minutes away from the beach. The staff (Natalie & Criss) have been such a pleasure to deal with, they are very friendly, helpful & welcoming. After our first & second visit we've decided that we will always be staying here when we go to Hilton Head. We definitely have & will continue to recommend this motel to our friends when they stay on Hilton Head Island!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron_Mary_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am glad the kids had fun in the pool, its so relaxing and refreshing for our guests. I can't for you to come back and see the new and improved exterior.
Please reach out us when you plan to come back, it would be our pleasure to make your next reservation.
See you soon!
Chris Anselmo
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed one nice, a real dump. Cheap price is the only good thing it has going for it. No frills place that is dated and in need of major update. First visit to Hilton Head and last was not impressed with town, glad it was off season and this area can really be a zoo.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for your review. Our rooms were renovated just last year and I am excited to say we are doing a face lift on the outside just this last week. While we are a no frills hotel, I do believe we offer a value to the guest coming to Hilton Head that is here to enjoy all the wonderful things Hilton Head has to offer.
I do hope you will visit here again.
Chris Anselmo
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

A couple of friends and I visited Hilton Head from out of town and decided to stay at this Red Roof Inn. Unfortunately, we had some car trouble and stay a couple extra days to figure out how to get my car home. However, Chris and Tammy, along with a few other employees whose names slipped my mind, were always understanding and even looked at the car a few times to try and help out. I've never had nor expected such great customer service from motel staff. The motel was nice; beds were clean, TV was always playing something enjoyable to watch, the rest of the staff was friendly, and the locals were talkative and fun. Even though I had a terrible experience with my car, it was nice to have some good company.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for your positive review. I am glad the team could help you during your stay. I know when you have car problems and your away form home that can be a horrible experience. I do hope you can come and stay with us again.
Chris Anselmo
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Trip Advisor reviews helped us find this small hotel, and although some of them were negative, they must have been reviewed before the renovations. We found booking directly to be the best price, and did it through their national call centre. No-one answered the direct line.
New flooring, new beds all new furniture and appliances, microwave, minifridge, granite counters etc. were a pleasant find. Vending machines and Ice machines are available on each level. Next door there is a popular breakfast restaurant which gives a discount to Red Roof visitors. The food and service is quite good but the restaurant could do with an upgrade. On the other side is a convenience store with coffee and groceries. Parking is at your door if you choose the lower level, and the pool is clean and inviting. For Hilton Head, this price is excellent. Staff are friendly and helpful and the location is central to everything. I hope I can get a booking next time after posting this, however we're glad to share the info.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool may not be as quiet as the rooms facing the woods at back. Lower level is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Hello and thank you for your kind review. It is great all the things we to offer right around the hotel. It makes it nice for our guests that so many things are available close to where they are staying.

I do hope you will visit again soon.
Chris Anselmo
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

First I would like to say the rep(Tammy) that checked us in was the best part of the hotel. So the customer service gets a double thumbs up. Location perfect but I was kinda disappointed when I opened the door. For an economy room I wasnt pleased that $260+ ended up getting us a room advertised as 2 queen beds but what really felt/looked like full sized beds which were way to small. The bathroom although clean was so tiny if you bend over you'd literally hit tour head on the wall. The hotel is quite noisy as well the walls are thin so everyy sneeze, laughing, the tv and even people walking upstairs could be heard. I love red roof inn but my next trip to H.H. will be somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TailorMade1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you writing a review. Tammy and the staff really are the best in the industry.
It is true the bathrooms are on the small side. But we make sure they are clean and updated. I am sorry if you thought the rooms had queen size beds, they are doubles as stated on our web site.
Thank you again for your review, we do hope to see you again.
Chris Anselmo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

No complaints. This hotel is pet friendly, newly renovated, close to shopping, beaches and golf courses. Friendly staff at front desk, housekeeping was pleasant and accommodating. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Any room at this hotel would be nice. We were on the 2nd floor in the first building and we did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vmsod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for the review. It is great that we are both pet friendly for our furry friends and that we are renovated. I would like to let you I am excited to say we are getting face lift on the exterior so that our outside will match the inside. We do hope to see you again.

Chris Anselmo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
2.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
2.7 mi away
Ramada Hilton Head
Ramada Hilton Head
#17 of 29 in Hilton Head
3.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Lane Hotel and Suites
Park Lane Hotel and Suites
#18 of 29 in Hilton Head
3.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
#9 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Hilton Head
Days Inn Hilton Head
#23 of 29 in Hilton Head
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hilton Head Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island

Property: Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
Address: 5 Regency Pkwy, Hilton Head, SC 29928-3311
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hilton Head
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island Hotel Hilton Head
Hilton Head Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing